Kingston HyperX PC3-11000 CL7 DDR3 2gb Kit

Test Setup, Settings & Overclocking

Test Setup

Being the first DDR3 memory review here at Overclock3D the Kingston HyperX PC3-11000 kit will be reviewed as a standalone product using the hardware specified below. However, as further DDR3 reviews are added to Overclock3D, the results from these reviews will be included on the graphs shown over the next few pages.

 Kingston HyperX PC3-11000
Processor
Intel Core2Duo E6850
Motherboard
Asus Blitz Extreme (P35)
Graphics Card
BFG 8800GTS 640mb OC2 Edition
Hard Disk
Hitachi Deskstar 80GB 7K80 SATA2 7200RPM 8mb
CPU Cooling
Stock Intel Aluminium Cooler
Operating System
Microsoft Windows XP (SP2) 32bit - Latest Patches
 
Memory Frequency*
687mhz (DDR2-1375)
Memory Latency*
7-7-7-20

To guarantee a broad range of results, the following benchmark utilities will be used:

• Sisoft Sandra XI SP2 (CPU, Memory & HDD tests)
• SuperPI Mod v1.4 (1m and 16m)
• Cinebench 9.5
• HDTach 3.0.4.0
• Quake 4
• Counter-Strike:Sourc
• F.E.A.R
• 3DMark05
• 3DMark06


Memory Settings & Overclocking

As with all memory reviews on Overclock3D the HyperX PC3-11000 modules were subjected to a series of benchmark tests under several different configurations. The configurations used tested the memory's ability to run at high frequencies, tight timings and also ensured that that the modules could run with 100% stability at their advertised stock settings.

Stock - 1375mhz / 1.7v / 7-7-7-20

Kingston HyperX PC3-11000 Stock Kingston HyperX PC3-11000 Stock

It is an unfortunate fact that many memory modules we've tested here at Overclock3D in the past have fallen at the first hurdle by not being able to run at the advertised stock speeds. Therefore as part of our standard testing procedure, all memory modules are subjected to extensive stability testing using Prime95 and SuperPi.

Thankfully the Kingston HyperX PC3-11000 kit did not suffer with this problem, managing to run at the advertised settings of 1375mhz / 7-7-7-20 / 1.7v without any stability issues whatsoever.


Low Latency - 1375mhz / 1.8v / 6-7-7-20

Kingston HyperX PC3-11000 Low Latency Kingston HyperX PC3-11000 Low Latency

Bumping up the voltage to 1.8v allowed for the modules to be tightened down to 6-7-7-20. Unfortunately any attempt to further reduce the latency down to 6-6-6-20 or 6-7-6-20 including increasing the voltage to 1.9v yielded no success. I can only assume that the Elpida IC's used on the HyperX kit do not respond well to increased voltages and/or tight timings.


Max Frequency - 1472mhz / 1.8v / 9-9-9-20

Kingston HyperX PC3-11000 Max Frequency Kingston HyperX PC3-11000 Max Frequency

With the voltage still set to 1.8v and the timings relaxed to 9-9-9-20, the furthest the HyperX kit could be overclocked to while still maintaining stability was 1472mhz. Unfortunately, as this is the first DDR3 review conducted on Overclock3D it's hard to comment on how this 97mhz overclock compares to kits from other manufacturers.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next»

Most Recent Comments

11-09-2007, 09:51:19

JN
"After using these nippy blue modules in several of our DDR3 motherboard reviews, we thought it was about time we got up-close and personal with them by pushing them to their limits on our new DDR3 testbed."

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...144558599s.jpg

HyperX PC3-11000 Review

11-09-2007, 10:05:08

Toxcity
Very good write up, Jim!

But the timings seem to lose at the moment... Stick with DDR2 until DDR3 price drops a little and they sort out those timings!

Thanks!

11-09-2007, 10:11:49

Mr. Smith
Timings! Did you learn nothing from this lol.

Goes off to read review...

Edit: Well, they are very average aren't they. I think you should remove 'Reasonable performance' from 'The Good' and add it to 'The Mediocre'. Reasonable does not strike me as a good attribute.

Good review though, just average sticks

11-09-2007, 11:38:11

Ham
Fantastic wirte up as usual jim.

Im forced too ask: how are they conning us this time? With DDR3 overall. we multiplying the REAL fsb by what? 4? 6? 8?

Don't get me wrong im all for progress, i just like too be able too see through marketing.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.