Mushkin HP2-6400 (PC2-6400) 4GB DDR2 Kit

Test Setup & Settings

Test Setup

Processor: Intel Core2Duo E6700 "Conroe"
Motherboard: Asus Commando P965 (unmodded)
Graphics Card: BFG 8800GTS Overclocked (550mhz / 1600mhz)
Hard Disks: 2x Hitachi Deskstar 80gb SATA-II 8mb Cache (RAID0)
Power Supply: Enermax Infiniti 720w
Operating System: Windows XP x64



Settings

As with all DDR2 reviews on Overclock3D the HP2-6400 modules were subjected to a series of benchmark tests under several different configurations. The configurations used tested the memory's ability to run at high frequencies, tight timings and also ensured that that it could run with 100% stability at stock settings.


Stock - DDR2-800 / 2.0v / 5-4-4-12

CPUZ CPUZ

Being the first 4GB DDR2 review we've ever done here at Overclock3D, I was slightly worried about possible compatability issues with our test hardware. However, installing the modules as normal and enabling the "Memory Remap Feature" in the BIOS enabled the system to see the full 4GB. The HP2-6400 modules also had no problems running at stock specifications of DDR2-800 / 5-4-4-12 with only 2.0v.


Max Frequency - DDR2-936 / 2.2v / 5-5-5-15

CPUZ CPUZ

Loosening the timings to 5-5-5-15 and upping the voltage to the maximum warranted 2.2v allowed some headroom for overclocking the modules. To be honest I wasn't expecting to see much of an overclock considering this is a 4GB kit, but the modules achieved a reasonable 68mhz overclock, taking them up to DDR2-936. Not too shabby for a kit aimed at the price conscious enthusiast.


Tightest Timings - DDR2-800 / 2.2v / 4-3-3-6

CPUZ CPUZ

With the modules still set at 2.2v and the frequency defaulted back to DDR2-800 I set out to find how far the timings could be tightened. Surprisingly I was able to achieve 4-3-3-6 - an extremely decent outcome for any DDR2 kit, let alone a DDR2-800 4GB one.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next»

Most Recent Comments

13-05-2007, 10:43:45

JN
"With 2gb becoming more of the 'norm', many people are looking into 4GB kits to satisfy their memory hungry games and applications. Today we look at Mushkin's 4GB PC2-6400 kit to see how it performs."

Linky

13-05-2007, 10:58:43

ionicle
awsome review, damn nice ram, i've been seeing all these 4 gig kits comming out, and wondering if they were actually any good, performance wise, since performance > quantity for some things, or so i thought

looks like i've been proven wrong

looks good

13-05-2007, 11:00:52

equk
good review

not sure if it's just me but the quote text seems tiny

13-05-2007, 12:34:29

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='equk'
not sure if it's just me but the quote text seems tiny
Yeah since the homepage layout changed the font also changed, making the quote font really small

13-05-2007, 13:30:16

Toxcity
Nice review!

I like the fact of the warrented up to 2.2v!

13-05-2007, 16:10:29

Hyper
Excellent review Jimbo

Still I think 2gb is quite sufficent for the average gamer.

14-05-2007, 10:45:22

FragTek
Sure that RAM won't go any higher mate? Eldonko was able to get 534 out of his @ 2.2v and timed @ 5-4-4 rather easily.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.