OCZ Blade DDR3 PC3-16000 6GB Kit

Introduction

Introduction
 
OCZ have been dipping there fingers into many different pies lately venturing into territories not normally associated with a premium memory manufacturer. Power Supply Units, D.I.Y notebooks, cooling products as well as being a leader in SSD technology are just some of the products OCZ currently offer. So then it remains to be seen if OCZ still have what it takes to make Ultra high Performance memory or have they dropped the ball and fallen behind in the highly competitive, top end performance memory market?
 
OCZ aim to answer this question with the extreme bandwidth, low latency 'Blade' series, in this case the OCZ DDR3 PC3-16000 Blade Series Low Voltage Triple Channel 6GB kit. This set of memory is specifically designed for use on Intel i7 X58 setups (although they also make Blade kits specific to older chipsets) which runs at an extremely low latency of 7-8-7 and a blistering speed of 2000MHz! Perhaps best of all, the voltage required to run at this speed is no different from lesser 'high-end' kits at 1.65v. This makes the Blade kit the fastest kit currently available in a mass produced state on what is the standard accepted Vdimm of most performance DDR3 kits on the market today. However, because of this kits ultra fast speed, each kit is speed binned using the latest technology to ensure every single kit out of OCZ's doors meets your stringent standards. All you need to reach the advertised frequency is a CPU and motherboard capable of attaining this ultra bandwidth.
 
The new blade kit also has a new set of clothing in the form of some sleek black heat spreaders which form an interesting design I will investigate further overleaf. Sadly, there is no included memory fan cooler which is dissappointing considering the price, especially when you consider there are cheaper kits which include this accessory. It remains to be seen though if any extra cooling is needed to keep the Blade kits temperatures in check, something I will look at in terms of memory stability in the testing procedure later on in the review.
 
Here's what OCZ have to say about their flagship product:
 
The Blade Series Triple Channel Memory kit is the latest maximum-performance RAM designed specifically for the Intel® Core™ i7 processor / Intel® X58 Express Chipset. At DDR3-2000, CL 7-8-7, the Blade Series harnesses industry-leading speeds at the low voltage required to safely run Core i7’s triple channel mode. With the ideal combination of all the factors that formulate the ultimate memory solution— density, speed, latency, and an effective new cooling design—the Blade Series is guaranteed to please enthusiasts looking to take the hottest Intel platform to new heights.

Whether seeking maximum frame rates in the latest PC titles or yearning for the highest benchmark record, the Blade Series was developed for gamers and overclockers looking to make the most of their high-performance systems.
 
 
Specification
 
The following specification was taken directly from the OCZ product page:
 
Bandwidth: 2000MHz DDR3
Latency: CL 7-8-7-20
Availability:  6GB (3x2048) Triple Channel Optimised Kits
Buffered/Unbuffered: Unbuffered
Vdimm: 1.65 Volts
Socket: 240 Pin DIMM
Cooling: Pure Aluminum Heatsink
Warranty: OCZ Lifetime Warranty
 
So with extra tight timings, unheard of at it's rated speed of 2000MHz, fresh new heatsinks all running with a conservative 1.65v, it seems OCZ certainly still have the minerals to produce some  class leading memory. Let's see if they can present it as such...
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next»

Most Recent Comments

25-05-2009, 07:18:31

JN
"Want the best performance? Got the money to pay for it? Then maybe you should check out our latest DDR3 memory kit review where we put the OCZ Blade through it's paces..." - by W3bbo

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...140625597s.jpg

OCZ Blade DDR3 PC3-16000 6GB Kit

25-05-2009, 07:46:32

Mul.
A very impressive kit there with some incredible bandwith figures, granted, at the price of a high end graphics card!

Excellent review w3bbo.

25-05-2009, 07:53:31

Rastalovich
This is the thing that bothers me about the cpu vS memory benching and testing.

A linked-to website, which has been a companion listing of all cpus in conditions, listing many hardcore intensive processing examples of how cpus compare to others ------- this qualifier out of the way.

On this listing, the comparisons of said cpus show no-difference in running memory kits in single/dual/tri arrangements when running the benches used - but appears to show 1 cpu triumphing over others and is accepted as "well that shows that these cpus are better than others".

