OCZ Gold XTC PC2-8800 DDR2 2gb Kit

Appearance

Appearance

I have to admit that when OCZ first announced a change to their heatspreader design I wasn't a great fan of the meshed looks. However, seeing modules that sport OCZ's new XTC design in the flesh, I think my opinion is about to change...


OCZ Gold PC2-8800 XTC Front OCZ Gold PC2-8800 XTC Back

OCZ Gold PC2-8800 XTC OCZ Gold XTC PC2-8800 XTC Z

For those of us with a keen eye, you will have noticed that the mesh is actually platinum in colour with only the surround and the "Z" logo being finished in gold. The XTC design puts these modules in a league of their own - no other memory I have ever seen or reviewed comes close to OCZ's extreme styling.

As for cooling abilities, the meshed design of the XTC heatspreaders provide the memory IC's with increased ventilation thus cooling the memory modules more efficiently than traditional heatspreader designs.

OCZ Gold PC2-8800 XTC Top OCZ Gold PC2-8800 XTC Side

The OCZ Gold PC2-8800 modules are double sided and make use of D9GMH IC's. Searching around the Internet didn't turn up many results for these chips, so I guess we'll just have to see how they perform 1st hand!

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next»

Most Recent Comments

25-09-2006, 12:32:02

JN
"Just when you thought that PC2-8500 was impressive, OCZ go and take things one step further by releasing a 2gb kit rated at 1.1ghz (PC2-8800). Lets see what these babies are capable of..."

Linkage

25-09-2006, 12:35:44

Ham
*starts to wonder if XMS does actualy have a job...*

Good to see you hard at it though:P.

25-09-2006, 12:37:54

ai_01
nice and blingin

25-09-2006, 12:40:16

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ham
*starts to wonder if XMS does actualy have a job...*

Good to see you hard at it though:P.
Yeah i try to keep pointless sleeping to a minimum :sleep:

25-09-2006, 17:56:53

glocktodahead
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='XMS'
Yeah i try to keep pointless sleeping to a minimum :sleep:
lol! I came home today to see 4 new reviews! Good work guys

25-09-2006, 23:46:16

PV5150
Awesome review Jim. Those OCZ sticks are certainly very classy, and DDR2-1160 on stock timings

28-09-2006, 18:30:51

kimandsally
Yet another superb review, your photo's are amazing as well as the detail you've gone into again. You certianly do it with love.

29-09-2006, 03:20:49

JN
THanks very much kimandsally

29-09-2006, 20:30:15

dave87
Very nice, just a quick question tho, isn't 2.4v a bit much for ddr2?

Dave

29-09-2006, 23:26:02

speedy
no, 2.5 is what they are warrantied for. well those chips anyways. I haven't read the review yet....but, I believe they are using the micron chips. Those will do 2.4 all day. any higher and you'll cut down on the life expectancy of them big time. Not to mention the need for active cooling.

My Ballistix tracers were running 1014 @ 2.4 for a while and man those suckers got hot during prime.

edit:

And yes, the D9GMH as mentioned in the review are Micron chips...I'd be willing to bet that 98% of manufacturers that use those for their memory can be overclocked to pc-8000 speeds @ 5-5-5-12 @ 2.2v

30-09-2006, 05:03:07

JN
As spedy said 2.4v is fine for these. OCZ actually warrent them up to this voltage. So if they did fry at 2.4v you could just RMA them

30-09-2006, 10:38:10

speedy
sure could, since i'm certain there would be some type of don't ask don't tell policy on that...

and just in case anyone is scratching my head about my last post, i mean some manufacturers that use those chips give the memory the spd rating of 5300, 5400, 6700, whatever, but they can easily reach the 8000 mark with the added voltage.

09-01-2008, 18:00:15

Diablo13
Hi people, I know this is an old thread but I'm new here and read the review of these sticks yesterday. I was impressed and as I am on a budget I think these would fill my needs nicely to upgrade from OCZ gold 6400 sticks I have now. The problem is I looked for them and find they are now discontinued? Well as memory is at a good price at the moment and I need 4gig in latency matched pairs, I just wondered if anyone knew where I could still get some? They were only around a year and someone must still have some in stock?

Any help in tracking these down would be much appreciated.

09-01-2008, 18:04:27

FarFarAway

09-01-2008, 18:27:42

Rastalovich
2x2gb for 77 ! that`s crazy cheap.

2x2 does seem to be where it`s at atm. I regret getting the memory I got tbh.

10-01-2008, 00:00:45

Diablo13
Thank you both for your advice and those are good prices. Thing is if I am going to upgrade I need faster than the 800 memory speed I already have. I am overclocking a Core 2 duo E6850 on an Asus Maximus Formula SE board and the OCZ I have is great to a point, but I want to go a bit higher.

The point about 2x2gb sticks is a good one, but at the moment no one caters for the extra space needed for the fat heatsinks. I think 77 quid is a great price but I would be swapping like for like with no real gain. It seems that after DDR2 6400 the prices start to hike again rapidly.

10-01-2008, 06:09:03

FarFarAway
Ah well, the 2gb ReaperX sticks do 1000MHz no problems (DDR500) *shrugs*. RAM speed isn't as important as CPU speed

10-01-2008, 21:19:33

Diablo13
Well I found some Crucial Ballistix 8500's that according to the review on here overclock really well, up to 1220mhz. They were on offer at Overclockers for 170 quid all in for the 4 gig. Thats a great price and great reviews on here that led me to them. I wanted Ocz because my present gold ones have been good, but putting both reviews side by side the Crucials win hands down.

Incidentally I found the Ocz 8800 gold sticks I was originally looking for on AVIA, but considering it's discontinued memory, it was a couple of quid more than the Crucials.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.