OCZ PC2-6400 Titanium 2Gb DC Kit

Specifications & A Closer Look

Specifications

The following information has been taken directly from OCZ Technology's website:

*800MHz DDR2
*EPP 4-4-4-15 1T
(CAS-TRCD-TRP-TRAS)
*Non-EPP 5-4-4-15 2T
*Available in 1024MB Modules and 2GB (2x1024) Dual Channel Kits
*Unbuffered
*Titanium XTC* Heatspreader
*OCZ Lifetime Warranty
*2.1 Volts
*240 Pin DIMM

Special Features
*Enhanced Performance Profiles (EPP)
*2.3V EVP

Part Numbers
2GB (2x1024) D/C Kit PN - OCZ2T8002GK

OCZ Titanium up close and personal


A Closer Look

In this day and age it's great to see manufacturers like OCZ optimising their RAM for particular chipsets, and the PC2-6400 Titanium EPP-Ready Dual Channel sticks are no different. This 2Gb kit is in fact optimised for Nvidia's nForce 590 SLI chipset. The way that OCZ achieved this was through their new EPP-Ready (Enhanced Performance Profiles) memory modules. Essentially, the module actually has two programmed speeds; one when run on an optimised board (NVidia 590 SLI) and another for other boards based on competing chipsets.

OCZ PC2-6400 Titanium memory modules are programmed to boot at 800MHz DDR2 with supremely fast timings of 4-4-4 1T on on AM2 nForce 590 SLI platforms. Only motherboards equipped with the custom-designed BIOS, such as those designed for NVIDIA nForce 590 SLI MCPs, can detect the optimized SPD profiles and ensure the memory functions under the best possible conditions. Because the PC2-6400 Titanium modules are capable of accepting one command per clock cycle (1T), bus contention issues are solved and memory performance is increased by a considerable amount.

Another specific feature that OCZ has increasingly evolved into their memory modules is E.V.P (Extended Voltage Protection). Essentially, E.V.P is:

...a feature that allows performance enthusiasts to use a VDIMM of 2.3V ± 5% without invalidating their OCZ Lifetime Warranty.

It's a nice touch that you can pump some more volts into these modules without voiding your lifetime warranty.

OCZ Titanium side by side OCZ Titanium

The PC2-6400 Titanium EPP-Ready Dual Channel modules utilise OCZ's patented XTC heatspreader. The XTC heatspreaders ensure that the thermal management of memory modules is promoted through greater airflow and by means of micro-convection throughout what is usually the dead air space inside conventional heatspreader designs. In this manner, build-up of heat is avoided and thermal dissipation of the memory components is offloaded more efficiently through the honeycomb design. At the same time, mechanical stability is maintained.

OCZ Titanium top view Titanium and GSKILL comparison

I have taken the liberty of throwing in a GSKILL module in order to illustrate the comparative difference between the heatspreaders. Hmmm, I wonder which will manage heat more efficiently?

After gently coercing the heatspreader off we can see the DDR2 RAM chips quite clearly. The XTC heatspreaders were stuck to the RAM chips using double sided thermal tape - extremely effective and very hard to remove.

OCZ Titanium RAM chips

The identification of these RAM chip numbers was extremely difficult. But, taking an educated guess, I would suggest that these are in fact re-badged ProMOS chips on an Brain Power PCB. For those of you interested, the identification numbers were:

OCZ
X42M120840L - 25
0704R
H0218102QEBRC

Titanium installed SPD turned off

Installed, they look quite at home in my PC.

Due to the SPD identifying modules incorrectly from time to time, I have taken the liberty of disabling it. And yes it identified my Titanium modules as 5-6-6-15.

Now that we've gotten closer acquainted with our review subject, let's see how well they perform.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next»

Most Recent Comments

12-03-2007, 06:59:20

PV5150
Gold make you weak at the knee's? Or is Titanium more your thing? We give OCZ's PC2-6400 EPP-Ready Titanium DDR2 modules a run around the block in the OC3D Labs.

Linkage

12-03-2007, 07:36:18

FragTek
Nice review, and some nice sticks too! Thanks for the review.

12-03-2007, 07:42:29

FarFarAway
Nice review Peevs

12-03-2007, 07:44:23

Mr. Smith
PV, a quality review of some awesome sticks!

