Kingston LoVo 1866 Memory Review

Test Setup and Overclocking

Kingston LoVo  1866 Memory Review

Test Setup and Overclocking

Intel Core i7 870 @ 3.6GHz
ASUS Maximum Extreme III
ATI HD5870
Corsair HX850
Windows 7 Ultimate 64
8GB Kingston LoVo 1866 (4x2GB)


For our tests we ran the LoVo at the two XMPs, being 1600MHz @ 1.25v and 1866MHz @ 1.35v.

Overclocking

With something that comes so low-voltage out the box it's very tempting to run it hard. After all it has to remain within ATX specifications and it's more likely that you need to use good chips to get such low voltages whilst remaining stable, than you can use ones out the parts bin that wont do higher speeds.

However gains with RAM don't only come from higher clock speeds but also lower timings. Striking the balance between the two is the key. As we've hopefully got a lot of voltage overhead we upped from the 1.25v XMP setting to 1.45v and tried to see if we could get the timings lower than the 9-9-9-27 they run at stock. As it was we easily hit 7-8-7-24 which is a huge improvement. These definitely are some good chips.

Kingston LoVo 1866 Memory Review 

Having lowered the timings we clearly have a lot to play with here. So it's obviously worth putting them back to the 9-9-9-27 and seeing how far we can push the speed.

Naturally with the Kingston LoVo rated at 1866 @ 1.35v we were careful when overclocking to go up in small steps and constantly test stability and temperatures. To save you reading a ton of results though, here are our final results. 2202MHz 9-9-9-27 @ 1.65v, completely stable. Fantastic results.

Kingston LoVo 1866 Memory Review

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next»

Most Recent Comments

14-06-2010, 06:20:50

tinytomlogan
With more people interested in green hardware, Kingston have thrown their hat into the ring.

Continue Reading

15-06-2010, 07:56:43

Deshman
The trouble is NVIDIA (Green) are beaten out in the energy efficiency ring by AMD (Red) meaning a truly energy efficient PC will end up looking more like a Christmas tree than a miniaturised Hulk

15-06-2010, 08:01:21

tinytomlogan
LMAO thats not a bad angle

15-06-2010, 15:33:54

AMDFTW
ime not a Eco componant Fan,give me a 1500wPSU and 3 480s and a evga sr2 a couple of xenons and see my electric bill

15-06-2010, 17:08:42

tinytomlogan
Xenon? Thats a gas.

All hail the number seaker. Its not all about epeen fella.......

23-06-2010, 14:36:34

Andrew Moore
Nicely done that! Have you looked to compare these against g.skill eco kits? I have all 3 from the range here.. 1600cl7, cl8, cl9. All 1.35v. All very nice kits

Andy

31-08-2010, 05:36:28

Ari-M.
hate to be the sore thumb in all of this. but a reduction of 300mv makes something "green" these days? I would be curious to know the total current draw, based on an amp/watt total....vs. "normal ram"

I don't think a reduction of 300mv and a green heat spreader can really be called "low voltage".....maybe "slightly lower voltage" or "slovo" would have been more appropriate a title (lolz c wut i did thar?)

seriously "green" seems to be the hype marketing term these days, for products that really aren't that different

I do however, applaud them for effort....
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.