Mushkin PC16000 Radioactive 6GB Review

CineBench and POV-Ray

Mushkin PC16000 Radioactive 6GB Review

CineBench R11.5

If anyone doubted the CPU heavy nature of rendering then this nicely demonstrates it. Although RAM speed has some assistance we can see when comparing the Radioactive at stock to the Blackline at stock, a 667MHz difference in RAM speed, there is a small benefit, they still lag a long way behind the 4GHz CPU tests of the three overclocked runs.

 

POV-Ray

The ever reliable POV-Ray backs up the results we saw above with the faster CPUs completely dominating. The strange thing though is how the Radioactive at stock is behind the Blackline at stock. Now stock Blackline is 133MHz BCLK whereas stock (XMP) Radioactive is 143MHz BCLK and so has a faster CPU and faster DIMMs. Curious.

When overclocked the tight timings of the Radioactive allow it to just about edge a lead but it's all very tight.

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next»

Most Recent Comments

26-11-2010, 03:11:50

tinytomlogan
Tired of the same old black or Blue RAM sticks? After something a little more unique? Mushkin might have the answer.

Continue Reading

26-11-2010, 06:09:45

Dewinte
Very very nice RAM! Hope your grandma recouperates well and is fully independent again soon.

The Christmas tree made me realise I don't have one yet haha... We gonna see more and more christmas decorations closer to Christmas?

26-11-2010, 08:00:17

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dewinte View Post

Very very nice RAM! Hope your grandma recouperates well and is fully independent again soon.

The Christmas tree made me realise I don't have one yet haha... We gonna see more and more christmas decorations closer to Christmas?
Probably not in the videos as it will be a right royal pita to keep moving them.

29-11-2010, 05:14:17

Mr. Strawberry
the heat spreader picture on the home page looks white

i thought there was going to be a whiteline range

10-12-2010, 14:56:05

Todd
Looks even better in the flesh. I dunno why yours is paler, Tom, my one's deep yellow.

10-12-2010, 15:01:30

Mr. Strawberry
might of been the flash on his camera

because on the video and in person they are a deep yellow

10-12-2010, 15:29:40

Todd
Yeah but he said they were quite pale on the vid or was it the oposite?

10-12-2010, 17:28:45

Stromatolites
Quote:
Originally Posted by Todd View Post

Yeah but he said they were quite pale on the vid or was it the oposite?
The colour doesn't translate well in most pictures or video.

10-12-2010, 18:00:45

Mr. Strawberry
was just guessing on the video as a cant remember but in person they were a deep yellow
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.