OCZ DDR2 PC2-6400 CL 3 FlexXLC Edition 2GB Kit

Test Setup

Test Setup

Processor:
Intel Core2Duo E6850 "Conroe"
Motherboard:
Asus P5B Deluxe wifi/ app (Configure DRAM timing by SPD turned off)
Graphics Card:
ASUS EN8800 GTS 640Mb
Hard Disks:
2x Seagate Barracuda 250GB SATA-II 7200.10 (RAID0)
Power Supply:
Silverstone ST60F 600W PSU
Operating System:
Windows XP SP2

In order to give some sort of comparitive analysis of how the OCZ DDR2 PC2-6400 CL 3 FlexXLC Edition modules perform, I will be using the results from my previous OCZ PC2-6400 Titanium 2Gb DC Kit review. However, as I now no longer own an E6600 processor I will be down-clocking my current E6850 processor to 2.4Ghz (266 x 9) for the duration of the review.

Prior to beginning this review I made an effort to see what kind of performance the OCZ DDR2 PC2-6400 CL 3 FlexXLC Edition modules were producing via the net. Now, I have seen reports of this RAM exceeding 550Mhz and even above that, but what we are aiming for here is stability. Sure I was able to push this RAM to over 550Mhz but things certainly weren't stable at that level. In fact, you may see numbers here that may be lower than other reviews, but you can be certain that these are rock solid stable....instead of the 'push the RAM as fast as it can go without regard for stability' mentality. It's simply not enough to get the machine to boot, fire up CPU-Z and grab a screenshot for street cred because the machine ends up being unusable - impressive, but ultimately quite futile.

For me personally, stable means four completed tests using the Stress Prime 2004 Orthos Edition (sp2004.fre3.com/beta/beta2.htm) 'blend' test, to strain both memory and CPU simultaneously. For the review overclocking process I tried to keep the RAM at a 1:1 ratio and the voltages at a stock level for as long as possible, but ulimately an 'anything goes' policy was adopted to see how far the RAM could be pushed without sacrificing stability.

The first test involved ensuring that the memory could run stable at stock speeds. This may seem a bit of a strange test, but unfortunately some modules we've tested here at OC3D in the past have fallen over at this first hurdle. The OCZ DDR2 PC2-6400 CL 3 FlexXLC Edition modules are designed to run at 3-4-4-15 timings on NVIDIA® nForce® SLI™ platforms using Enhanced Performance Profiles (EPP).

I'm pleased to say that the OCZ DDR2 PC2-6400 CL 3 FlexXLC Edition modules passed the test with flying colours, managing to run at 3-4-4-15 / DDR2-800 with 2.35v on our Asus P5B Deluxe test bed. I would have liked to have run these modules at (1T) but unfortunately the P5B Deluxe's bios doesn't allow setting the Command Rate to either 1 or 2T. I have included '2T' benchmarks in this review, but bear in mind that at 3-4-4-15 (1T), the performance would typically be better by around 3-5% in most cases.

Lowest Latency 3-4-4-15 (2T) Timings @ Stock Speed (400Mhz / 2.35v)

3-4-4-15 cpu screenshot

3-4-4-14 memory screenshot

It is well known that gamers prefer to run their memory at low latencies (rather than high frequencies) as this is an easily tweakable setting and provides decent benefits in most games. After a little tweaking the modules managed impressive timings of 3-4-4-15. Not a bad result for modules designed to run at a little more relaxed timings on a non-EPP based motherboard.

4-4-4-15 (2T) Timings @ Stock Speed (400Mhz / 2.1v)

OCZ FlexXLC 4-5-5-15

Memory 4-4-4-15

5-4-4-15 Timings @ Stock Speed (400Mhz / 2.1v)

5-4-4-15 CPU

Memory 5-4-4-15

5-6-6-15 Timings @ Highest Frequency (547.5Mhz / 2.35v)

CPU 5-6-6-15

Memory 5-6-6-15

I must admit at being a little surprised at the highest attainable frequency of the OCZ DDR2 PC2-6400 CL 3 FlexXLC Edition modules. I felt sure that they would allow quite sufficient overclocking headroom with looser timings, but alas, no amount of pushing would get them stable at higher frequencies.

For the benchmark phase of our review, OCZ DDR2 PC2-6400 CL 3 FlexXLC Edition modules were subjected to popular benchmarks at OC3D in order to illustrate outright performance. All benchmarks were run three times and an average taken to guarantee uniformity of the results. Now let's head over to the next page to see how the modules performed in the benchmarks.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next»

Most Recent Comments

25-08-2007, 05:42:09

PV5150
We take a look at the baby of the FlexXLC family from OCZ and put it through its paces.

Linky

25-08-2007, 06:32:14

!TIMMY!
Very nice review! Pitty im still on DDR1 lol.

25-08-2007, 06:35:18

PV5150
Thanks !TIMMY!

25-08-2007, 07:29:48

equk
they look pretty

25-08-2007, 13:10:22

mVp24
Great review PV!

25-08-2007, 18:05:16

Uncle_Fluffy
Love to see if water cooling would actually lower the temps!

25-08-2007, 18:08:25

FarFarAway
Good work Peevs, nice review mate

Look like a nice set of sticks

26-08-2007, 09:59:33

Toxcity
Some really nice RAM modules.

Well written review PV! As always!

28-08-2007, 00:50:39

markkleb
Another great review guys.

I just bought my first set of OCZ memory (Reapers) for the Asus mobo. They work very nice and with the prices so low its hard to pass them up.

28-08-2007, 01:05:05

PV5150
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Uncle_Fluffy'
Love to see if water cooling would actually lower the temps!
I'm actually about to rectify that by plumbing them into my loop...keep watching. I'll include it as an adendum

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Kempez'
Good work Peevs, nice review mate

Look like a nice set of sticks
Thanks mate and yeah they're not too shabby

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Toxcity'
Some really nice RAM modules.

Well written review PV! As alwasy!
Thanks mate

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='markkleb'
Another great review guys.

I just bought my first set of OCZ memory (Reapers) for the Asus mobo. They work very nice and with the prices so low its hard to pass them up.
Nice one on the Reapers markkleb
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.