Kingston Hyper-X 2133MHz Dual Channel Review

Everest, PC Mark and CineBench

Kingston Hyper-X 2133MHz Dual Channel Review

Lavalys Everest Memory Suite

Starting off with the latest build of the ever faithful Everest from Lavalys, we find the Copy speeds are up there with the best. 20000+ is always a great score. Demonstrating the balance between latency and speed our 327MHz overclock only gives us 1000 extra result.

Write speed is an entirely different story. Here absolute bandwidth is King and the Hyper-X gives a respectable 14000 with the XMP settings and a blinding 18105 when overclocked. We've tested kits that don't give 18000 as a copy speed, much less the always slower write.

Read speeds equally favour the extra bandwidth, busting through the 20k barrier. When we tested the triple-channel Hyper-X we got 20798 @ 2000MHz, so it really shows how insanely good this dual-channel kit is.

 

Memory Latency

One test we expected to go the way of the CAS9 2133MHz over the CAS10 2460MHz was the latency test, and yet using XMP1 the Hyper-X was 2.4ns slower in the random access test than when overclocked.

 

PC Mark Vantage

Moving on to PC Mark Vantage, we're ensuring that as much as possible we're only testing the Hyper-X, and therefore we're running the Memory Test Suite. The demonstration of the difference between Latency and Bandwidth really only shows in the video trans-coding and editing tests. Otherwise they neatly balance each other out. Regardless of what measure you use, the Hyper-X is fast.

 

CineBench R11.5

CineBench is very much a CPU intensive benchmark, so seeing a .4 CPU pts increase purely from overclocking the Hyper-X, is very impressive.

In OpenGL testing we have the highest stock, and highest overclock, results we've yet seen from our P55 test rig. That's breathtaking enough for us.

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next»

Most Recent Comments

09-09-2010, 19:07:19

tinytomlogan
Having recently taken the World record for memory overclock speed we had to take a look at the Hyper-X Dual-Channel ourselves

Continue Reading

09-09-2010, 19:10:20

AMDFTW
linkage?

10-09-2010, 07:50:12

VonBlade
Patience. Links take a little time to get together. It is possible to go to the frontpage and find articles.

10-09-2010, 08:52:47

silenthill
Another amazing product from KINGSTON but the only worry I have is that the heat sink is too long so you canít use a NH-D14 cooler with this kit.

10-09-2010, 10:08:19

VonBlade



At 55mm high these are very tall and so if you've got an absolute beast of a cooler that's also strangely designed, you might need to double check. We've tested with the truly enormous Noctua NH-D14 and only needed to mount the front fan higher than normal.





It helps to read every page and not just the conclusion

10-09-2010, 11:20:04

silenthill
Quote:
Originally Posted by VonBlade View Post

It helps to read every page and not just the conclusion
Can you show us a picture of the NH-D14 with the fan mounted higher because it seems to me to be a shabby job and I think thatís why you didnít show us a photo in the first place.

10-09-2010, 12:15:08

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by silenthill View Post

Can you show us a picture of the NH-D14 with the fan mounted higher because it seems to me to be a shabby job and I think that’s why you didn’t show us a photo in the first place.
I mount the back fan higher on all of my reviews if you go look dude. On the tripple channels its more of an issue than with the dual channels.

You wont get the tripple channel version of this to work with a D14 because it will over hand the first ram slot.

11-09-2010, 16:07:56

mayhem
thank you for the review. hmm think about upgrading and maybe with this kit and obversely some other stuff it might be a worth while upgrade.

thks once again. excellent review as all ways.

04-10-2010, 19:23:40

SilverSS/SC
I was wondering if this would be a good kit for an AMD AM3 rig? Or would the Corsair Dominator GT kit be better?

04-10-2010, 20:09:59

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by SilverSS/SC View Post

I was wondering if this would be a good kit for an AMD AM3 rig? Or would the Corsair Dominator GT kit be better?
Pointless for an AMD rig, Ive not had a system yet that would hold memory this high tbh dude, even 2000mhz on AMD would be mental tbh. Save your money and get an 1866 kit, just realise that youll be in for some overclocking if you want to get it to run properly though.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.