OCZ PC2-6400 Titanium 2Gb DC Kit

Benchmarks

Benchmarks

From the graphs below we can see that the Intel Core2Duo processor and P5B Deluxe chipset combination does not suffer from any kind of memory speed bottleneck and the larger speed increases can only be obtained by increasing the CPU speed.

Everest Read Score Everest Write Score
Everest Latency Score Super-Pi Score

SiSoft Sandra further reinforced Everest's results, by illustrating the potential bandwidth and low latency at DDR2-550 speed.

Everest Bandwidth Score Everest Latency Score

Both the CS:S Stress Test and 3DMark06 certainly illustrated the benefits that the increased bandwidth provided by the OCZ PC2-6400 Titanium modules. You can see from the graph's below that although the tighter timings performed well under the CS:S stress test; they suffered under 3DMark 06.

CSS Stress Test 3DMark 06

Let's head over to the conclusion page to see just how well the OCZ PC2-6400 Titanium 2Gb Kit performed in our review.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next»

Most Recent Comments

12-03-2007, 06:59:20

PV5150
Gold make you weak at the knee's? Or is Titanium more your thing? We give OCZ's PC2-6400 EPP-Ready Titanium DDR2 modules a run around the block in the OC3D Labs.

Linkage

12-03-2007, 07:36:18

FragTek
Nice review, and some nice sticks too! Thanks for the review.

12-03-2007, 07:42:29

FarFarAway
Nice review Peevs

12-03-2007, 07:44:23

Mr. Smith
PV, a quality review of some awesome sticks!

I totally regret splurging exessive ammounts of cash on dominators when for about half the price I could get the same performance with these, well done OCZ

12-03-2007, 07:52:54

PV5150
Thanks guys for the feedback. They really are great little performers

12-03-2007, 08:19:25

JN
Yep, great review PV and great budget sticks OCZ. Pats on the back all round

12-03-2007, 11:12:13

|3ourne
great review PV !!!! Those sticks definitely are nice. BTW 2.3V is the max Promos responds to neways , so you arent missing nething by not giving them more. 550 mhz is a great overclock for sure , especially for a mediocre price range memory.

12-03-2007, 12:37:30

FragTek
I love it, our resident memory guru is back in town, w00t w00t!

12-03-2007, 17:38:37

PV5150

great review PV !!!! Those sticks definitely are nice. BTW 2.3V is the max Promos responds to neways , so you arent missing nething by not giving them more. 550 mhz is a great overclock for sure , especially for a mediocre price range memory.





Thanks |3ourne, and it's great to see you back.

12-03-2007, 18:02:48

limqareb
first nice review but made me think , i have 2 g.skill memory and run at stock 4-4-4-10 how come the rest arent at 10 ? , even after ocing i managed to tighten them to 10 and difference does it make higher freq or tighter timings

12-03-2007, 18:27:09

MikeEnIke
Great review peevles. Awesome cause i was looking for a cheap 2gig kit also.

12-03-2007, 20:37:28

PV5150
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='limqareb'
first nice review but made me think , i have 2 g.skill memory and run at stock 4-4-4-10 how come the rest arent at 10 ? , even after ocing i managed to tighten them to 10 and difference does it make higher freq or tighter timings
Sorry Lim, but I'm not sure if I quite get what you mean. Your GSKILL ram defaults at CAS4 (or latency), the OCZ sticks will do the same running on an EPP enhanced mobo which is like an auto overclock per se', but they are specified to be run at CAS5 (5-4-4-15) on a non-EPP enhanced motherboard like my P5B. As far as the lowest latency and timings were concerned, that was the furtheset I could push them and still retain Prime and F@H stability. Any further increase in voltage or tightening of the timings resulted in blue screen or Prime/F@H failure. Does that clarify? If not lemme know, and perhaps rephrase your question a little.

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='MikeEnIke'
Great review peevles. Awesome cause i was looking for a cheap 2gig kit also.
Thanks Mike, glad you found it useful for a potential future purchase

12-03-2007, 20:45:04

MikeEnIke
Heh, Then i looked them up on newegg and they were like $250 or something for the 2GB kit. I'de rather grab a $200 kit and take my chances :P

13-03-2007, 14:57:49

Luffy
Great review, these look interesting for the money indeed.

Is it ok to ask in this thread if I would be better off with the tested RAM or would it be worth spending the extra on the Ocz GX XTC 2gb PC2-8800 DDR2 1100?

13-03-2007, 15:03:38

limqareb
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='PV5150'
Sorry Lim, but I'm not sure if I quite get what you mean. Your GSKILL ram defaults at CAS4 (or latency), the OCZ sticks will do the same running on an EPP enhanced mobo which is like an auto overclock per se', but they are specified to be run at CAS5 (5-4-4-15) on a non-EPP enhanced motherboard like my P5B. As far as the lowest latency and timings were concerned, that was the furtheset I could push them and still retain Prime and F@H stability. Any further increase in voltage or tightening of the timings resulted in blue screen or Prime/F@H failure. Does that clarify? If not lemme know, and perhaps rephrase your question a little.

Thanks Mike, glad you found it useful for a potential future purchase
what i mean is that you said that gamers prefer lower latancies than higher frequencies , why is that , and bout the g skill thing they are advertised at 4-4-4-10 but the ocz are advertised differently (4-4-4-15) , but underneath it all you can set them to the same ?

21-03-2007, 12:37:18

Phunky
I've just got hold of a pair of these, looking forward to tweaking them to death and pushing my e4300 past 3ghz!

Nice read and great info for me thanks!

21-03-2007, 23:43:35

PV5150
Nice one mate, I'm glad you found the review helpful. Enjoy your new sticks and feel free to report back how well they performed for you...we'd love to have you stick around

22-03-2007, 03:37:26

Toxcity
As usual an awesome review!

Found it very intresting and they beautiful!
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.