Mushkin PC16000 Radioactive 6GB Review

Introduction and Technical Specifications

Mushkin PC16000 Radioactive 6GB Review

Introduction

One of the best things to have happened in recent years is the switch from the beige box to black cases. That quickly became black or silver cases with lighting choices between blue, red or green.

Of course modders wont be limited by such small choices and so many cases have been sprayed in a plethora of colours, water loops have had various coloured dyes in them, but the reality is that the hardware itself hasn't adapted and is still mainly black or blue which does limit the overall theme of your rig.

If you want something that isn't so mainstream as a black and red system then your choices are either live with it, or spend an absolute fortune having custom heatsinks made and anodised.

Mushkin have hit the market with a bang in recent times and today we're taking a look at a variant of their Frostbyte cooler, dubbed the Radioactive.

Technical Specifications

If the heat-spreader is rather shocking, the underlying RAM thankfully follows sensible performance figures being 2000MHz @ 8-10-8-27. So often unique products are compromised by the knowledge you're a captive audience. If you want that colour you'll pay what it takes and take whatever performance it has. Mushkin has made sure you're not stuck with some 1333MHz kit just because you want a yellow spreader.

Type: DDR3
Voltage: 1.65V
Speed Spec: PC3-16000
Frequency: 2000MHz
Kit Type: Triple Kit
Module Size: 2GB
tCL: 8
tRCD: 10
tRP: 8
tRAS: 27
Heatsink: Radioactive FrostByte

 

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next»

Most Recent Comments

26-11-2010, 03:11:50

tinytomlogan
Tired of the same old black or Blue RAM sticks? After something a little more unique? Mushkin might have the answer.

Continue Reading

26-11-2010, 06:09:45

Dewinte
Very very nice RAM! Hope your grandma recouperates well and is fully independent again soon.

The Christmas tree made me realise I don't have one yet haha... We gonna see more and more christmas decorations closer to Christmas?

26-11-2010, 08:00:17

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dewinte View Post

Very very nice RAM! Hope your grandma recouperates well and is fully independent again soon.

The Christmas tree made me realise I don't have one yet haha... We gonna see more and more christmas decorations closer to Christmas?
Probably not in the videos as it will be a right royal pita to keep moving them.

29-11-2010, 05:14:17

Mr. Strawberry
the heat spreader picture on the home page looks white

i thought there was going to be a whiteline range

10-12-2010, 14:56:05

Todd
Looks even better in the flesh. I dunno why yours is paler, Tom, my one's deep yellow.

10-12-2010, 15:01:30

Mr. Strawberry
might of been the flash on his camera

because on the video and in person they are a deep yellow

10-12-2010, 15:29:40

Todd
Yeah but he said they were quite pale on the vid or was it the oposite?

10-12-2010, 17:28:45

Stromatolites
Quote:
Originally Posted by Todd View Post

Yeah but he said they were quite pale on the vid or was it the oposite?
The colour doesn't translate well in most pictures or video.

10-12-2010, 18:00:45

Mr. Strawberry
was just guessing on the video as a cant remember but in person they were a deep yellow
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.