Patriot 6GB DDR3 PC3-12800 1600MHz Viper Series Low Latency Kit

Packaging & Appearance

Packaging & Appearance
 
Now this is more like it. In contrast to previous triple-channel DDR3 kits we see that Patriot have gone to the trouble to package the product as a finished product. The outer box is glossy in finish and features the 'VIPER SERIES DDR3' emblem, a picture of the DDR3 kit itself and the XMP logo which in effect is a nod to the EPP feature of previous chipsets. XMP allows the motherboard to automatically configure the DDR3 to its optimal, advertised speed without the need to go fiddling in the BIOS.
 
Box front Box back
 
The packaging doesn't stop there though because opening the box up we find two blister-style packs containing the RAM itself. The leaflet inside the pack describes in detail how to fit the DDR3 just in case you aren't sure of the procedure and goes on to describe how to decipher the main four settings. There is no mention of the actual timings of this kit in the leaflet or the outer packaging other than the RAM speed.


package front Package rear
 
The modules themselves are identical aesthetically to the previous Viper kit we reviewed other than the obvious sky blue colour instead of the green. The blue is slightly deeper in tone to the ones printed on the packet and those shown on websites so you may want to bear this in mind if your are picky with your colours.

3's a crowd Timings
 
The full specification is printed on a black sticker on the front of the module so there should be no mistaking what settings to use if your motherboard is not XMP compatible. This kit is the LLK version (Low Latency) signified by the LLK tagged on the end of the product number. Patriot also have an Enhanced Latency kit which runs at speeds of 9-9-9-24 instead of this kit which runs at 8-8-8-24.

stick front ram back
 
Green PCB's are a thing of the past and Patriot have acknowledged this with a much more appealing black PCB hidden underneath the Viper Series heatsinks. The heatsinks themselves deserve special mention in that they are equipped with integrated ACC (Aluminium Copper Composite) technology. This should dissipate as much heat as possible from the modules, ensuring long life and maximum overclocking potential.

ram top ram side
 
Being dual height means that fitting oversized CPU coolers could present a problem depending on the distance from which your DDR slots are located from the CPU socket. They are however, no bigger than competing modules such as Corsair's Dominator series and during testing we had no difficulty in fitting an OCZ Gladaitor CPU cooler with this RAM.

Opened Close up

Peeling off the ACC heat shield (don't do this if you wish to keep your warranty intact) we found the integrated chips used on the Patriot modules are premium grade Micron D9JNL's. These chips are renowned overclockers on low voltage in contrast to the GTR's which seemed to scale better with increased voltage.

So without further delay let's move on to the test setup and overclocking section of the review...
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next»

Most Recent Comments

20-02-2009, 07:45:26

PV5150
webbo took a look at Patriot's 6GB DDR3 PC3-12800 1600MHz Viper Series Low Latency Kit, and liked what he saw.

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...201147818s.jpg

Check out the review here.

20-02-2009, 07:50:27

AntiHeroUK
I love those heatsinks. Great RAM, smokes the Corsair in almost all the benchmarks

20-02-2009, 08:43:13

Rastalovich
The gaming benches do show some seperation, the individual testings reflect to the contrary in the main.

Lose the big spike heat sinks, they aren't necessary afaik, the days of smoking ddr1 are long gone - and the big thing is they offend a fan for ur tower cpu cooler that rear-faces.

Price isn't as scary as I thought tbh.

20-02-2009, 09:59:39

w3bbo
I liked the heatsinks tbh. While I wouldn't necessarily say they are a definite requirement, they did get warm to the touch so were obviously doing something. Having large heatsinks also does away with the requirement for a memory fan.

20-02-2009, 10:13:12

Rastalovich
U take a large amount of copper and put a current through it, it will raise it`s temp. Keeping the temp within the copper, i.e. putting a blue design over it, isn't going to disapate it anytime soon. Not even with a fan. U'r pretty much insulating it in.

U could get away with no sink, and allow a rear facing cpu fan.

Or reduce the fins, lose the blue insulation, and have a nice old style spreader if u wanted - and allow a rear facing cpu fan.

Either way, unless u insulate the heat within the devices, they aren't meant to get that hot these days I don't think.

20-02-2009, 14:01:40

Diablo
This looks like a pretty good kit, at an amazing price really. Nice thoroughly done review as always guys. Might consider these if I go i7 in the next 6 months...

20-02-2009, 14:11:02

w3bbo
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Rastalovich'
U take a large amount of copper and put a current through it, it will raise it`s temp. Keeping the temp within the copper, i.e. putting a blue design over it, isn't going to disapate it anytime soon. Not even with a fan. U'r pretty much insulating it in.

U could get away with no sink, and allow a rear facing cpu fan.

Or reduce the fins, lose the blue insulation, and have a nice old style spreader if u wanted - and allow a rear facing cpu fan.

Either way, unless u insulate the heat within the devices, they aren't meant to get that hot these days I don't think.
The heatspreader is not conducting electricty though? It did not obstruct a rear facing fan either, not on the heatsink I used anyway.

18-03-2009, 12:37:01

haofeng
http://www.overclockers.co.uk/showproduct.php?prodid=MY-008-PA

£96.98!?!?! Is this an unbelievable deal- or am I missing something?

18-03-2009, 12:38:46

AntiHeroUK
Yeah DDR3 memory prices are falling quite rapidly atm.

18-03-2009, 12:40:22

Bungral
You're right... Amazing deal!

18-03-2009, 13:14:52

w3bbo
Prices are dropping daily tbh. Shame mobo's arn't doing the same.

18-03-2009, 14:07:34

DeMoB
Wow, I can remember when I paid more for 2x512MB sticks of CL4 800Mhz DDR2!

Must have some tight subtimings to beat the corsair by so much.

Dan

18-03-2009, 14:10:54

°TheMadDutchDude°
Fantastic stuff by the looks of it. I wish that the i7 CPU itself and the motherboards would plummet more towards my level I don't have the money to upgrade to it so I am stuck on 775.

23-03-2009, 21:43:34

OmegaStalker

23-03-2009, 21:48:02

sprento
Was just about to buy them when Zak pointed out how little I know about ram.

23-03-2009, 21:51:30

OmegaStalker
lmao what did zak say? you seen the review they are wicked...

23-03-2009, 21:54:10

sprento
I needed dual channel ddr3 for new mobo, he pointed out that this is tripple channel, twice.

Link

23-03-2009, 21:56:40

OmegaStalker
lmao well for the i7 riggers like me that is a steal £100 off listing price really... make my g.skill looks like right gits

23-03-2009, 21:59:12

sprento
It's easily a typo, someone's missed out the '1' in the price. You should order all 5 of them then ebay them !

23-03-2009, 22:01:51

OmegaStalker
lol true... you want to lend me £400?

23-03-2009, 22:13:47

sprento
Eh, no !

Funny thing is tho, ever since I read this review, I was straight on to google to find who had the cheapest quote and after finding nova I bookmarked the page. Now I realize that since then, nobody has bought any from them (there's always been 5 in stock) You'd think that others would be doing as I have !

\/ Double post, please remove \/

23-03-2009, 22:14:26

sprento
Oops

29-06-2009, 16:29:09

Mullet
Well..... just got myself a set of these bad boys for my i7 rig....watch this space for my thoughts on their performance!! w0000t
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.