Kingston Hyper-X 2133MHz Dual Channel Review

Hyper-X Photos

Kingston Hyper-X 2133MHz Dual Channel Review

Packaging and Heat-Spreader

Unlike many of the products that pass through our offices here at OC3D, RAM is always a bit short on things to discuss. It's blatantly obvious what it looks like and without any dip-switches or cooling to talk about it's more for the fun of looking.

Kingston Hyper-X 2133MHz Dual Channel Review     Kingston Hyper-X 2133MHz Dual Channel Review  

Thankfully the Kingston Hyper-X T1 is definitely fun to look at. It's just gorgeous. The quality of the milling on the heat-spreader is exceptional. The whole thing is anodised in a lovely electric blue with a clear and crisp Kingston logo and Hyper-X branding underneath the main fins.

Kingston Hyper-X 2133MHz Dual Channel Review     Kingston Hyper-X 2133MHz Dual Channel Review  

At 55mm high these are very tall and so if you've got an absolute beast of a cooler that's also strangely designed, you might need to double check. We've tested with the truly enormous Noctua NH-D14 and only needed to mount the front fan higher than normal. Standard 120mm tower coolers present no problem at all.

Kingston Hyper-X 2133MHz Dual Channel Review     Kingston Hyper-X 2133MHz Dual Channel Review

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next»

Most Recent Comments

09-09-2010, 19:07:19

tinytomlogan
Having recently taken the World record for memory overclock speed we had to take a look at the Hyper-X Dual-Channel ourselves

Continue Reading

09-09-2010, 19:10:20

AMDFTW
linkage?

10-09-2010, 07:50:12

VonBlade
Patience. Links take a little time to get together. It is possible to go to the frontpage and find articles.

10-09-2010, 08:52:47

silenthill
Another amazing product from KINGSTON but the only worry I have is that the heat sink is too long so you canít use a NH-D14 cooler with this kit.

10-09-2010, 10:08:19

VonBlade



At 55mm high these are very tall and so if you've got an absolute beast of a cooler that's also strangely designed, you might need to double check. We've tested with the truly enormous Noctua NH-D14 and only needed to mount the front fan higher than normal.





It helps to read every page and not just the conclusion

10-09-2010, 11:20:04

silenthill
Quote:
Originally Posted by VonBlade View Post

It helps to read every page and not just the conclusion
Can you show us a picture of the NH-D14 with the fan mounted higher because it seems to me to be a shabby job and I think thatís why you didnít show us a photo in the first place.

10-09-2010, 12:15:08

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by silenthill View Post

Can you show us a picture of the NH-D14 with the fan mounted higher because it seems to me to be a shabby job and I think that’s why you didn’t show us a photo in the first place.
I mount the back fan higher on all of my reviews if you go look dude. On the tripple channels its more of an issue than with the dual channels.

You wont get the tripple channel version of this to work with a D14 because it will over hand the first ram slot.

11-09-2010, 16:07:56

mayhem
thank you for the review. hmm think about upgrading and maybe with this kit and obversely some other stuff it might be a worth while upgrade.

thks once again. excellent review as all ways.

04-10-2010, 19:23:40

SilverSS/SC
I was wondering if this would be a good kit for an AMD AM3 rig? Or would the Corsair Dominator GT kit be better?

04-10-2010, 20:09:59

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by SilverSS/SC View Post

I was wondering if this would be a good kit for an AMD AM3 rig? Or would the Corsair Dominator GT kit be better?
Pointless for an AMD rig, Ive not had a system yet that would hold memory this high tbh dude, even 2000mhz on AMD would be mental tbh. Save your money and get an 1866 kit, just realise that youll be in for some overclocking if you want to get it to run properly though.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.