OCZ Reaper HPC PC2-8500 2GB DDR2 Kit

Test Setup & Settings

Test Setup

Processor: Intel Core2Duo E6700 "Conroe"
Motherboard: Asus Commando P965 (unmodded)
Graphics Card: BFG 8800GTS Overclocked (550mhz / 1600mhz)
Hard Disks: 2x Hitachi Deskstar 80gb SATA-II 8mb Cache (RAID0)
Power Supply: Enermax Infiniti 720w
Operating System: Windows XP SP2


Settings

As with all DDR2 reviews on Overclock3D the Reaper modules were subjected to a series of benchmark tests under several different configurations. The configurations used tested the memory's ability to run at high frequencies, tight timings and also ensured that that it could run with 100% stability at stock settings.

Stock - DDR2-1066 / 5-5-5-15 / 2.3v

CPUZ CPUZ

It's an unfortunate fact that some memory modules we've tested here at Overclock3D in the past haven't been able to run at their rated settings. For this reason, the first test we perform on any modules passing through the OC3D labs is their ability to run at the manufacturers stated timings, frequency and voltage.

I'm pleased to say that the OCZ Reaper modules passed this first test without any problems, managing the full DDR2-1066 (PC2-8500) at 5-5-5-15 with 2.3v.


Lowest Latency - DDR2-1066 / 5-4-4-8 / 2.35v

CPUZ CPUZ

Having confirmed earlier in the review that the Reaper modules are based around Micron D9 IC's, I started by tightening the timings down to 4-5-5-10. This setting should have been easily achievable for modules of this type, but unfortunately they didn't want to play ball. With the voltage set to 2.35v the PC would blue screen on Windows startup at any CAS4 latency setting. After several hours of tweaking, the tightest achievable latency for this particular Reaper kit was 5-4-4-8.


Highest Frequency - DDR2-1156 / 5-5-5-15 / 2.35v

CPUZ CPUZ

Despite the slightly disappointing latency overclock results, I set about finding the maximum frequency of the Reaper kit. With the voltage set to 2.35v the furthest the modules could be overclocked while still maintaining stability was 578mhz (DDR2-1156). This may not be the best overclock we've ever seen on an PC2-8500 kit here at OC3D, but an 8% overclock is certainly not to be sniffed at.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next»

Most Recent Comments

01-05-2007, 20:06:23

FarFarAway
Posted by XMS - must have forgot to post it!

Check it out here

02-05-2007, 01:14:31

JN
voops

02-05-2007, 06:23:55

llwyd
Nice kit for a very nice price

02-05-2007, 06:39:34

Raging
not bad,nice review

Raging.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.