OCZ PC2-6400 Titanium 2Gb DC Kit

Test Setup

Test Setup

Processor:
Intel Core2Duo E6600 "Conroe"
Motherboard:
Asus P5B Deluxe wifi/ app (Configure DRAM timing by SPD turned off)
Graphics Card:
ASUS EN8800 GTS 640Mb
Hard Disks:
2x Western Digital 80gb SATA-II 8mb Cache (RAID0)
Power Supply:
Silverstone ST60F 600W PSU
Operating System:
Windows XP SP2

The first test involved ensuring that the memory could run stable at stock speeds. This may seem a bit of a strange test, but unfortunately some modules we've tested here at OC3D in the past have fallen over at this first hurdle. I'm pleased to say that the OCZ Titanium passed the stock testing with flying colours, managing to run at 5-4-4-15 / DDR2-800 with 2.1v on our Asus P5B Deluxe test bed.

I would have liked to have run these modules at (1T) but unfortunately the P5B Deluxe's bios doesn't allow setting the Command Rate to either 1 or 2T. Potential customers looking at purchasing this RAM could do well to invest in a motherboard like the ASUS P5N-E as a minimum. I have included 4-4-4-15 (2T) benchmarks in this review, but bear in mind that at 4-4-4-15 (1T), the performance would typically be better by around 3-5% in most cases.

Although I must say, when I first inserted the modules into slot 1 and 2 (yellow on a P5B) my computer wouldn't boot. I then tried them in slots 3 and 4 they fired up straight away. After approximately 30 mins of testing I returned the modules to slot 1 and 2 and they worked flawlessly.

4-4-4-15 (2T) Timings @ Stock Speed (400Mhz / 2.1v)

4-4-4-15 (2T) stock speed memory 4-4-4-15 (2T)


5-4-4-15 (2T) Timings @ Stock Speed (400Mhz / 2.1v)

CPU 5-4-4-15 (2T) Memory 5-4-4-15 (2T)


5-5-5-15 Timings @ Highest Frequency (555Mhz / 2.3v)

CPU highest frequency Memory highest frequency

Without sacrificing the memory latency I set out to find out the maximum frequency that these modules were capable of. I was able to push the modules up to 550Mhz (DDR2-1100) at 2.3v. A great result for memory rated at 800Mhz out of the box. At 3330.2Mhz the modules hit a wall due to reaching their maximum warranted voltage. I felt the modules still had some life in them, but any further than 2.3v would have voided the warranty.


Lowest Latency @ Stock Frequency: 4-3-3-12 / 400mhz / 2.25v

Lowest latency cpu Memory lowest latency

It is well known that gamers prefer to run their memory at low latencies (rather than high frequencies) as this is an easily tweakable setting and provides decent benefits in most games. After a little tweaking the modules managed impressive timings of 4-3-3-12 - not a bad result for modules designed to run at a little more relaxed timings of 5-4-4-15 on a non-EPP based motherboard.

For the benchmark phase of our review, the OCZ PC2-6400 Titanium DC 2Gb kit was subjected to popular benchmarks at OC3D in order to illustrate outright performance. All benchmarks were run three times and an average taken to guarantee uniformity of the results. Now let's head over to the next page to see how the modules performed in the benchmarks.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next»

Most Recent Comments

12-03-2007, 06:59:20

PV5150
Gold make you weak at the knee's? Or is Titanium more your thing? We give OCZ's PC2-6400 EPP-Ready Titanium DDR2 modules a run around the block in the OC3D Labs.

Linkage

12-03-2007, 07:36:18

FragTek
Nice review, and some nice sticks too! Thanks for the review.

12-03-2007, 07:42:29

FarFarAway
Nice review Peevs

12-03-2007, 07:44:23

Mr. Smith
PV, a quality review of some awesome sticks!

