Mushkin XP2-8500 DDR2 2GB Kit

Introduction

Introduction

Mushkin is a name well known in the enthusiast community for its high end memory modules, characterised by the trademark jagged spine heatspreader. Mushkin's highly successful Redline series has found itself in many high performance computers over the years and earned itself a reputation as quite a solid performer. Today we look at  the Redline series' little brother in the form of the XP2-8500 2GB DDR2 kit, the fastest kit Mushkin currently have on offer.


Company Background

Taken from Mushkins website :

Founded in 1994, Mushkin is best known for producing “Enhanced” memory modules. Located at the base of the Rocky Mountains in Denver, Colorado Mushkin provides performance enhanced computer products to users worldwide. Exceptional quality, enhanced performance and unparalleled customer support are what make Mushkin products the best in the industry.

Mushkin products include an enhanced power supply line and a complete selection of memory upgrades for desktops, servers and notebooks – we offer something for everyone from business user to gamer. Our enhanced memory products are available in several performance categories from standard to extreme, with our REDLINE series in a class of its own. Our enhanced power supply line offers superb regulation and ripple characteristics, modularity and plenty of power to supply the most demanding systems.

With customers including everyone from Apple Computer and NASA to gamers and web browsers, Mushkin knows what is important to customers - enhanced performance with uncompromised quality. With Mushkin you Get More.


Specifications

Frequency:1066MHzLatency:5-5-4-12Parity:Unbuffered
  Voltage:2.2-2.35VPins:240
Density> > > Module:128Mx64Chip:64x8

Furthermore, Mushkin offer a lifetime warranty on all their memory products as well as a 30 day compatibility warranty. Unfortunately, there is no mention on their support pages on whether this lifetime warranty covers the modules at voltages above the rated max of 2.35v. As seen in other reviews, this is not an uncommon occurrence and so purchasers might want to look into these things before buying.

D9 IC

As you can see above, the modules utilise D9GMH Micron IC's. These are rated at slightly lower speeds than D9GKX IC's but are known to do better at lower timings. However, these are by no means steadfast rules and so we shall see how they perform further into the review.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next»

Most Recent Comments

14-02-2007, 06:06:11

llwyd
Another OC3D review of a very nice kit of memory for a real good price. Check out the review Here

14-02-2007, 06:10:23

FarFarAway
Mushkin make some awesome RAM

Nice review Llwyd

14-02-2007, 06:59:13

Mr. Popo

Intel C2D E4300 "allendale"



You say "Allendale", CPU-Z say "Conroe".

Great review!

14-02-2007, 07:03:45

PV5150
Great review mate and very thorough. Well done I'll have to get me some Mushkin sticks some day

14-02-2007, 07:29:39

Deshman
Looks like some pretty nice looking RAM, can't say I've ever come across Mushkin before though.

14-02-2007, 07:31:51

Mr. Popo
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Deshman'
Looks like some pretty nice looking RAM, can't say I've ever come across Mushkin before though.
OMG, it's Mushkin!

"The Lord of The Apple RAM"

14-02-2007, 07:33:17

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Mr. Popo'
You say "Allendale", CPU-Z say "Conroe".

Great review!
Funnily enough I was reading about this yesterday, and you're right - there is no such thing as an Allendale according to Intel

14-02-2007, 07:36:16

FarFarAway
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Deshman'
Looks like some pretty nice looking RAM, can't say I've ever come across Mushkin before though.
They make seriously underrated RAM

Great stuff

14-02-2007, 07:36:56

Deshman
Ahhh, Apple. That would explain it. I try to steer away from Apple and advise others to do the same after the trouble I've experienced with Apple hardware (not just their PCs).

14-02-2007, 07:38:55

Rastalovich
Annoyingly, I see Mushkin, but keep reading as munshkin >.<

14-02-2007, 07:45:07

Deshman
Hehe me too. You'd think companies would think their names thoroughly before committing to them. A great example being the Mole Station Nursery, their web address of course being molesationnursery

14-02-2007, 07:48:12

mrapoc
Very nice review my friend!

14-02-2007, 08:57:11

llwyd
Thankyou guys. CPUz was wrong with a few things, the vlotage is way off, the core code-name is wrong (as you noticed) and the memory speed is reading as PC-6400 .........

14-02-2007, 09:01:50

Mr. Popo
CPU-Z was not wrong, the codename changed from Allendale to Conroe.

14-02-2007, 09:03:04

llwyd
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Mr. Popo'
CPU-Z was not wrong, the codename changed from Allendale to Conroe.
Ah well I don't make a habit of following name changes, either way the voltages and memory speeds are wrong

14-02-2007, 09:41:47

Ham
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Mr. Popo'
CPU-Z was not wrong, the codename changed from Allendale to Conroe.
Actualy Allendale has 1/2 the cache of conroe. Whether its just been disabled or removed i don't know.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.