Patriot PVS32G1866LLK Viper Series PC3-15000 2GB

Test Setup, Settings & Overclocking

Test Setup
 
With DDR3 speeds ramping up on an almost weekly basis, It's extremely difficult to obtain two or more memory kits with similar specifications to perform any kind of worthwhile comparison. Therefore, the Patriot PC3-15000 kit will be placed up against the recently reviewed OCZ Platinum PC3-12800 kit with it's stock frequency, latencies and voltage changed to match the Patriot kit.
 
 
Patriot PVS32G1866LLK PC3-15000
OCZ Platinum PC3-12800
ProcessorIntel Core 2 Quad Q6600 "G0" 2.4GHz 2x4MB
Motherboard Asus P5K3 Deluxe
Graphics Card  Sapphire Ultimate X1950 Pro 256mb PCI-E
Hard Disk Hitachi Deskstar 80GB 7K80 SATA2 7200RPM 8mb
CPU Cooling Stock Intel Aluminium Cooler
Operating System Microsoft Windows Vista Ultimate (Latest Updates)
Graphics Drivers ATI Catalyst 7.4.44981
Motherboard Drivers Intel INF 8.300.1013
 
To guarantee a broad range of results, the following benchmark utilities will be used:
 
Synthetic Memory Subsystem
• Sisoft Sandra XII 2008c
• Lavalys Everest 4.0

File Compression & Encoding
• 7-Zip File Compression
• River Past ViMark

3D / Rendering Benchmarks
• Cinebench 10
• 3DMark05
• 3DMark06

3D Games
• Quake 4
• Bioshock
• F.E.A.R
 
 
Test Settings & Overclocking
 
As with all memory reviews on Overclock3D the Viper PC3-15000 modules were subjected to a series of benchmark tests under several different configurations. The configurations used tested the memory's ability to run at high frequencies with stock timings, high frequencies with loosened timings and also ensured that that the modules could run with 100% stability at their advertised speed, latency and voltage settings.
 
Stock Frequency & Timings
DDR3-1866 / 8-8-8-24 / 1.90v 
Patriot PVS32G1866LLK CPU-Z Patriot PVS32G1866LLK CPU-Z
 
It is an unfortunate fact that many memory kits tested here at Overclock3D fall at the first hurdle by not being able to run with 100% stability at their advertised stock settings. A recent example of this was when we tested Patriot's PDC32G1866LLK kit and failed to perform any level of overclocking due to stability issues.
 
However, after several hours of intense gaming benchmarks coupled with SuperPI and Prime95 stability testing, I'm pleased to say that the Patriot Viper kit didn't falter once, managing to run at advertised speeds with 100% stability. This is extremely good news, and shows that our previous experience with Patriot's PDC1866LLK kit was more than likely an isolated incident.
 
 
Highest Frequency @ Stock Timings
DDR3-1964 / 8-8-8-24 / 1.95v
Patriot PVS32G1866LLK CPU-Z Patriot PVS32G1866LLK CPU-Z
 
With the Viper kit already running at an extremely nippy 1866mhz, I certainly wasn't expecting to see much in the way of overclocking from these modules. However, with a little bit of extra voltage and some additional tweaking, the kit managed to hit DDR3-1964 with relative ease. This is actually the highest speed we've obtained from any DDR3 kit tested on Overclock3D without changing the manufacturers stated timings.
 
For those interested in getting the maximum memory overclocks out of their Asus DDR3 boards, please try the following as these proved extremely beneficial on the Patriot kit:
 
- Moving ram to A2 / B2 memory slots
- Set Transaction Booster to "Relaxed Level 3"
 
 
Highest Frequency @ Relaxed Timings
DDR3-1972 / 8-9-9-24 / 2.0v
Patriot PVS32G1866LLK CPU-Z Patriot PVS32G1866LLK CPU-Z
 
Loosening the timings to 8-9-9-24 allowed the modules to be pushed even further with system stability only becoming a limiting factor at DDR3-1972 (just 28mhz short of 1ghz!!). I have no doubts in my mind that by increasing the voltage to 2.1/2.2v, we could have easily seen Viper kit hit DDR3-2000 (1000mhz) and possibly even beyond!
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next»

Most Recent Comments

30-12-2007, 11:39:35

JN
"Just 3 weeks ago we tested Patriot's non-Viper PC3-1500 kit, However since then Patriot have made some changes and we've been invited to take a 2nd look"

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...150009431s.jpg

Patriot PVS32G1866LLK PC3-15000 Review

30-12-2007, 11:51:35

Luigi
nice, nearly 2ghz!!! DDr3 is looking good, apart from prices...

30-12-2007, 11:57:57

Hatman
Those will come down eventually though.

Hopefully they come down by december next year, its kinda obvious they will but DDR2 is still very popular and DDR3 doesnt show much improvement over it anyway

Then all the rubbish that now we need at least 2gb for most things and since 2gb modules arent the every day thing yet its not great atm.

So, 2gb ddr3 modules, those will be gd gd. Cant see any point in getting some lower clocked than 1600mhz though.

30-12-2007, 13:34:40

FarFarAway
Those looks damn sweet modules - 2GHz ftw

30-12-2007, 22:52:12

PV5150
Very nice sticks and a quality review as usual Jim. Well done
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.