Surely this is complete crap. Just as a starter, every1 will know that dual channel memory works more efficiently than single - that's a straight forward 64 bit vS 128 bit logical answer. Same as 2 disks in raid0 vS a single disk, as a loose example.

Now, if the cpu benches in the list are proving "it doesn't matter" - which is bollox imo, I'm sure the majority will agree, then surely the intensive hardcore professional benches they're using, the likes of video conversion, archive packing, are failing the test and the results are worthless.

These memory strips are obviously extremely good. The said site would have u believe that using 2 of these strips instead of 3 will have no-difference to professional apps being used on ur pc (which we have established is a load of crap).

Argument may be that the tests used are done in seconds where the differences in running various memory arrangements aren't appreciated - well that's crap too cos let's realize for a second that it's the 21st century, and although computers and software are moving at a snails-pace compared to the huge strides we would get in the past, these processes are actually done in seconds!

No account either of 12m cache vS 6m over periods - which makes a difference.

Awesome review, great set of memory, and two fingers to stoopid bench listing sites that people rely on to make points about "new tech".

25-05-2009, 12:11:58

Diablo
Looks some great RAM, bit pricey, but you get what you pay for I guess. 12GB might be a little pricey tho

Could you rerun that last far cry test because that overclock will obviosuly massively affect the results?

25-05-2009, 13:43:13

w3bbo
Re run it in what way? You can't have DDR3 running at 2000MHz with the CPU at stock speed I'm afraid. It's either 2180 or 1866.

25-05-2009, 13:50:25

FarFarAway
Fantastic review mate and a scrummy looking piece of kit. Luff OCZ RAM (8GB myself )

25-05-2009, 14:45:06

Diablo
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='w3bbo'
Re run it in what way? You can't have DDR3 running at 2000MHz with the CPU at stock speed I'm afraid. It's either 2180 or 1866.
Aaah, fair shout, hadn't thought of that. Just thought it skewed the results, I should have put my brain in gear :damn:

25-05-2009, 16:00:28

w3bbo
lol, no worries m8. Tbh it's a pita reviewing kits that need the CPU overclocking to attain the speed required as you are correct, it does skew the results slightly hence I put the disclaimer in there.

Still, the bandwidth results speak for themselves .

27-05-2009, 07:58:59

de_lenni
sweet looking and performing set of sticks

pitty they don't add some kind of 'dominator fan'-like thing

28-05-2009, 15:33:10

w3bbo
Yeah that is a shame as the Dominator coolers are sweet pieces of kit. I would maybe like to have seen one of OCZ's XTC coolers included with a nice black paint job.

04-06-2009, 12:20:27

Skiddywinks
Hate to seem ungrateful (which I am not, since I loved this review), but I would be very interested to know if you could drop the latency at all while retaining the stock MHz, or see how much you would have to drop the MHz to get some lower timings. Just for the sake of completeness.

Shame we can't find out what chips it is running. Anyone happen to know by any chance?

04-06-2009, 12:42:51

w3bbo
IC's used are reportedly Elpida MNH-E Hyper which are the best around at present.

I did try lowering the timings further but not by lowering bandwidth (which defeats the object of high speed ram imo). Sadly they wouldn't run at anything lower than the stock CAS7 @2000MHz.

04-06-2009, 14:20:10

Rastalovich
http://www.elpida.com/en/index.html

Not as well known as other memory companies.

I can verify that their "el-cheapo" memory rocks http://forum.overclock3d.net/picture...463581&thumb=1

05-06-2009, 10:03:04

Skiddywinks
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='w3bbo'
IC's used are reportedly Elpida MNH-E Hyper which are the best around at present.

I did try lowering the timings further but not by lowering bandwidth (which defeats the object of high speed ram imo). Sadly they wouldn't run at anything lower than the stock CAS7 @2000MHz.
Thanks a lot for the info! I can't blame you for not dropping the MHz really. Only reason I mentioned it was for completeness' sake and out of curiosity. Bit gutted them wouldn't go to any lower timings. Oh well, they are already the most phenomenal sticks I have seen, so I am more than impressed!

I am so very tempted to save up and fork out for some near Christmas. I finally plan on watercooling my NB and Mosfets as well as my (current) CPU and 4870X2. I think these sticks would do me wonders in reaching the highest overclocks possible. Only the best will do :P
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.