Patriot 6GB DDR3 PC3-12800 1600MHz Viper Series Low Latency Kit

Test Setup

Test Setup

For today's testing we will be using the Gigabyte EX-58 UD5, a mid-range Core i7 motherboard from Gigabyte that will allow us to push the memory on test to its absolute limit. Here's a breakdown of the rest of the components:
 
Processor
Intel Core i7 920 'Nehalem' @ 2.66Ghz

Motherboard
Gigabyte EX58-UD5

Memory
Patriot 6GB DDR3 PC3-12800 1600MHz Viper Series Low Latency Kit

Corsair CL8 1600MHz 8-8-8-24 3x2GB kit

Graphics Card
Nvidia 280GTX

Drivers
GeForce 180.60

PSU
Gigabyte Odin 1200w

Operating System
Windows Vista Ultimate 64bit SP1 + Updates
 
For testing the memory we used a number of synthetic benchmarks and games:
 
Synthetic Benchmarks
  • Lavalys Everest 4.10
  • SuperPI mod_1.5
  • Sisoft Sandra 2009
3D Benchmarks
  • 3DMark Vantage
  • Far Cry 2
 
For the run of benchmarks, we will be comparing the 1600MHz 6GB Patriot kit to the 1600MHz 6GB Corsair Dominator kit which on the surface has the exact same performance profile.

 
Overclocking
 
Starting from scratch we disabled on the settings that may affect the overclocked settings such as Intel Speed Step as well as disabling the C-State settings which may also affect some of the results in the benchmark testing phase of the review. Here's how the sticks look at stock speed:
 
 JEDEC

stock cpu stock memory
 
We expected great things from these sticks and we were not disappointed. First off, we tried bumping the bandwidth to 1800MHz and to our surprise, it booted into Windows where we ran 3DMark and a few runs of Super PI. This was the maximum our previous best kit, the Corsair Dominator managed so we were intrigued to see if we could get more. Ambitiously we went straight for the jugular and tried out for 2000MHz, but alas, this was too much for the Patriot kit. So we found a nice middle ground of 1900MHz which was stable as a rock.

overclock cpu Overclock memory 
 
To get to this speed we had to slacken the timings to 9-9-9-24 but the benefits of 300MHz over stock will no doubt negate this difference. We tried lowering the timings at the stock speed of 1600MHz to 7-7-7-24 but the motherboard refused to POST, even with a slight bump in voltage to 1.7v. Despite this, we were impressed overall by the ease at which the Patriot kit overclocked. At 1900MHz this kit will no doubt gobble up anything we throw at it but we will return the kit to its stock settings to see how it compares with the Corsair Dominator kit.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next»

Most Recent Comments

20-02-2009, 07:45:26

PV5150
webbo took a look at Patriot's 6GB DDR3 PC3-12800 1600MHz Viper Series Low Latency Kit, and liked what he saw.

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...201147818s.jpg

Check out the review here.

20-02-2009, 07:50:27

AntiHeroUK
I love those heatsinks. Great RAM, smokes the Corsair in almost all the benchmarks

20-02-2009, 08:43:13

Rastalovich
The gaming benches do show some seperation, the individual testings reflect to the contrary in the main.

Lose the big spike heat sinks, they aren't necessary afaik, the days of smoking ddr1 are long gone - and the big thing is they offend a fan for ur tower cpu cooler that rear-faces.

Price isn't as scary as I thought tbh.

20-02-2009, 09:59:39

w3bbo
I liked the heatsinks tbh. While I wouldn't necessarily say they are a definite requirement, they did get warm to the touch so were obviously doing something. Having large heatsinks also does away with the requirement for a memory fan.

20-02-2009, 10:13:12

Rastalovich
U take a large amount of copper and put a current through it, it will raise it`s temp. Keeping the temp within the copper, i.e. putting a blue design over it, isn't going to disapate it anytime soon. Not even with a fan. U'r pretty much insulating it in.

U could get away with no sink, and allow a rear facing cpu fan.

Or reduce the fins, lose the blue insulation, and have a nice old style spreader if u wanted - and allow a rear facing cpu fan.

Either way, unless u insulate the heat within the devices, they aren't meant to get that hot these days I don't think.

20-02-2009, 14:01:40

Diablo
This looks like a pretty good kit, at an amazing price really. Nice thoroughly done review as always guys. Might consider these if I go i7 in the next 6 months...

20-02-2009, 14:11:02

w3bbo
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Rastalovich'
U take a large amount of copper and put a current through it, it will raise it`s temp. Keeping the temp within the copper, i.e. putting a blue design over it, isn't going to disapate it anytime soon. Not even with a fan. U'r pretty much insulating it in.

U could get away with no sink, and allow a rear facing cpu fan.

Or reduce the fins, lose the blue insulation, and have a nice old style spreader if u wanted - and allow a rear facing cpu fan.

Either way, unless u insulate the heat within the devices, they aren't meant to get that hot these days I don't think.
The heatspreader is not conducting electricty though? It did not obstruct a rear facing fan either, not on the heatsink I used anyway.

18-03-2009, 12:37:01

haofeng
http://www.overclockers.co.uk/showproduct.php?prodid=MY-008-PA

£96.98!?!?! Is this an unbelievable deal- or am I missing something?

18-03-2009, 12:38:46

AntiHeroUK
Yeah DDR3 memory prices are falling quite rapidly atm.

18-03-2009, 12:40:22

Bungral
You're right... Amazing deal!

18-03-2009, 13:14:52

w3bbo
Prices are dropping daily tbh. Shame mobo's arn't doing the same.

18-03-2009, 14:07:34

DeMoB
Wow, I can remember when I paid more for 2x512MB sticks of CL4 800Mhz DDR2!

Must have some tight subtimings to beat the corsair by so much.

Dan

18-03-2009, 14:10:54

°TheMadDutchDude°
Fantastic stuff by the looks of it. I wish that the i7 CPU itself and the motherboards would plummet more towards my level I don't have the money to upgrade to it so I am stuck on 775.

23-03-2009, 21:43:34

OmegaStalker

23-03-2009, 21:48:02

sprento
Was just about to buy them when Zak pointed out how little I know about ram.

23-03-2009, 21:51:30

OmegaStalker
lmao what did zak say? you seen the review they are wicked...

23-03-2009, 21:54:10

sprento
I needed dual channel ddr3 for new mobo, he pointed out that this is tripple channel, twice.

Link

23-03-2009, 21:56:40

OmegaStalker
lmao well for the i7 riggers like me that is a steal £100 off listing price really... make my g.skill looks like right gits

23-03-2009, 21:59:12

sprento
It's easily a typo, someone's missed out the '1' in the price. You should order all 5 of them then ebay them !

23-03-2009, 22:01:51

OmegaStalker
lol true... you want to lend me £400?

23-03-2009, 22:13:47

sprento
Eh, no !

Funny thing is tho, ever since I read this review, I was straight on to google to find who had the cheapest quote and after finding nova I bookmarked the page. Now I realize that since then, nobody has bought any from them (there's always been 5 in stock) You'd think that others would be doing as I have !

\/ Double post, please remove \/

23-03-2009, 22:14:26

sprento
Oops

29-06-2009, 16:29:09

Mullet
Well..... just got myself a set of these bad boys for my i7 rig....watch this space for my thoughts on their performance!! w0000t
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.