OCZ Platinum PC3-12800 (DDR3-1600) DDR3 2GB Kit

Conclusion

Conclusion

After overcoming some initial hurdles with our Asus Blitz motherboard with the help of OCZ, the Platinum PC3-12800 modules showed us exactly what they were made of. Managing an extremely good 102mhz overclock on the stock 7-7-7-20 timings taking them up to DDR3-1804, we couldn't believe that they had much more left in them. However, on loosening the timings to 8-8-8-25, the Platinum kit reached a whopping DDR3-1946 with 100% stability and even showed potential for blasting past DDR3-2000 with a little extra voltage.

Priced at £335 over at Komplett, the Platinum kit may seem expensive on first impressions. However when you take into consideration the current price of DDR3 and the cost of similar kits from other manufacturers (including unbranded modules), the OCZ Platinum kit is actually extremely well priced, and based on it's amazing overclock results - worth every penny.

So in summary OCZ have once again shown us that after 7 years in the business they still haven't taken their finger off the pulse or lost sight of their original goal to produce some of the best overclocker friendly memory modules in the market. The Platinum PC3-12800 kit is yet another great addition to their memory line-up, and a perfect start to what I'm sure will be an interesting (and extremely fast) range of DDR3 modules.

Komplett


The Good
• Manages DDR3-1804 on stock timings
• Loosening timings to 8-8-8-25 allows speeds up to DDR-1946 (and higher with extra volts)
• Usual OCZ lifetime warranty with great after-sales support.
• Competitive pricing for a DDR3 kit.

The Mediocre
• Packaging could do with spicing up.

The Bad
• Nadda!


Editors Choice Award

Thanks to OCZ for making this review possible. Discuss this review in our forums.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next»

Most Recent Comments

09-10-2007, 10:06:32

JN
"DDR3 speeds have been ramping up in leaps and bounds over the past few months, and today we get to take a look at OCZ's insanely fast Platinum DDR3-1600 kit."

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...105337782s.jpg

OCZ Platinum PC3-12800 Review

09-10-2007, 10:12:22

Toxcity
Very nice review Jim!

Now, lets sort out all those spelling mistakes.. hahahah got ya, only joking!!

None the less DDR3 is finally looking up.. but then you look at the price!

09-10-2007, 10:19:36

PV5150
How good is that RAM? Absolutely insane!!! Once more peeps start adopting it and the price comes down a bit more I'm on it. Great review as usual Jim

09-10-2007, 10:23:11

JN
Cheers guys. It is indeed some extremely fast ram. Now I'm tempted to crank it up to 2.1v under some water

09-10-2007, 11:08:21

ionicle
i remember about 3 years ago, i mentioned watercooling ram on the forum, and everybody laughed at me, well, look at this now

10-10-2007, 08:30:40

Mr. Smith
Damn thats some smokin hot ram.

I won't get ddr3 until the price of 2gb is half that price!

10-10-2007, 11:29:35

Pyr0
*drool* much nicer stuff than these elpida, kingston sticks which top out at 1500MHz
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.