Mushkin 6GB (3x2GB) XP series DDR3 PC3-12800 1600MHz Kit

Introduction

Introduction

Hailing from the base of the Rocky Mountains in Denver, Colorado, USA, Mushkin have long been known as producers of high performance memory for the worldwide enthusiast market. Including products such as memory upgrades for both desktop and servers as well as notebooks, Mushkin have something to offer every user be it a gamer or an I.T Professional. Supplying Apple and NASA you can be assured of the quality produced from the Mushkin labs.

Today we will be looking at the XP (Extreme Performance) line of memory, specifically the low latency triple DDR3 kit which weighs in at the 1600MHz level. With low timings of 7-8-7-20 this is the lowest latency kit we have tested to date so it will be interesting to see what effect this has on our standard set of memory benchmarks.

Mushkin have 8 different kits in their DDR3 triple kit line up. Starting with 3x1GB 1333MHz all the way up to the range topping 3x1GB 2000MHz kit but today we have the mid range kit of 3x2GB 1600MHz to test.

Here's what Mushkin had to say about their kit:

Award winning, competition proven

Looking for performance? When you choose Mushkin, you're picking a winner. Our products win independent awards one after another and have been the essential ingredient in enthusiasts' systems for over 10 years.

Mushkin products are built from carefully selected components and must meet our unmatched rigid quality control. Our dedication to performance means that every product produced is ready for another winner to get exceptional performance and value.


Specification

The specification below was taken directly from the Mushkin website:

Frequency: 1600MHz
Latency: 7-8-7-20
Parity: Unbuffered
Voltage: 1.65V
Pins: 240
Module: 256x64
Chip: 128x8

Unlike other kits we have tested at the 1600MHz mark, the Mushkin kit arrives with lower latencies. How this affects performance in comparison we will see in our round of Memory benchmarks.

Let's take a look at how Mushkin have presented their product...
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next»

Most Recent Comments

10-03-2009, 04:57:41

JN
"Today we will be looking at the XP (Extreme Performance) line of memory, specifically the low latency triple DDR3 kit which weighs in at the 1600MHz level. How does it compare?" - by W3bbo

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...161031889s.jpg

Mushkin 6GB (3x2G XP series DDR3 PC3-12800 1600MHz Kit

10-03-2009, 07:02:28

Bungral
Good review and very interesting kit... 500MHz overclock by loosening the timings quite a lot. It's pretty much been proven that generally more MHz is better than tighter timings so I'm sure at 2100MHz the kit would fly. Did ya get any benchmarks of the kit overclocked?

I think I'll seriously consider this kit when I decide to upgrade to i7 providing nothing better is available by then.

Also one lil thing in the first paragraph:

Hailing from the base of the Rocky Mountains in Denver, Colorado, USA, Muskin have long been known as producers of high performance memory for the worldwide enthusiast market. Including products such as memory upgrades for



Mushkin spelt wrong

10-03-2009, 07:09:26

Toxcity
Not too bad a OC there! Fantastic review as aways. God I missed this site.

10-03-2009, 12:10:10

Bungral
Tox... Where you been hiding mate?

10-03-2009, 14:31:20

Toxcity
lol, Under a huge pile of coursework/life.

10-03-2009, 15:22:10

w3bbo
I did bench the kit but only for stability (SuperPI). I didn't display them as the CPU was not really overclocked too much. I didn't want to stress the memory controller as well as the memory as it would then be hard to distinguish exactly where the failings were so took the CPU out of the equation which inevitably has a skew on benchmark results and wouldn't be a fair representation of the benefits gained i.e a 14 second SuperPI run is not as impressive as a sub 10 second one. Alot of people just look at results and miss what is actually being tested .
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.