Kingston HyperX PC2-8500 DDR2 1GB Kit

Testing & Results

Test Setup

Processor: Intel P4 630 3.0ghz Prescott 2mb Cache 800mhz FSB
Motherboard: Abit AW8D (Intel 975X Chipset)
Graphics Card: XFX 6600GT PCI-E
Hard Disk: Hitachi Deskstar 80gb SATA-II 8mb Cache
Power Supply: Silverstone Strider 560w
Software: Windows XP SP2


Benchmarks

When benchmarking the HyperX PC2-8500 I wanted to be sure to cover all angles. Some people like to run their memory at low latencies, some like to run their memory at high frequencies, whilst others prefer a mixture of both settings. Below is some information regarding the testing procedures and their results:

Stock Settings (5-5-5-15 / 533mhz)
A problem often seen with memory modules is their inability to run at stock timings, an issue we've often encountered here at OC3D. However, I'm pleased to say that the Kingston HyperX PC2-8500 overcome this first hurdle without any problems, successfully running at DDR-1066 with timings of 5-5-5-15 on a stock voltage of 2.2v.

Lowest Timings at Stock Frequency (4-4-4-8 / 533mhz)
Not everybody will be able to make full use of the extremely high frequencies that this memory is capable of, and for that reason it's always good to know you can reduce the timings of the memory to obtain a healthy performance increase.
For this test I ran the memory at stock speeds, but increased the voltage slightly to 2.3v to allow for a bit of extra headroom. After many resets of my system to find the optimal settings the HyperX PC2-8500 showed it was capable of an amazing 4-4-4-8 whilst running at DDR-1066 (PC2-8500).

Highest Frequency at Stock Timings (5-5-5-15 / 566mhz)
Increasing timings in exchange for higher frequencies is not something that everybody is comfortable with. For this reason, I left the HyperX at its stock timings of 5-5-5-15, applied 2.3v and proceeded to see how high I could push the memory on the MHZ scale before it topped out.
The maximum achievable overclock was DDR2-1132, not bad at all considering the board only allowed me to increase the voltage up to 2.3v. With a little more voltage I am confident that the memory could have been pushed quite a bit higher.

Highest Frequency Overall (5-6-6-15 / 575mhz)
In this test I proceeded to find the maximum MHZ speed at the cost of slightly looser timings (5-6-6-15). The maximum stable overclock came in at DDR2-1150 which is very impressive considering I was unable to increase the memory voltage past 2.3v on the test motherboard. I also believe that the overclock was slightly hindered by the capabilities of the AW8D motherboard at high FSB speeds.

Everest Read Everest Write

Everest Latency Sisoft Sandra

SuperPI 1m Counter Strike: Source FPS

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next»

Most Recent Comments

12-09-2006, 09:51:24

JN
"Today i take a look at the blisteringly fast PC2-8500 (DDR2-1066) kit from Kingston to see if all this memory bandwidth is really required!"

Clicky Linky

12-09-2006, 09:54:23

FarFarAway
Mmmmm sexah

Bit dear for 1gb tho

12-09-2006, 10:02:15

Ham
Good god your cranking them out today arn't you.

14-09-2006, 18:39:11

kimandsally
Hey my mouths watering now, like a kid at Christmas I'm going to be when my 2GB kit arrives, very nice review I'm going to review my kit when it arrives but you'll have to forgive me in advance as it won't be as good as yours I don't have a clue how to do those graphs.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.