Mushkin PC10666 Low Voltage RAM Review

Test Setup and Overclocking

Mushkin PC10666 Low Voltage RAM Review

Test Setup

Intel Core i7 950 @ 3.2GHz and 4GHz
6GB Mushkin Blackline PC10666 1.5v Ridgeback
ASUS Rampage 3 Extreme
Corsair AX1200w
Windows 7 Ultimate 64 Bit
Prolimatech Armageddon with Arctic MX-3
ATI HD5870

We will be testing the Mushkin XMP1 against a 1600MHz Corsair Dominator kit and against 2000MHz Corsair Dominator GT when using XMP2. 

Available XMP Profiles

XMP1 is, as to be expected, the default advertised speed of the Mushkin being 1.5v, 1333MHz and 7-7-7-20 timings.

Mushkin PC10666 Low Voltage RAM Review 

XMP2 is a hell of surprise. If we remember that this is 1333MHz 'out of the box', the second XMP profile is 1.65v, 2000MHz @ 8-10-8-27 timings with a 143BCLK. There are many kits labelled as high end that have this performance at these kind of timings so we can't wait to see how it fares.

Mushkin PC10666 Low Voltage RAM Review

The great benefit about this Mushkin DDR3 Kit being able to run at 2000MHz is the ability therefore to run with a 200BCLK and so have the processor at the 4GHz that all Core i7 Processors are easily capable of.

Mushkin PC10666 Low Voltage RAM Review

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next»

Most Recent Comments

26-10-2010, 04:28:05

tinytomlogan
Following the excellent performance of their Redline RAM, we just had to take a look at the Low Volt Mushkin RAM.

Continue Reading

26-10-2010, 14:37:20

SnW
Nice timmings and voltage

26-10-2010, 17:50:25

Sihastru
Nice review. And I must say the Ridgeback heatspreaders look amazing.

But quick question. You seem very amazed at the fact that the kit can do 7-7-7-20 @ 1333MHz 1.5V. But I'm doing that right now with some very cheap 6GB Kingston value RAM, that was rated at 9-9-9-25 @ 1333MHz 1.5V and it's even 1T CMD rate. I don't even have heatspreaders on them. Am I really lucky here or is this something any kit can do @ 1333MHz? Of course I can't do more then 1600MHz 1.65V so that's where the Mushkin kit goes stratospheric.

27-10-2010, 12:42:39

Alicarve
good review

just an edit for you though on page two you missed the h in though and added an a

We much prefer the stealthy appearance of the Ridgeback to some of the more "shouty" designs we've seen. It's a nice tough to see a Mushkin logo on the top face of the DIMMs as this is where it will actually be visible.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.