Kingston Hyper-X 2133MHz Dual Channel Review

Test Setup and Overclocking

Kingston Hyper-X 2133MHz Dual Channel Review

Test Setup

CPU : Intel i7 870 @ 3.7GHz
GPU : ASUS HD5850 Top
RAM : Kingston Hyper-X T1 2250C9 4GB
PSU : Cougar 1000CM
HDD : Samsung Spinpoint 1TB
Motherboard : Gigabyte P55 UD4
OS : Windows 7 64
Cooling : Thermalright MUX-120 with Arctic Cooling MX-3

Thanks to our unlocked i7 870 and the available memory dividers we kept our i7-870 at 3.7GHz at both XM1 speeds and when we overclocked the Hyper-X. Speaking of which.

Overclocking

The Hyper-X comes with the main XMP profile at 9-11-9-27 @ 1066MHz (2133 effective). The Hyper-X T1 isn't built for tight timings, but for extreme speed. That's where we come in. Firstly here is the memory at the standard XMP1 profile which will be our "stock" setting in our benchmarks.

Kingston Hyper-X 2133MHz Dual Channel Review 

Overclocking this most definitely is an easy thing. We always make sure to get results that you can try at home and without exotic methods purely to obtain large e-peen numbers, so with the voltage kept at 1.65v, and standard air cooling, we set about seeing how high we could push.

Kingston Hyper-X 2133MHz Dual Channel Review

1230MHz for an effective DDR3-2460! In fact we're pretty convinced that with water-cooling and a motherboard stable at higher BCLKs this will just run and run. We did need to slacken the timings further to obtain this result, so this will also be a great test of the eternal MHz vs CAS debate.

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next»

Most Recent Comments

09-09-2010, 19:07:19

tinytomlogan
Having recently taken the World record for memory overclock speed we had to take a look at the Hyper-X Dual-Channel ourselves

Continue Reading

09-09-2010, 19:10:20

AMDFTW
linkage?

10-09-2010, 07:50:12

VonBlade
Patience. Links take a little time to get together. It is possible to go to the frontpage and find articles.

10-09-2010, 08:52:47

silenthill
Another amazing product from KINGSTON but the only worry I have is that the heat sink is too long so you canít use a NH-D14 cooler with this kit.

10-09-2010, 10:08:19

VonBlade



At 55mm high these are very tall and so if you've got an absolute beast of a cooler that's also strangely designed, you might need to double check. We've tested with the truly enormous Noctua NH-D14 and only needed to mount the front fan higher than normal.





It helps to read every page and not just the conclusion

10-09-2010, 11:20:04

silenthill
Quote:
Originally Posted by VonBlade View Post

It helps to read every page and not just the conclusion
Can you show us a picture of the NH-D14 with the fan mounted higher because it seems to me to be a shabby job and I think thatís why you didnít show us a photo in the first place.

10-09-2010, 12:15:08

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by silenthill View Post

Can you show us a picture of the NH-D14 with the fan mounted higher because it seems to me to be a shabby job and I think that’s why you didn’t show us a photo in the first place.
I mount the back fan higher on all of my reviews if you go look dude. On the tripple channels its more of an issue than with the dual channels.

You wont get the tripple channel version of this to work with a D14 because it will over hand the first ram slot.

11-09-2010, 16:07:56

mayhem
thank you for the review. hmm think about upgrading and maybe with this kit and obversely some other stuff it might be a worth while upgrade.

thks once again. excellent review as all ways.

04-10-2010, 19:23:40

SilverSS/SC
I was wondering if this would be a good kit for an AMD AM3 rig? Or would the Corsair Dominator GT kit be better?

04-10-2010, 20:09:59

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by SilverSS/SC View Post

I was wondering if this would be a good kit for an AMD AM3 rig? Or would the Corsair Dominator GT kit be better?
Pointless for an AMD rig, Ive not had a system yet that would hold memory this high tbh dude, even 2000mhz on AMD would be mental tbh. Save your money and get an 1866 kit, just realise that youll be in for some overclocking if you want to get it to run properly though.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.