OCZ FlexXLC Edition PC2-9200 (1150mhz) 2GB DDR2 Kit

Test Setup & Overclocking

Test Setup

To ensure that all reviews on Overclock3D are fair, consistent and unbiased, a standard set of hardware and software is used whenever possible during the comparative testing of two or more products. The configuration and software used in this review can be seen below:

 OCZ FlexXLC PC2-9200
Kingston HyperX PC2-9600*
Processor
Intel Core2Duo E4300
Motherboard
Asus P5K Deluxe
Graphics Card
XpertVision ATI X1950Pro PCI-E 512mb (Stock)
Hard Disk
Hitachi Deskstar 80GB 7K80 SATA2 7200RPM 8mb
CPU Cooling
Stock Intel Aluminium Cooler
Operating System
Microsoft Windows XP (SP2) 32bit - Latest Patches
 
Memory Frequency*
575mhz (DDR2-1150)
Memory Latency*
5-5-5-18

* The timings and frequency (mhz) of the Kingston HyperX PC2-9600 kit have been adjusted to match that of the OCZ FlexXLC PC2-9200 kit in order to produce more comparable results.

• Sisoft Sandra XI SP2 (CPU, Memory & HDD tests)
• Everest Memory Benchmarks
• SuperPI Mod v1.4 (1m and 16m)
• Quake 4
• Counter-Strike:Source
• F.E.A.R
• 3DMark05
• 3DMark06


Overclocking

With both kits set to 5-5-5-18 timings and a voltage of 2.35v, I set out to find the maximum stable overclock. After a little tweaking and several hours of ORTHOS and 32m SuperPI stability testing, the following results were acheived from the OCZ and Kingston DDR2 kits:

OCZ FlexXLC Maximum Overclock

Despite the OCZ FlexXLC being the lower rated of the 2 memory kits tested (PC2-9200 vs PC2-9600), it managed by far the most impressive overclock. With a 15% increase over it's stock speed, the FlexXLC topped out at DDR2-1320 giving it the bragging rights of being the highest overclocking kit we've ever tested here at Overclock3D.

OCZ FlexXLC Lowest Timings

Reducing the speed of the OCZ FlexXLC down to DDR2-800 allowed the memory timings to be tightened all the way down to an extremely impressive 3-3-3-6. This puts the FlexXLC in direct competition with the Kingston HyperX PC2-9600 kit that previously held the record for obtaining the lowest latencies of any DDR2 kit on Overclock3D.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next»

Most Recent Comments

04-07-2007, 09:22:27

JN
"Looking for some water cooled ram but don't like the look of those tacky after-market heatspreaders? OCZ may well be the answer to your prayers with their lineup of hybrid water/air cooled FlexXLC modules."

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...202050572s.jpg

Linkage

04-07-2007, 09:30:51

Ham
Nice job jimbo. Good set too.

04-07-2007, 09:53:40

FarFarAway
Sexy RAM

04-07-2007, 10:43:04

Rastalovich
Nice, surprized about the price, thought it`d be a bit more. $236 @ NewEgg.

I won`t admit to seeing a pic of these b4 and thinking the water things were somekind of screw-down efforts >.<

oops

04-07-2007, 16:53:21

Mr. Smith
Water cooled RAM and you never tested it under water :eh:



Now I'm left wondering what they could have done. Nice sticks though.

04-07-2007, 19:54:08

Allsorts
That's a nice o/c you managed there. I don't think I've seen a good comparison between passive/air/water cooling the RAM so it would have been interesting to see if there was much of an o/c difference.

05-07-2007, 01:20:24

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Allsorts'
That's a nice o/c you managed there. I don't think I've seen a good comparison between passive/air/water cooling the RAM so it would have been interesting to see if there was much of an o/c difference.
From what I've read at other sites there's little to no difference in OC potential. The heatspreaders already do an amazing job of keeping the modules cool - and I actually found out today that OCZ used thermal adhesive to bond the spreaders to the modules

11-07-2007, 10:44:43

Arramond
ooo i've got 4gb of these in my new rig I didn't realise they were this good I think I will do a bit of playing as I have them water cooled too.

11-07-2007, 10:49:53

Rastalovich
What if u had a tubing, with a tap, just looping the memory, filled with something like mineral oil ?
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.