OCZ PC2-6400 Special Ops DDR2 2gb Kit

Conclusion

Conclusion

Designed for gamers and aimed at the more budget end of the market, the OCZ Special Ops PC2-6400 modules offer a great price / performance ratio.

After seeing a few other reviews of these modules on the net, I must admit being slightly worried about their overclocking potential. However, after testing them first-hand I have to say that I was thoroughly impressed with the speeds and latencies that these modules were capable of.

The camouflage heatspreaders may not suit everyone, but after testing them in my machine, I can honestly say that that their army-style appearance was completely shielded by surrounding components.

Priced at around £205 over at SpecialTech, these modules are amongst cheapest 2gb kits available on the market and do not skimp on the quality and overclockability synonmous with the OCZ brand.


Pro's
+ Can run tight timings of 4-4-4-10 at DDR2-800.
+ Respectable 16% overclock from DDR2-800 to DDR2-930.
+ Modules backed by OCZ lifetime warranty up to 2.2v
+ Great pricing for a 2gb kit.

Con's
- Looks may not appeal to everyone.

Recommended Value For Money

Thanks to OCZ for providing these modules for review.

Discuss this review in our forums. Information on the OC3D award system can be found here.

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next»

Most Recent Comments

09-10-2006, 10:34:27

JN
"Fed up of boring looking memory sticks? Don't want your PC to be seen while you are in the Jungle? Maybe you're just a gamer in need of some high performance DDR2? Enter the OCZ Special Ops PC2-6400 2gb kit..."

Linkage

09-10-2006, 10:37:00

FarFarAway
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='XMS'
Don't want your PC to be seen while you are in the Jungle?
*still recovering from laughing*

mwahahahaha :rollingla

*gasp*Ye they OC ok*gasp*

09-10-2006, 10:38:49

WC Annihilus
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kempez
*still recovering from laughing*

mwahahahaha :rollingla

*gasp*Ye they OC ok*gasp*
O god, I just noticed that :rollingla Look nice

Edit: O quick note, the 1st 2 pics on the 1st page are links instead of pics

09-10-2006, 10:48:54

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by WC Annihilus
O god, I just noticed that :rollingla Look nice

Edit: O quick note, the 1st 2 pics on the 1st page are links instead of pics
Eh? The pics display fine for me. Can u not see them?

09-10-2006, 17:04:44

ionicle
:rollingla :rollingla :rollingla Back garden picture! :rollingla :rollingla :rollingla

10-10-2006, 00:22:44

WC Annihilus
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='XMS'
Eh? The pics display fine for me. Can u not see them?
Well, it was at school, so I wouldn't be too surprised if it was just those comps being dumb (actually, I would bet on it really, heh). At home now, can see em fine

10-10-2006, 14:26:43

kimandsally
One thing that I often think about is the special heatspreaders are then coverd on each stick with the warranty and data sticker, I wonder how much difference it would make if they were taken off?

10-10-2006, 16:40:44

FarFarAway
Not that much tbh I don't think

11-10-2006, 05:41:08

PV5150
Great review again Jim, and the price is certainly very appealing
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.