Mushkin XP2-8500 DDR2 2GB Kit

Conclusion

Conclusion:

Overall the Mushkin XP2-8500 2GB kit is a great, solid performer. Aimed at the enthusiast end of the market, the kit definitely doesn't disappoint.

Although the memory would not go to particularly high speeds, the stock settings still give headroom for impressive overclocks while retaining full stability.

The kit is available on Mushkin's website with a List Price of £215 / $419, which, while still at the high end of a lot of peoples budget, is a very decent price when compared to other 2GB PC2-8500 kits on the market.


Pros:
+ Solid at stock settings
+ Capable of very low timings
+ Stay fairly cool at higher voltages
+ Attractive heatspreaders
+ Lifetime warranty
+ Reasonable price

Cons:
-
Do not overclock particularly far within specified voltages
- Slightly unoriginal packaging


Recommended Award


A big thankyou to Mushkin for supplying the kit for review.

Feel free to dicuss the review over in the OC3D Forums
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next»

Most Recent Comments

14-02-2007, 06:06:11

llwyd
Another OC3D review of a very nice kit of memory for a real good price. Check out the review Here

14-02-2007, 06:10:23

FarFarAway
Mushkin make some awesome RAM

Nice review Llwyd

14-02-2007, 06:59:13

Mr. Popo

Intel C2D E4300 "allendale"



You say "Allendale", CPU-Z say "Conroe".

Great review!

14-02-2007, 07:03:45

PV5150
Great review mate and very thorough. Well done I'll have to get me some Mushkin sticks some day

14-02-2007, 07:29:39

Deshman
Looks like some pretty nice looking RAM, can't say I've ever come across Mushkin before though.

14-02-2007, 07:31:51

Mr. Popo
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Deshman'
Looks like some pretty nice looking RAM, can't say I've ever come across Mushkin before though.
OMG, it's Mushkin!

"The Lord of The Apple RAM"

14-02-2007, 07:33:17

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Mr. Popo'
You say "Allendale", CPU-Z say "Conroe".

Great review!
Funnily enough I was reading about this yesterday, and you're right - there is no such thing as an Allendale according to Intel

14-02-2007, 07:36:16

FarFarAway
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Deshman'
Looks like some pretty nice looking RAM, can't say I've ever come across Mushkin before though.
They make seriously underrated RAM

Great stuff

14-02-2007, 07:36:56

Deshman
Ahhh, Apple. That would explain it. I try to steer away from Apple and advise others to do the same after the trouble I've experienced with Apple hardware (not just their PCs).

14-02-2007, 07:38:55

Rastalovich
Annoyingly, I see Mushkin, but keep reading as munshkin >.<

14-02-2007, 07:45:07

Deshman
Hehe me too. You'd think companies would think their names thoroughly before committing to them. A great example being the Mole Station Nursery, their web address of course being molesationnursery

14-02-2007, 07:48:12

mrapoc
Very nice review my friend!

14-02-2007, 08:57:11

llwyd
Thankyou guys. CPUz was wrong with a few things, the vlotage is way off, the core code-name is wrong (as you noticed) and the memory speed is reading as PC-6400 .........

14-02-2007, 09:01:50

Mr. Popo
CPU-Z was not wrong, the codename changed from Allendale to Conroe.

14-02-2007, 09:03:04

llwyd
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Mr. Popo'
CPU-Z was not wrong, the codename changed from Allendale to Conroe.
Ah well I don't make a habit of following name changes, either way the voltages and memory speeds are wrong

14-02-2007, 09:41:47

Ham
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Mr. Popo'
CPU-Z was not wrong, the codename changed from Allendale to Conroe.
Actualy Allendale has 1/2 the cache of conroe. Whether its just been disabled or removed i don't know.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.