Mushkin XP2-8500 DDR2 2GB Kit

Packaging & Appearance

Packaging

The Mushkin XP2-8500 kit comes packaged in the blister pack that seems to be highly favoured among memory manufacturers these days. A pretty basic but effective form of packaging either way, and allows shoppers to get a good look at what they're getting for their money.

Packaging Front Packaging Back

The cardboard backing is a double sided piece of card with a beginner friendly set of instructions on the back, providing instructions for installation and troubleshooting. The text on the back however is very small considering the amount of space available and was very hard to read from a normal distance.

Here is a sample of the directions on the back:

If the machine boots, counts the memory, then locks up:
> Try the Mushkin seperately; double check the BIOS settings for the memory. If the settings are more aggressive than the specifications on the RAM the computer will not run properly

Pretty basic but very useful for someone newer to the world of computer modification and overclocking.


Appearance

The XP modules from Mushkin come with the trademark FrostByte heatspeaders seen on all of Mushkins higher end kits. I personally quite like the look of these heatspeaders and I expect the ridges yield at least a small performance increase over the standard style of spreader.

The Mushkin logo is painted on both sides in green and lilac which stands out but I think detracts slightly from the aggressive look of the modules.

Mushkin front Mushkin Back

Mushkin front and back Mushkin Open

The heatspreader is fixed on both sides by double sided, sticky thermal-pads as well as two small stainless steel clips to hold the top securely in place. This allows for easy removal or replacement of the spreader. Now that we've had a look at our review subjects in detail, let's throw them into our test bench.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next»

Most Recent Comments

14-02-2007, 06:06:11

llwyd
Another OC3D review of a very nice kit of memory for a real good price. Check out the review Here

14-02-2007, 06:10:23

FarFarAway
Mushkin make some awesome RAM

Nice review Llwyd

14-02-2007, 06:59:13

Mr. Popo

Intel C2D E4300 "allendale"



You say "Allendale", CPU-Z say "Conroe".

Great review!

14-02-2007, 07:03:45

PV5150
Great review mate and very thorough. Well done I'll have to get me some Mushkin sticks some day

14-02-2007, 07:29:39

Deshman
Looks like some pretty nice looking RAM, can't say I've ever come across Mushkin before though.

14-02-2007, 07:31:51

Mr. Popo
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Deshman'
Looks like some pretty nice looking RAM, can't say I've ever come across Mushkin before though.
OMG, it's Mushkin!

"The Lord of The Apple RAM"

14-02-2007, 07:33:17

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Mr. Popo'
You say "Allendale", CPU-Z say "Conroe".

Great review!
Funnily enough I was reading about this yesterday, and you're right - there is no such thing as an Allendale according to Intel

14-02-2007, 07:36:16

FarFarAway
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Deshman'
Looks like some pretty nice looking RAM, can't say I've ever come across Mushkin before though.
They make seriously underrated RAM

Great stuff

14-02-2007, 07:36:56

Deshman
Ahhh, Apple. That would explain it. I try to steer away from Apple and advise others to do the same after the trouble I've experienced with Apple hardware (not just their PCs).

14-02-2007, 07:38:55

Rastalovich
Annoyingly, I see Mushkin, but keep reading as munshkin >.<

14-02-2007, 07:45:07

Deshman
Hehe me too. You'd think companies would think their names thoroughly before committing to them. A great example being the Mole Station Nursery, their web address of course being molesationnursery

14-02-2007, 07:48:12

mrapoc
Very nice review my friend!

14-02-2007, 08:57:11

llwyd
Thankyou guys. CPUz was wrong with a few things, the vlotage is way off, the core code-name is wrong (as you noticed) and the memory speed is reading as PC-6400 .........

14-02-2007, 09:01:50

Mr. Popo
CPU-Z was not wrong, the codename changed from Allendale to Conroe.

14-02-2007, 09:03:04

llwyd
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Mr. Popo'
CPU-Z was not wrong, the codename changed from Allendale to Conroe.
Ah well I don't make a habit of following name changes, either way the voltages and memory speeds are wrong

14-02-2007, 09:41:47

Ham
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Mr. Popo'
CPU-Z was not wrong, the codename changed from Allendale to Conroe.
Actualy Allendale has 1/2 the cache of conroe. Whether its just been disabled or removed i don't know.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.