OCZ FlexXLC Edition PC2-9200 (1150mhz) 2GB DDR2 Kit

Conclusion

Conclusion

First and foremost the OCZ FlexXLC PC2-9200 kit overclocks like stink! That's stink in a good way too, with the modules hitting a rather dizzy 660mhz (DDR2-1320) - the highest speed out of any DDR2 kit we've ever tested. Unfortunately we were unable to test the modules under water cooling to see if this further improved performance, but let's face it - if you're not happy with DDR2-1320 then there's something seriously wrong with you!

This awesome performance is also teamed with amazing looks. Gone are the cheap and tacky aluminium heatspreaders in favor of extremely effective hybrid passive and/or water cooled heatspreaders. Constructed from a mixture of copper and aluminium and finished off with a chrome plated reflective surface, OCZ have certainly spared no expense.

To top things off, the FlexXLC modules have recently taken quite a price hit, and can be found on many sites for an almost "five fingered discount" price of £160. This is only a few quid more than many of the other PC2-9000+ kits available from other manufacturers - and as the results and pictures have shown, the FlexXLC modules are worth every penny.

Komplett


Pro's
• Overclocks to DDR2-1320! The highest of any kit tested at OC3D.
• Memory timings can be tightened down to 3-3-3-6 at DDR2-800
• Hybrid heatspreaders can be used with or without water cooling.
• Unique and sexy looks.

Con's
• Packaging doesn't adequately protect the modules (or make them feel special).


Best In Class Award


Thanks to OCZ for making this review possible. Discuss this review in our forums.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next»

Most Recent Comments

04-07-2007, 09:22:27

JN
"Looking for some water cooled ram but don't like the look of those tacky after-market heatspreaders? OCZ may well be the answer to your prayers with their lineup of hybrid water/air cooled FlexXLC modules."

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...202050572s.jpg

Linkage

04-07-2007, 09:30:51

Ham
Nice job jimbo. Good set too.

04-07-2007, 09:53:40

FarFarAway
Sexy RAM

04-07-2007, 10:43:04

Rastalovich
Nice, surprized about the price, thought it`d be a bit more. $236 @ NewEgg.

I won`t admit to seeing a pic of these b4 and thinking the water things were somekind of screw-down efforts >.<

oops

04-07-2007, 16:53:21

Mr. Smith
Water cooled RAM and you never tested it under water :eh:



Now I'm left wondering what they could have done. Nice sticks though.

04-07-2007, 19:54:08

Allsorts
That's a nice o/c you managed there. I don't think I've seen a good comparison between passive/air/water cooling the RAM so it would have been interesting to see if there was much of an o/c difference.

05-07-2007, 01:20:24

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Allsorts'
That's a nice o/c you managed there. I don't think I've seen a good comparison between passive/air/water cooling the RAM so it would have been interesting to see if there was much of an o/c difference.
From what I've read at other sites there's little to no difference in OC potential. The heatspreaders already do an amazing job of keeping the modules cool - and I actually found out today that OCZ used thermal adhesive to bond the spreaders to the modules

11-07-2007, 10:44:43

Arramond
ooo i've got 4gb of these in my new rig I didn't realise they were this good I think I will do a bit of playing as I have them water cooled too.

11-07-2007, 10:49:53

Rastalovich
What if u had a tubing, with a tap, just looping the memory, filled with something like mineral oil ?
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.