OCZ Blade DDR3 PC3-16000 6GB Kit

Conclusion

Conclusion
 
The OCZ Blade kit is without doubt the fastest kit we have tested to date. No sooner had I reviewed the excellent Dominator GT's last week, do OCZ slam dunk them into the history books with a phenomenal, extreme performance 6GB DDR3 kit.
 
At stock, this kit out performs anything we have tested thus far across all the benchmarks. Sure, we had to nudge the CPU up a few notches to allow us to reach the stock 2000MHz setting but it was plain to see from the benchmarks that even without this minor CPU overclock, the Blade kit simply wiped the floor with the competition. As it is clocked very high at stock I was shocked to find that I could still grab a few extra MHz (128 to be precise) with only a slight drop in latency.
 
The kit certainly looks the business with understated yet functional black heat sinks. We have had the pleasure of testing two of these kits at OC3D, one kit arrived with a matching black PCB and the other having a slightly less appealing green PCB. That said when the kits are in the memory sockets you are not going to notice thanks to the heat sinks covering all of the PCB anyway. The packaging was very good, with the three kits packed in blister style packs and then a further card box displaying all the features and niceties we all like to see. There is also a handy little leaflet inside which contains info on the modules themselves as well as warranty and customer support information.
 
Perhaps the biggest, and I do mean that literally, downfall of the OCZ Blade kit is the extortionate price tag. £345 is a very high price to pay for a 6GB kit. Some E-tailors even have this kit around the £600 mark, such is the high demand for such high performing kits! While most may baulk at the price, it was not so long ago that top end DDR2 kits cost this much, and were down 2GB too so all things considered, this is not such a bad price though still out of average Joe's budget I feel. Clearly this top of the range memory kit is not targeted to the masses, it's market is someone who wants the best. With some extreme i7 motherboards now costing in excess of £400 and selling by the bucket load it should really come as no surprise that kits such as the OCZ Blade will also sell well to the high end enthusiast. It's an age old adage but you get what you pay for. Sadly, this is true with the OCZ Blade kit and while the increase in performance may not seem to be worth the extra money, as with all top of the range items, you will always get diminishing returns the higher up the scale of performance products you go.
 
In short, the OCZ kit offers performance few other kits can hope to match, certainly at stock speed and although the price tag is high, if you want the best you are simply going to have to stump up the cash. I word of warning though, you will need a very good CPU memory controller to allow this kit to perform at it's optimum speed. Performance wise, whichever your preference, be it bandwidth or latency, you have a kit full of win/win with the OCZ Blade CAS7 6GB kit which holds true to it's promise of  'The best performing DDR3 memory on the market'. For that reason alone it deserves our prestigious Performance award.
 
The Good
- Fastest stock kit on the market
- Sexy heat sinks
- Amazing performance
 
The Mediocre
- A ram cooler would be a nice addition
- Hit and miss on Green/Black PCB
- Price will be out of reach for most
 
The Bad
- Nothing
 
 
Thanks to OCZ for providing the Blade kit for review. Discuss in our forums.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next»

Most Recent Comments

25-05-2009, 07:18:31

JN
"Want the best performance? Got the money to pay for it? Then maybe you should check out our latest DDR3 memory kit review where we put the OCZ Blade through it's paces..." - by W3bbo

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...140625597s.jpg

OCZ Blade DDR3 PC3-16000 6GB Kit

25-05-2009, 07:46:32

Mul.
A very impressive kit there with some incredible bandwith figures, granted, at the price of a high end graphics card!

Excellent review w3bbo.

25-05-2009, 07:53:31

Rastalovich
This is the thing that bothers me about the cpu vS memory benching and testing.

A linked-to website, which has been a companion listing of all cpus in conditions, listing many hardcore intensive processing examples of how cpus compare to others ------- this qualifier out of the way.

On this listing, the comparisons of said cpus show no-difference in running memory kits in single/dual/tri arrangements when running the benches used - but appears to show 1 cpu triumphing over others and is accepted as "well that shows that these cpus are better than others".

Surely this is complete crap. Just as a starter, every1 will know that dual channel memory works more efficiently than single - that's a straight forward 64 bit vS 128 bit logical answer. Same as 2 disks in raid0 vS a single disk, as a loose example.

