Patriot Extreme Performance (PDC22G8500ELK) DDR2 2GB Kit

3DMark05/06, CS:Source & F.E.A.R Results

3DMark05/06, Counter-Strike:Source & F.E.A.R

Patriot PC2-8500 3DMark05 Patriot PC2-8500 3DMark06

Both 3DMark05 and 3DMark06 showed the best results with the memory overclocked to 592mhz. Probably the largest reason for this is that both testing suites are heavily influenced by processor speed and in order to run the memory at 592mhz the CPU speed was raised from 2.66ghz to 2.96ghz.

Patriot PC2-8500 Counter-Strike Patriot PC2-8500 F.E.A.R

As expected F.E.A.R thrives on the higher memory and CPU speed, showing an 11fps advantage over the stock settings when running at 592mhz.

Counter-Strike:Source completely turns the tables on the rest of the benchmark results by performing best at stock frequencies with 4-4-4-6 timings. With the memory overclocked to 592mhz, the results are actually lower than when the memory and cpu are running completely at stock.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next»

Most Recent Comments

16-03-2007, 13:58:38

JN
"Patriot memory may not be the easiest to get a hold of here in the UK, but that certainly doesn't mean that its not worth the effort. Today I've been given the opportunity to take a look at their top-end PC2-8500 modules. Are they worth hunting down? We find out."

Linky Linky

And look out for a new OC3D feature at the end of the review

16-03-2007, 14:54:24

Mullet
nice review Jams.

Patriot make some sweet DDR & DDR2...had a set of their DIMMS in my AMD FX based rig...very nice!

16-03-2007, 14:59:36

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Mullet'
nice review Jams.

Patriot make some sweet DDR & DDR2...had a set of their DIMMS in my AMD FX based rig...very nice!
Cheers & lol, never been called that before

16-03-2007, 18:12:28

Mullet
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='XMS'
Cheers & lol, never been called that before
Had a mate in Uni called James.....always ref'd to as Jams....

16-03-2007, 18:14:23

Luffy
Thanks for another great review XMS.

16-03-2007, 18:44:47

PV5150
Awesome review as usual Jim, well done. I loved the new 'recommended retailers' icon - nice touch. I fixed your link from the review to forum for ya

16-03-2007, 19:42:54

Toxcity
Superb as usual! Keep it up dudes!

Nice memory from the looks of things too!

16-03-2007, 20:14:49

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='PV5150'
Awesome review as usual Jim, well done. I loved the new 'recommended retailers' icon - nice touch. I fixed your link from the review to forum for ya
Cheers mate, and yes the Recommended Retailers button gets live feeds from trusted retailers we consider to be worthy of your cash We'll be adding some more soon so hopefully the pricing in reviews will apply to worldwide readers

16-03-2007, 20:59:28

NickS
Nice review

With TRAS @ 18, 600MHz should be attainable.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.