I totally regret splurging exessive ammounts of cash on dominators when for about half the price I could get the same performance with these, well done OCZ

12-03-2007, 07:52:54

PV5150
Thanks guys for the feedback. They really are great little performers

12-03-2007, 08:19:25

JN
Yep, great review PV and great budget sticks OCZ. Pats on the back all round

12-03-2007, 11:12:13

|3ourne
great review PV !!!! Those sticks definitely are nice. BTW 2.3V is the max Promos responds to neways , so you arent missing nething by not giving them more. 550 mhz is a great overclock for sure , especially for a mediocre price range memory.

12-03-2007, 12:37:30

FragTek
I love it, our resident memory guru is back in town, w00t w00t!

12-03-2007, 17:38:37

PV5150

great review PV !!!! Those sticks definitely are nice. BTW 2.3V is the max Promos responds to neways , so you arent missing nething by not giving them more. 550 mhz is a great overclock for sure , especially for a mediocre price range memory.





Thanks |3ourne, and it's great to see you back.

12-03-2007, 18:02:48

limqareb
first nice review but made me think , i have 2 g.skill memory and run at stock 4-4-4-10 how come the rest arent at 10 ? , even after ocing i managed to tighten them to 10 and difference does it make higher freq or tighter timings

12-03-2007, 18:27:09

MikeEnIke
Great review peevles. Awesome cause i was looking for a cheap 2gig kit also.

12-03-2007, 20:37:28

PV5150
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='limqareb'
first nice review but made me think , i have 2 g.skill memory and run at stock 4-4-4-10 how come the rest arent at 10 ? , even after ocing i managed to tighten them to 10 and difference does it make higher freq or tighter timings
Sorry Lim, but I'm not sure if I quite get what you mean. Your GSKILL ram defaults at CAS4 (or latency), the OCZ sticks will do the same running on an EPP enhanced mobo which is like an auto overclock per se', but they are specified to be run at CAS5 (5-4-4-15) on a non-EPP enhanced motherboard like my P5B. As far as the lowest latency and timings were concerned, that was the furtheset I could push them and still retain Prime and F@H stability. Any further increase in voltage or tightening of the timings resulted in blue screen or Prime/F@H failure. Does that clarify? If not lemme know, and perhaps rephrase your question a little.

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='MikeEnIke'
Great review peevles. Awesome cause i was looking for a cheap 2gig kit also.
Thanks Mike, glad you found it useful for a potential future purchase

12-03-2007, 20:45:04

MikeEnIke
Heh, Then i looked them up on newegg and they were like $250 or something for the 2GB kit. I'de rather grab a $200 kit and take my chances :P

13-03-2007, 14:57:49

Luffy
Great review, these look interesting for the money indeed.

Is it ok to ask in this thread if I would be better off with the tested RAM or would it be worth spending the extra on the Ocz GX XTC 2gb PC2-8800 DDR2 1100?

13-03-2007, 15:03:38

limqareb
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='PV5150'
Sorry Lim, but I'm not sure if I quite get what you mean. Your GSKILL ram defaults at CAS4 (or latency), the OCZ sticks will do the same running on an EPP enhanced mobo which is like an auto overclock per se', but they are specified to be run at CAS5 (5-4-4-15) on a non-EPP enhanced motherboard like my P5B. As far as the lowest latency and timings were concerned, that was the furtheset I could push them and still retain Prime and F@H stability. Any further increase in voltage or tightening of the timings resulted in blue screen or Prime/F@H failure. Does that clarify? If not lemme know, and perhaps rephrase your question a little.

Thanks Mike, glad you found it useful for a potential future purchase
what i mean is that you said that gamers prefer lower latancies than higher frequencies , why is that , and bout the g skill thing they are advertised at 4-4-4-10 but the ocz are advertised differently (4-4-4-15) , but underneath it all you can set them to the same ?

21-03-2007, 12:37:18

Phunky
I've just got hold of a pair of these, looking forward to tweaking them to death and pushing my e4300 past 3ghz!

Nice read and great info for me thanks!

21-03-2007, 23:43:35

PV5150
Nice one mate, I'm glad you found the review helpful. Enjoy your new sticks and feel free to report back how well they performed for you...we'd love to have you stick around

22-03-2007, 03:37:26

Toxcity
As usual an awesome review!

Found it very intresting and they beautiful!
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.