Patriot Extreme Performance (PDC22G8500ELK) DDR2 2GB Kit

Test Setup & Settings

Test Setup

Processor: Intel Core2Duo E6700 "Conroe"
Motherboard: Asus Commando P965 (unmodded)
Graphics Card: Sapphire ATI X1950Pro 512mb
Hard Disks: 2x Hitachi Deskstar 80gb SATA-II 8mb Cache (RAID0)
Power Supply: Enermax Infiniti 720w
Operating System: Windows XP SP2



Settings

When benchmarking the Patriot modules I wanted to be sure to cover all angles. Some people like to run their memory at low latencies, some like to run their memory at high frequencies, whilst others prefer a mixture of both settings. Below is some information regarding the testing procedures and their results:

Stock Settings (533mhz / 2.2v / 5-5-5-9)

Patriot CPU-Z Patriot CPU-Z

After being worried by the extremely high stock voltage of 2.6v listed on Patriot's website, I decided to be slightly more conservative and run them at a voltage known to be perfectly safe for D9 IC's - 2.2v. At this voltage the modules had no problems performing at the listed stock timings as speeds with 100% stability.


Lowest Timings @ Stock Frequency (533mhz / 2.35v / 4-4-4-6)

Patriot CPU-Z Patriot CPU-Z

By increasing the memory voltage up to 2.35v I was successfully able to reduce the kit's timings down to a respectable 4-4-4-6 whilst also maintaining the stock frequency of 533mhz. Increasing the voltage past 2.35v did not provide any more headroom for tightening the latency, and as a result combinations of RCD and RP set to 3 proved unbootable.


Highest Frequency @ Relaxed Timings (592mhz / 2.35v / 5-5-5-15)

Patriot CPU-Z Patriot CPU-Z

By relaxing the TRAS slightly and increasing the voltage to 2.35v I was able to increase the frequency of the modules to 592mhz. Yet again, extra voltage over 2.35v did not help push the modules any further, and loosening the timings to 5-6-6-15 produced only a small overclock increase up to 598mhz. Active cooling was also tried with the modules above 2.35v, but it certainly seemed like heat wasn't the issue.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next»

Most Recent Comments

16-03-2007, 13:58:38

JN
"Patriot memory may not be the easiest to get a hold of here in the UK, but that certainly doesn't mean that its not worth the effort. Today I've been given the opportunity to take a look at their top-end PC2-8500 modules. Are they worth hunting down? We find out."

Linky Linky

And look out for a new OC3D feature at the end of the review

16-03-2007, 14:54:24

Mullet
nice review Jams.

Patriot make some sweet DDR & DDR2...had a set of their DIMMS in my AMD FX based rig...very nice!

16-03-2007, 14:59:36

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Mullet'
nice review Jams.

Patriot make some sweet DDR & DDR2...had a set of their DIMMS in my AMD FX based rig...very nice!
Cheers & lol, never been called that before

16-03-2007, 18:12:28

Mullet
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='XMS'
Cheers & lol, never been called that before
Had a mate in Uni called James.....always ref'd to as Jams....

16-03-2007, 18:14:23

Luffy
Thanks for another great review XMS.

16-03-2007, 18:44:47

PV5150
Awesome review as usual Jim, well done. I loved the new 'recommended retailers' icon - nice touch. I fixed your link from the review to forum for ya

16-03-2007, 19:42:54

Toxcity
Superb as usual! Keep it up dudes!

Nice memory from the looks of things too!

16-03-2007, 20:14:49

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='PV5150'
Awesome review as usual Jim, well done. I loved the new 'recommended retailers' icon - nice touch. I fixed your link from the review to forum for ya
Cheers mate, and yes the Recommended Retailers button gets live feeds from trusted retailers we consider to be worthy of your cash We'll be adding some more soon so hopefully the pricing in reviews will apply to worldwide readers

16-03-2007, 20:59:28

NickS
Nice review

With TRAS @ 18, 600MHz should be attainable.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.