Samsung Green 8GB VLP 1600MHz Kit Review

Introduction and Technical Specifications

Samsung Green 8GB VLP 1600MHz Kit Review

Introduction

Whether they are branded so or not, the likelihood is that you have got some Samsung memory somewhere in your house.

In fact it's probably very likely that you've got some in your rig. They have the number one market share on the planet of SSD drive memory, and over half the Memory kits that come through our offices have Samsung RAM on them.

So of course it makes perfect sense for Samsung to release their own RAM kits, and they've been doing so for a long time now. The question has to be then, why are we reviewing one now? Well the kit on test today has three key ingredients that make it worthy of a look.

Firstly, it's low voltage. At rated speeds it runs at 1.5v, but by slowing the kit down you can get it down to 1.35v. Secondly it's pretty big being 4GB density sticks and so the kit we have here is 8GB. A nice amount for nearly everybody's needs. Finally it's VLP. Very Low Profile. In fact it's so low profile that it reminds me of the original 30 pin SIMM memory in my 386SX-16. However as only me and a couple of other people are nodding at this point, let's move on.

Technical Specifications

As well as a limited lifetime warranty we'd expect from such a major brand as Samsung, the VLP has reasonable timings, although clearly the need to shrink the RAM to such a short height lessens the performance compared to the 'big' DIMMs.

Speed (MHz)CAS LatencyTimingsVoltage
16001111-11-11-281.5v
133399-9-9-241.5v
106677-7-7-201.35v
80066-6-6-181.35v


Speaking of how short it is, let's take a look.

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next»

Most Recent Comments

06-02-2012, 05:02:18

tinytomlogan


With their own RAM sticks Samsung have redefined what we consider Low Profile to be. Does the performance match up?

Continue Reading

06-02-2012, 05:19:54

Rastalovich
This vlp isn't so much of a redefinition.

We have, and still are, using some (approximately a 1000) sticks of Kingston at this height to ""upgrade"" computers as a ""refresh"".

This stuff has it's place and uses, and I'm very surprised about not being able to use less voltage.

06-02-2012, 07:59:55

badtaylorx
wow!!! they're sooooo cute!!!

06-02-2012, 13:15:45

-matt-
I have seen this ram (or similar one) overclock 2200-2500mhz and the timings reduced at 1600mhz.

12-02-2012, 18:47:39

MaXiMiZe
Nice review. These sticks do redefine what we think when it comes to low profile. It's a shame they don't perform better.

20-04-2012, 20:17:00

Black
I just got them, they are amazing.

1600 MHz C9 at 1.3v - I will try lower.

2133 MHz C10 at 1.45v

They not even warm at these settings.

24-05-2013, 06:38:14

eagle2508
I've just seen this review and I can't believe you didn't play around with the timings a little bit more.... It's amazing ram and even more amazing performance for the money. This review really doesn't do this RAM any justice.

I paid just 95.00 for the 16GB kit.

I'm running mine at 1866mhz but below are the confirmed stable timings. I've heard of people running these sticks at even lower timings though:

- 1600MHz (7-8-8-24 1N) @ 1.40v
- 1866MHz (9-9-9-27 1N) @ 1.40v
- 2000MHz (9-10-10-28 1N) @ 1.45v
- 2133MHz (10-10-10-28 1N) @ 1.45v
- 2400MHz (11-11-11-28 2N) @ 1.50v
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.