Patriot 6GB DDR3 PC3-12800 1600MHz Viper Series Low Latency Kit

Gaming Benchmarks

 
3DMark is a popular synthetic gaming benchmark used by many gamers and overclockers to gauge the performance of their PC's. All 3DMark runs were performed a total of 5 times, with the highest and lowest results being removed and an average calculated from the remaining 3 results.





 


Ubisoft has developed a new engine specifically for Far Cry 2, called Dunia, meaning "world", "earth" or "living" in Parsi. The engine takes advantage of multi-core processors as well as multiple processors and supports DirectX 9 as well as DirectX 10. Running the Far Cry 2 benchmark tool the test was run 5 times with the highest and lowest scores being omitted and the average calculated from the remaining 3.
 

 
Results conclusions

The results speak for themselves. Even with both the speed and timings set exactly the same, the Patriot Kit outperformed the Corsair consistently. While 3 FPS may not seem like a big deal, it is a huge leap considering the only component change was the DDR3.

Let's head over to the conclusion...

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next»

Most Recent Comments

20-02-2009, 07:45:26

PV5150
webbo took a look at Patriot's 6GB DDR3 PC3-12800 1600MHz Viper Series Low Latency Kit, and liked what he saw.

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...201147818s.jpg

Check out the review here.

20-02-2009, 07:50:27

AntiHeroUK
I love those heatsinks. Great RAM, smokes the Corsair in almost all the benchmarks

20-02-2009, 08:43:13

Rastalovich
The gaming benches do show some seperation, the individual testings reflect to the contrary in the main.

Lose the big spike heat sinks, they aren't necessary afaik, the days of smoking ddr1 are long gone - and the big thing is they offend a fan for ur tower cpu cooler that rear-faces.

Price isn't as scary as I thought tbh.

20-02-2009, 09:59:39

w3bbo
I liked the heatsinks tbh. While I wouldn't necessarily say they are a definite requirement, they did get warm to the touch so were obviously doing something. Having large heatsinks also does away with the requirement for a memory fan.

20-02-2009, 10:13:12

Rastalovich
U take a large amount of copper and put a current through it, it will raise it`s temp. Keeping the temp within the copper, i.e. putting a blue design over it, isn't going to disapate it anytime soon. Not even with a fan. U'r pretty much insulating it in.

U could get away with no sink, and allow a rear facing cpu fan.

Or reduce the fins, lose the blue insulation, and have a nice old style spreader if u wanted - and allow a rear facing cpu fan.

Either way, unless u insulate the heat within the devices, they aren't meant to get that hot these days I don't think.

20-02-2009, 14:01:40

Diablo
This looks like a pretty good kit, at an amazing price really. Nice thoroughly done review as always guys. Might consider these if I go i7 in the next 6 months...

20-02-2009, 14:11:02

w3bbo
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Rastalovich'
U take a large amount of copper and put a current through it, it will raise it`s temp. Keeping the temp within the copper, i.e. putting a blue design over it, isn't going to disapate it anytime soon. Not even with a fan. U'r pretty much insulating it in.

U could get away with no sink, and allow a rear facing cpu fan.

Or reduce the fins, lose the blue insulation, and have a nice old style spreader if u wanted - and allow a rear facing cpu fan.

Either way, unless u insulate the heat within the devices, they aren't meant to get that hot these days I don't think.
The heatspreader is not conducting electricty though? It did not obstruct a rear facing fan either, not on the heatsink I used anyway.

18-03-2009, 12:37:01

haofeng
http://www.overclockers.co.uk/showproduct.php?prodid=MY-008-PA

£96.98!?!?! Is this an unbelievable deal- or am I missing something?

18-03-2009, 12:38:46

AntiHeroUK
Yeah DDR3 memory prices are falling quite rapidly atm.

18-03-2009, 12:40:22

Bungral
You're right... Amazing deal!

18-03-2009, 13:14:52

w3bbo
Prices are dropping daily tbh. Shame mobo's arn't doing the same.

18-03-2009, 14:07:34

DeMoB
Wow, I can remember when I paid more for 2x512MB sticks of CL4 800Mhz DDR2!

Must have some tight subtimings to beat the corsair by so much.

Dan

18-03-2009, 14:10:54

°TheMadDutchDude°
Fantastic stuff by the looks of it. I wish that the i7 CPU itself and the motherboards would plummet more towards my level I don't have the money to upgrade to it so I am stuck on 775.

23-03-2009, 21:43:34

OmegaStalker

23-03-2009, 21:48:02

sprento
Was just about to buy them when Zak pointed out how little I know about ram.

23-03-2009, 21:51:30

OmegaStalker
lmao what did zak say? you seen the review they are wicked...

23-03-2009, 21:54:10

sprento
I needed dual channel ddr3 for new mobo, he pointed out that this is tripple channel, twice.

Link

23-03-2009, 21:56:40

OmegaStalker
lmao well for the i7 riggers like me that is a steal £100 off listing price really... make my g.skill looks like right gits

23-03-2009, 21:59:12

sprento
It's easily a typo, someone's missed out the '1' in the price. You should order all 5 of them then ebay them !

23-03-2009, 22:01:51

OmegaStalker
lol true... you want to lend me £400?

23-03-2009, 22:13:47

sprento
Eh, no !

Funny thing is tho, ever since I read this review, I was straight on to google to find who had the cheapest quote and after finding nova I bookmarked the page. Now I realize that since then, nobody has bought any from them (there's always been 5 in stock) You'd think that others would be doing as I have !

\/ Double post, please remove \/

23-03-2009, 22:14:26

sprento
Oops

29-06-2009, 16:29:09

Mullet
Well..... just got myself a set of these bad boys for my i7 rig....watch this space for my thoughts on their performance!! w0000t
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.