OCZ Platinum PC3-12800 (DDR3-1600) DDR3 2GB Kit

Test Setup, Settings & Overclocking

Test Setup

With DDR3 speeds ramping up on an almost weekly basis, It's extremely difficult to obtain two or more memory kits with similar specifications to perform any kind of worthwhile comparison. Therefore, the OCZ Platinum PC3-12800 kit will be reviewed as a standalone product using the hardware specified below.

However, as further DDR3 reviews are added to Overclock3D, any products deemed to be within comparative specifications of this review item will be added to the graphs over the next pages.

 OCZ Platinum PC3-12800
Processor
Intel Core2Duo E6850
Motherboard
Asus Blitz Extreme (P35)
Graphics Card
BFG 8800GTS 640mb OC2 Edition
Hard Disk
Hitachi Deskstar 80GB 7K80 SATA2 7200RPM 8mb
CPU Cooling
Stock Intel Aluminium Cooler
Operating System
Microsoft Windows XP (SP2) 32bit - Latest Patches
 
Memory Frequency*
800mhz (DDR2-1600)
Memory Latency*
7-7-7-20

To guarantee a broad range of results, the following benchmark utilities will be used:

• Sisoft Sandra XI SP2 (CPU, Memory & HDD tests)
• Everest Memory Benchmarks
• SuperPI Mod v1.4 (1m and 16m)
• Quake 4
• Counter-Strike:Source
• F.E.A.R
• 3DMark05
• 3DMark06


Memory Settings & Overclocking

As with all memory reviews on Overclock3D the Platinum PC3-12800 modules were subjected to a series of benchmark tests under several different configurations. The configurations used tested the memory's ability to run at high frequencies, tight timings and also ensured that that the modules could run with 100% stability at their advertised stock settings.

Stock Frequency & Timings
DDR3-1600 / 7-7-7-20 / 1.90v

OCZ Platinum PC3-12800 CPU-Z OCZ Platinum PC3-12800 CPU-Z

It is an unfortunate fact that many memory kits tested here at Overclock3D fall at the first hurdle by not being able to run with 100% stability at their advertised stock settings. Therefore the first test for the Platinum kit was to test it's ability to run at 800mhz with 7-7-7-20 timings on 1.9v. As OCZ don't actually specify if the Platinum kit is designed to run at 1T or 2T, we opted to first test the stability of the kit at the higher performing setting of 1T.

By default the E6850 used in this review has a FSB frequency of 333mhz, which even with a 1:2 ratio on the memory falls far short of the stock 800mhz that the Platinum modules are capable of. Therefore, the FSB frequency of the E6850 was raised to 400mhz on a 1:2 divider to run the Platinum kit at exactly 800mhz. The multiplier of the CPU was also dropped from x9 to x8 in order to keep the core speed of the E6850 as close to it's stock 3.0ghz as possible.

After several hours of intense gaming benchmarks coupled with SuperPI and Prime95 stability testing, I'm pleased to say that the OCZ Platinum PC3-12800 kit didn't faulter once, thus showing that the kit is more than capable of running at OCZ's advertised speeds.


Highest Frequency @ Stock Timings
DDR3-1804 / 7-7-7-7-20 / 1.95v

OCZ platinum PC3-12800 CPU-Z OCZ Platinum PC3-12800 CPU-Z

Overclocking the OCZ Platinum PC3-12800 modules wasn't as easy as I'd initially anticipated. While a large number of memory modules can achieve extremely good overclocking results by just increasing the FSB and adjusting the voltage, the Platinum PC3-12800 modules were slightly more stubborn - maxing out at DDR3-1702 with 7-7-7-20 timings and 1.95v.

Not convinced that this was the maximum obtainable overclock for these modules, I contacted OCZ for assistance who provided me with the following tips for getting the most out of the Platinum kit:

- In the BIOS set the Transaction Booster to relaxed level 3.
- Use 450FSB to enable the DDR3-1800 memory speed divider.
- Try the memory modules in slots A2 and B2.

Instantly I saw massive improvements with the Platinum kit managing a whopping DDR3-1804 (902mhz) at 7-7-7-20 timings, while still staying within OCZ's EVP warranty of 1.95v. This 12% increase in speed is already significantly better than some other DDR3 kits we've tested previously, and we should see some even better figures with the timings loosened.


Highest Frequency @ Relaxed Timings
DDR3-1946 / 8-8-8-25 / 1.95v

OCZ Platinum PC3-12800 CPU-Z OCZ Platinum PC3-12800 CPU-Z

Loosening the timings to 8-8-8-25 allowed the modules to be pushed even further with system stability only becoming a limiting factor at DDR3-1960 (just 20mhz short of 1ghz!!). I have no doubts in my mind that by increasing the voltage to 2.0v, we could have easily seen the Platinum PC3-12800 kit hit DDR3-2000 (1000mhz) and possibly even beyond! This is without doubt some seriously overclockable ram.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next»

Most Recent Comments

09-10-2007, 10:06:32

JN
"DDR3 speeds have been ramping up in leaps and bounds over the past few months, and today we get to take a look at OCZ's insanely fast Platinum DDR3-1600 kit."

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...105337782s.jpg

OCZ Platinum PC3-12800 Review

09-10-2007, 10:12:22

Toxcity
Very nice review Jim!

Now, lets sort out all those spelling mistakes.. hahahah got ya, only joking!!

None the less DDR3 is finally looking up.. but then you look at the price!

09-10-2007, 10:19:36

PV5150
How good is that RAM? Absolutely insane!!! Once more peeps start adopting it and the price comes down a bit more I'm on it. Great review as usual Jim

09-10-2007, 10:23:11

JN
Cheers guys. It is indeed some extremely fast ram. Now I'm tempted to crank it up to 2.1v under some water

09-10-2007, 11:08:21

ionicle
i remember about 3 years ago, i mentioned watercooling ram on the forum, and everybody laughed at me, well, look at this now

10-10-2007, 08:30:40

Mr. Smith
Damn thats some smokin hot ram.

I won't get ddr3 until the price of 2gb is half that price!

10-10-2007, 11:29:35

Pyr0
*drool* much nicer stuff than these elpida, kingston sticks which top out at 1500MHz
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.