Kingston Hyper-X 2133MHz Dual Channel Review

Conclusion

Kingston Hyper-X 2133MHz Dual Channel Review

Conclusion

Ah the joy of a piece of hardware that doesn't really come with a but.

Sometimes conclusions can be long because it's a constant battle between the things that are pros, and the things that are cons. We like to explain them all fully so that you can decide which are the elements important to you. Occasionally we have a product that has a list of a cons so long that you'd struggle to sensibly consider it. Other times we have products that are nearly brilliant but for a few things, normally a price that is beyond most of us.

So what about the Kingston Hyper-X T1? We know from our news article and the press coverage that it's the fastest dual-channel kit on the planet when overclocked by the best in the business. But unless you've all got stashes of liquid nitrogen and world-class skill at overclocking, then it's nice to know but not really important to us mortals.

Thankfully Kingston have managed to bring to the table a product that really is as good as advertised. 2133MHz out of the box is blinding, and throughout all of our testing it consistently gave us scores in the top bracket of our all-time dual-channel DDR3 results.

Overclocking though. Oh boy the overclocking. As mentioned on page 3 when we overclock we always try to keep within specifications and stay on air so that the results you see, you can then achieve yourself. Within no time at all we were at 2300 and after only a small while we hit 2460MHz. 327MHz overclock with only a small slackening of timings.

One thing is certain. With a BLCK happy motherboard and a willingness to break the voltage specifications, this "off the shelf" kit wouldn't be far from the hand-picked World Record kit we discussed earlier. If you're willing to dedicate the time there is no question that you could achieve serious speeds with reasonably tight timings too.

And the price for this? £133. A gorgeous looking, extreme performance 4GB kit from a leading manufacturer for under £135.

The short-list of kits to buy your P55 rig is now one item long. The Kingston Hyper-X T1. It's good enough for our OC3D Gold Award.

Pros
- Good Value
- Great looking
- Great stock performance
- Insane overclocking

Mediocre
- Nothing

Bad
- Oh come on. Did you read the review? Zip. Zilch. Nada.

  

Thanks to Kingston for providing the Hyper-X T1 for todays review. Discuss in our forums.

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next»

Most Recent Comments

09-09-2010, 19:07:19

tinytomlogan
Having recently taken the World record for memory overclock speed we had to take a look at the Hyper-X Dual-Channel ourselves

Continue Reading

09-09-2010, 19:10:20

AMDFTW
linkage?

10-09-2010, 07:50:12

VonBlade
Patience. Links take a little time to get together. It is possible to go to the frontpage and find articles.

10-09-2010, 08:52:47

silenthill
Another amazing product from KINGSTON but the only worry I have is that the heat sink is too long so you canít use a NH-D14 cooler with this kit.

10-09-2010, 10:08:19

VonBlade



At 55mm high these are very tall and so if you've got an absolute beast of a cooler that's also strangely designed, you might need to double check. We've tested with the truly enormous Noctua NH-D14 and only needed to mount the front fan higher than normal.





It helps to read every page and not just the conclusion

10-09-2010, 11:20:04

silenthill
Quote:
Originally Posted by VonBlade View Post

It helps to read every page and not just the conclusion
Can you show us a picture of the NH-D14 with the fan mounted higher because it seems to me to be a shabby job and I think thatís why you didnít show us a photo in the first place.

10-09-2010, 12:15:08

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by silenthill View Post

Can you show us a picture of the NH-D14 with the fan mounted higher because it seems to me to be a shabby job and I think that’s why you didn’t show us a photo in the first place.
I mount the back fan higher on all of my reviews if you go look dude. On the tripple channels its more of an issue than with the dual channels.

You wont get the tripple channel version of this to work with a D14 because it will over hand the first ram slot.

11-09-2010, 16:07:56

mayhem
thank you for the review. hmm think about upgrading and maybe with this kit and obversely some other stuff it might be a worth while upgrade.

thks once again. excellent review as all ways.

04-10-2010, 19:23:40

SilverSS/SC
I was wondering if this would be a good kit for an AMD AM3 rig? Or would the Corsair Dominator GT kit be better?

04-10-2010, 20:09:59

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by SilverSS/SC View Post

I was wondering if this would be a good kit for an AMD AM3 rig? Or would the Corsair Dominator GT kit be better?
Pointless for an AMD rig, Ive not had a system yet that would hold memory this high tbh dude, even 2000mhz on AMD would be mental tbh. Save your money and get an 1866 kit, just realise that youll be in for some overclocking if you want to get it to run properly though.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.