Now, if the cpu benches in the list are proving "it doesn't matter" - which is bollox imo, I'm sure the majority will agree, then surely the intensive hardcore professional benches they're using, the likes of video conversion, archive packing, are failing the test and the results are worthless.

These memory strips are obviously extremely good. The said site would have u believe that using 2 of these strips instead of 3 will have no-difference to professional apps being used on ur pc (which we have established is a load of crap).

Argument may be that the tests used are done in seconds where the differences in running various memory arrangements aren't appreciated - well that's crap too cos let's realize for a second that it's the 21st century, and although computers and software are moving at a snails-pace compared to the huge strides we would get in the past, these processes are actually done in seconds!

No account either of 12m cache vS 6m over periods - which makes a difference.

Awesome review, great set of memory, and two fingers to stoopid bench listing sites that people rely on to make points about "new tech".

25-05-2009, 12:11:58

Diablo
Looks some great RAM, bit pricey, but you get what you pay for I guess. 12GB might be a little pricey tho

Could you rerun that last far cry test because that overclock will obviosuly massively affect the results?

25-05-2009, 13:43:13

w3bbo
Re run it in what way? You can't have DDR3 running at 2000MHz with the CPU at stock speed I'm afraid. It's either 2180 or 1866.

25-05-2009, 13:50:25

FarFarAway
Fantastic review mate and a scrummy looking piece of kit. Luff OCZ RAM (8GB myself )

25-05-2009, 14:45:06

Diablo
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='w3bbo'
Re run it in what way? You can't have DDR3 running at 2000MHz with the CPU at stock speed I'm afraid. It's either 2180 or 1866.
Aaah, fair shout, hadn't thought of that. Just thought it skewed the results, I should have put my brain in gear :damn:

25-05-2009, 16:00:28

w3bbo
lol, no worries m8. Tbh it's a pita reviewing kits that need the CPU overclocking to attain the speed required as you are correct, it does skew the results slightly hence I put the disclaimer in there.

Still, the bandwidth results speak for themselves .

27-05-2009, 07:58:59

de_lenni
sweet looking and performing set of sticks

pitty they don't add some kind of 'dominator fan'-like thing

28-05-2009, 15:33:10

w3bbo
Yeah that is a shame as the Dominator coolers are sweet pieces of kit. I would maybe like to have seen one of OCZ's XTC coolers included with a nice black paint job.

04-06-2009, 12:20:27

Skiddywinks
Hate to seem ungrateful (which I am not, since I loved this review), but I would be very interested to know if you could drop the latency at all while retaining the stock MHz, or see how much you would have to drop the MHz to get some lower timings. Just for the sake of completeness.

Shame we can't find out what chips it is running. Anyone happen to know by any chance?

04-06-2009, 12:42:51

w3bbo
IC's used are reportedly Elpida MNH-E Hyper which are the best around at present.

I did try lowering the timings further but not by lowering bandwidth (which defeats the object of high speed ram imo). Sadly they wouldn't run at anything lower than the stock CAS7 @2000MHz.

04-06-2009, 14:20:10

Rastalovich
http://www.elpida.com/en/index.html

Not as well known as other memory companies.

I can verify that their "el-cheapo" memory rocks http://forum.overclock3d.net/picture...463581&thumb=1

05-06-2009, 10:03:04

Skiddywinks
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='w3bbo'
IC's used are reportedly Elpida MNH-E Hyper which are the best around at present.

I did try lowering the timings further but not by lowering bandwidth (which defeats the object of high speed ram imo). Sadly they wouldn't run at anything lower than the stock CAS7 @2000MHz.
Thanks a lot for the info! I can't blame you for not dropping the MHz really. Only reason I mentioned it was for completeness' sake and out of curiosity. Bit gutted them wouldn't go to any lower timings. Oh well, they are already the most phenomenal sticks I have seen, so I am more than impressed!

I am so very tempted to save up and fork out for some near Christmas. I finally plan on watercooling my NB and Mosfets as well as my (current) CPU and 4870X2. I think these sticks would do me wonders in reaching the highest overclocks possible. Only the best will do :P
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.