I totally regret splurging exessive ammounts of cash on dominators when for about half the price I could get the same performance with these, well done OCZ

12-03-2007, 07:52:54

PV5150
Thanks guys for the feedback. They really are great little performers

12-03-2007, 08:19:25

JN
Yep, great review PV and great budget sticks OCZ. Pats on the back all round

12-03-2007, 11:12:13

|3ourne
great review PV !!!! Those sticks definitely are nice. BTW 2.3V is the max Promos responds to neways , so you arent missing nething by not giving them more. 550 mhz is a great overclock for sure , especially for a mediocre price range memory.

12-03-2007, 12:37:30

FragTek
I love it, our resident memory guru is back in town, w00t w00t!

12-03-2007, 17:38:37

PV5150

great review PV !!!! Those sticks definitely are nice. BTW 2.3V is the max Promos responds to neways , so you arent missing nething by not giving them more. 550 mhz is a great overclock for sure , especially for a mediocre price range memory.





Thanks |3ourne, and it's great to see you back.

12-03-2007, 18:02:48

limqareb
first nice review but made me think , i have 2 g.skill memory and run at stock 4-4-4-10 how come the rest arent at 10 ? , even after ocing i managed to tighten them to 10 and difference does it make higher freq or tighter timings

12-03-2007, 18:27:09

MikeEnIke
Great review peevles. Awesome cause i was looking for a cheap 2gig kit also.

12-03-2007, 20:37:28

PV5150
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='limqareb'
first nice review but made me think , i have 2 g.skill memory and run at stock 4-4-4-10 how come the rest arent at 10 ? , even after ocing i managed to tighten them to 10 and difference does it make higher freq or tighter timings
Sorry Lim, but I'm not sure if I quite get what you mean. Your GSKILL ram defaults at CAS4 (or latency), the OCZ sticks will do the same running on an EPP enhanced mobo which is like an auto overclock per se', but they are specified to be run at CAS5 (5-4-4-15) on a non-EPP enhanced motherboard like my P5B. As far as the lowest latency and timings were concerned, that was the furtheset I could push them and still retain Prime and F@H stability. Any further increase in voltage or tightening of the timings resulted in blue screen or Prime/F@H failure. Does that clarify? If not lemme know, and perhaps rephrase your question a little.

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='MikeEnIke'
Great review peevles. Awesome cause i was looking for a cheap 2gig kit also.
Thanks Mike, glad you found it useful for a potential future purchase

12-03-2007, 20:45:04

MikeEnIke
Heh, Then i looked them up on newegg and they were like $250 or something for the 2GB kit. I'de rather grab a $200 kit and take my chances :P

13-03-2007, 14:57:49

Luffy
Great review, these look interesting for the money indeed.

Is it ok to ask in this thread if I would be better off with the tested RAM or would it be worth spending the extra on the Ocz GX XTC 2gb PC2-8800 DDR2 1100?

13-03-2007, 15:03:38

limqareb
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='PV5150'
Sorry Lim, but I'm not sure if I quite get what you mean. Your GSKILL ram defaults at CAS4 (or latency), the OCZ sticks will do the same running on an EPP enhanced mobo which is like an auto overclock per se', but they are specified to be run at CAS5 (5-4-4-15) on a non-EPP enhanced motherboard like my P5B. As far as the lowest latency and timings were concerned, that was the furtheset I could push them and still retain Prime and F@H stability. Any further increase in voltage or tightening of the timings resulted in blue screen or Prime/F@H failure. Does that clarify? If not lemme know, and perhaps rephrase your question a little.

Thanks Mike, glad you found it useful for a potential future purchase
what i mean is that you said that gamers prefer lower latancies than higher frequencies , why is that , and bout the g skill thing they are advertised at 4-4-4-10 but the ocz are advertised differently (4-4-4-15) , but underneath it all you can set them to the same ?

21-03-2007, 12:37:18

Phunky
I've just got hold of a pair of these, looking forward to tweaking them to death and pushing my e4300 past 3ghz!

Nice read and great info for me thanks!

21-03-2007, 23:43:35

PV5150
Nice one mate, I'm glad you found the review helpful. Enjoy your new sticks and feel free to report back how well they performed for you...we'd love to have you stick around

22-03-2007, 03:37:26

Toxcity
As usual an awesome review!

Found it very intresting and they beautiful!
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.