Kingston Value PC3-10600 DDR3 1333MHz CL9 12GB (6x2GB) kit

Test Setup

Test Setup

For today's testing we will be using the Gigabyte EX-58 UD5, a mid-range Core i7 motherboard from Gigabyte that will allow us to push the memory on test to its absolute limit. Here's a breakdown of the rest of the components:
 
Processor
Intel Core i7 920 'Nehalem' @ 2.66Ghz

Motherboard
DFI Lanparty T3eH6 DK

Memory
Kingston Value CL9 1333MHz 9-9-9-24 6x2GB kit
Kingston Value CL9 1333MHz 9-9-9-24 6x2GB kit (Overclocked to 8-8-8-24 @ 1600MHz)


Graphics Card
Nvidia 280GTX

Drivers
GeForce 182.50

PSU
Gigabyte Odin 1200w

Operating System
Windows Vista Ultimate 64bit SP2 + Updates
 
For testing the memory we used a number of synthetic benchmarks and games:
 
Synthetic Benchmarks
  • Lavalys Everest 4.10
  • SuperPI mod_1.5
  • Sisoft Sandra 2009
  • Passmark (Memory)
3D Benchmarks
  • 3DMark 05
  • 3DMark 06
  • 3DMark Vantange
  • Crysis
  • Call of Duty 4
  • Far Cry 2
 
Overclocking
 
Starting from scratch we disabled on the settings that may affect the overclocked settings such as Intel Speed Step as well as disabling the C-State settings which may also affect some of the results in the benchmark testing phase of the review. Here's how the sticks look at stock speed:

stock memory SPD
 
I did not expect an significant overclock from the Kingston kit being that they are aimed at the OEM system builder and not designed nor marketed towards the overclocking sector but I did manage to squeeze a little extra out of the kit:
 
CPU stock overclocked
 
First I tried to overclock the kit with everything set to there stock settings and just decreasing the memory divider. This resulted in a non boot scenario so I had a play with the voltages and settled for 1.6v Vdimm, 1.36Vtt and 1.35Vcore on the CPU. This not only allowed a break through to 1600MHz but also allowed the timings to be lowered to 8-8-8-24 from 9-9-9-27. I also managed to run the kit at 1T rather than the stock 2T. The Elpida chips certainly seemed to respond well to this small bout of voltage increases. Sadly, any further increases seemed to decrease stability so this was pretty much the maximum speed I could get out of the kit without enduring the dreaded BSOD's so often associated with over exuberant memory overclocks.
 
Returning the kit back to stock, I also tried to lower the timings but again I ran into stability issues unless I increased the voltages managing the same latencies as I did with the memory clocked to 1600MHz. Regardless, this is a great result for what is in effect budget memory, especially when you consider that the kit on test was run in a 12GB configuration.
 
Let's see how the memory performs in our suite of benchmarks...
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next»

Most Recent Comments

23-06-2009, 12:28:32

tinytomlogan
We take a look at the Kingston Value PC3-10600 DDR3 1333MHz CL9 12GB kit - by Webbo

Continue Reading

23-06-2009, 17:40:15

DeMoB
That pink text on the test setup page is unreadable! >_>

Only reason I can see people needing 12GB is virtualization really.

Dan

23-06-2009, 18:02:14

Lynx
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='DeMoB'
That pink text on the test setup page is unreadable!
Highlight it for contrast.

Nice review, do they do a 6gb kit aswell? < in the uk btw

24-06-2009, 06:52:01

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='DeMoB'
That pink text on the test setup page is unreadable! >_>

Only reason I can see people needing 12GB is virtualization really.

Dan
Edited
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.