OCZ PC2-6400 Titanium 2Gb DC Kit

Conclusion

Conclusion

The OCZ PC2-6400 Titanium EPP DC 2Gb kit is a worthy addition for either the gamer or overclocker on a budget. Straight out of the box and ramping up the FSB on an Intel based motherboard produced better than average results, especially considering that this RAM is actually rated at 800Mhz. Sure the Titanium's chips aren't highly sought after Micron D9, but the ProMOS variant certainly give a very respectable account for themselves.

Unfortunately, due to not owning an nForce 590 based motherboard, I was unable to compare results. But I'd wager that the Titanium would perform just as admirably...especially with the additional benefit of being able to run CAS 4-4-4-15 1T latency with Enhanced Performance Profiles (EPP). The 1T command rate should give the EPP modules a boost over standard memory's 2T command rate.

Further, kudos to OCZ for providing the ability to run this ram up to 2.3v without voiding the warranty.

Summing up the overall performance of the OCZ PC2-6400 Titanium EPP XTC 2Gb kit is an absolute no-brainer. The modules are extremely sexy, they perform well out of the box and stay remarkably cool (thanks to their XTC heatspreaders); and they are extremely well priced.

Priced at around £128.66 at time of review from Komplett these modules are definitely recommended for someone who's looking for performance on a budget.

Komplett

Pro's
+
Can run tight timings of 4-4-4-15 1T (nForce 590i motherboard reliant)
+ Very respectable overclock from DDR2-800 to DDR2-1100
+ Priced to sell
+ Lifetime warranty and EVP up to 2.3v.

Con's
-
Initially a little fickle with my P5B Deluxe

Recommended Award Value For $$ Award

Special thanks to OCZ for supplying the review sample

Discuss this review in our forum
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next»

Most Recent Comments

12-03-2007, 06:59:20

PV5150
Gold make you weak at the knee's? Or is Titanium more your thing? We give OCZ's PC2-6400 EPP-Ready Titanium DDR2 modules a run around the block in the OC3D Labs.

Linkage

12-03-2007, 07:36:18

FragTek
Nice review, and some nice sticks too! Thanks for the review.

12-03-2007, 07:42:29

FarFarAway
Nice review Peevs

12-03-2007, 07:44:23

Mr. Smith
PV, a quality review of some awesome sticks!

I totally regret splurging exessive ammounts of cash on dominators when for about half the price I could get the same performance with these, well done OCZ

12-03-2007, 07:52:54

PV5150
Thanks guys for the feedback. They really are great little performers

12-03-2007, 08:19:25

JN
Yep, great review PV and great budget sticks OCZ. Pats on the back all round

12-03-2007, 11:12:13

|3ourne
great review PV !!!! Those sticks definitely are nice. BTW 2.3V is the max Promos responds to neways , so you arent missing nething by not giving them more. 550 mhz is a great overclock for sure , especially for a mediocre price range memory.

12-03-2007, 12:37:30

FragTek
I love it, our resident memory guru is back in town, w00t w00t!

12-03-2007, 17:38:37

PV5150

great review PV !!!! Those sticks definitely are nice. BTW 2.3V is the max Promos responds to neways , so you arent missing nething by not giving them more. 550 mhz is a great overclock for sure , especially for a mediocre price range memory.





Thanks |3ourne, and it's great to see you back.

12-03-2007, 18:02:48

limqareb
first nice review but made me think , i have 2 g.skill memory and run at stock 4-4-4-10 how come the rest arent at 10 ? , even after ocing i managed to tighten them to 10 and difference does it make higher freq or tighter timings

12-03-2007, 18:27:09

MikeEnIke
Great review peevles. Awesome cause i was looking for a cheap 2gig kit also.

12-03-2007, 20:37:28

PV5150
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='limqareb'
first nice review but made me think , i have 2 g.skill memory and run at stock 4-4-4-10 how come the rest arent at 10 ? , even after ocing i managed to tighten them to 10 and difference does it make higher freq or tighter timings
Sorry Lim, but I'm not sure if I quite get what you mean. Your GSKILL ram defaults at CAS4 (or latency), the OCZ sticks will do the same running on an EPP enhanced mobo which is like an auto overclock per se', but they are specified to be run at CAS5 (5-4-4-15) on a non-EPP enhanced motherboard like my P5B. As far as the lowest latency and timings were concerned, that was the furtheset I could push them and still retain Prime and F@H stability. Any further increase in voltage or tightening of the timings resulted in blue screen or Prime/F@H failure. Does that clarify? If not lemme know, and perhaps rephrase your question a little.

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='MikeEnIke'
Great review peevles. Awesome cause i was looking for a cheap 2gig kit also.
Thanks Mike, glad you found it useful for a potential future purchase

12-03-2007, 20:45:04

MikeEnIke
Heh, Then i looked them up on newegg and they were like $250 or something for the 2GB kit. I'de rather grab a $200 kit and take my chances :P

13-03-2007, 14:57:49

Luffy
Great review, these look interesting for the money indeed.

Is it ok to ask in this thread if I would be better off with the tested RAM or would it be worth spending the extra on the Ocz GX XTC 2gb PC2-8800 DDR2 1100?

13-03-2007, 15:03:38

limqareb
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='PV5150'
Sorry Lim, but I'm not sure if I quite get what you mean. Your GSKILL ram defaults at CAS4 (or latency), the OCZ sticks will do the same running on an EPP enhanced mobo which is like an auto overclock per se', but they are specified to be run at CAS5 (5-4-4-15) on a non-EPP enhanced motherboard like my P5B. As far as the lowest latency and timings were concerned, that was the furtheset I could push them and still retain Prime and F@H stability. Any further increase in voltage or tightening of the timings resulted in blue screen or Prime/F@H failure. Does that clarify? If not lemme know, and perhaps rephrase your question a little.

Thanks Mike, glad you found it useful for a potential future purchase
what i mean is that you said that gamers prefer lower latancies than higher frequencies , why is that , and bout the g skill thing they are advertised at 4-4-4-10 but the ocz are advertised differently (4-4-4-15) , but underneath it all you can set them to the same ?

21-03-2007, 12:37:18

Phunky
I've just got hold of a pair of these, looking forward to tweaking them to death and pushing my e4300 past 3ghz!

Nice read and great info for me thanks!

21-03-2007, 23:43:35

PV5150
Nice one mate, I'm glad you found the review helpful. Enjoy your new sticks and feel free to report back how well they performed for you...we'd love to have you stick around

22-03-2007, 03:37:26

Toxcity
As usual an awesome review!

Found it very intresting and they beautiful!
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.