Kingston Hyper-X 2133MHz Dual Channel Review

Introduction and Technical Specs

Kingston Hyper-X 2133MHz Dual Channel Review

Introduction

The memory market has certainly changed rapidly in recent times.

Around the launch of P4 and AMD Bartons your choice for top end RAM was pretty much something from either Crucial or Corsair. With the Socket 775 and AM2 platform the market became swamped with manufacturers all providing different solutions to the same thing. To the regular Crucial and Corsair we also saw OCZ, Geil etc., all gaining a foothold in enthusiast rigs.

With the move to triple-channel on the LGA1366 platform Corsair pretty much became the de facto manufacturer with the XMS RAM for the average user and Dominator for the enthusiast.

However, thanks to some laurel resting there has been a gap for someone else, and Kingston quickly took up the challenge. Putting their decades of Memory experience to work in covering all areas with faster, cheaper, solutions.

So successful have they become at this that the Kingston Hyper-X memory has rightfully become the default kit for everybody from those wanting lots of capacity at little cost, to those who want some insane over-clocking.

We recently saw some LN2 cooling put to work to over-clock a dual-channel Hyper-X T1 kit to a new World Record, and so with dreams of high speeds in our minds we take a look at a Hyper-X T1 4GB kit and see if it's as easy to over-clock with some simple BIOS tweaks as it was with sub-zero cooling.

Technical Specifications

Kingston always produce PDF files for their technical specifications. Given that most of this doesn't mean anything to me either, rather than decide what you might, or might not, be interested in here is a grab of the PDF.

The main points of interest are the good latency of CL7 @ 1333, which only goes up to CL9 @ 2133 (XMP1). But let's take a look at the heat-spreader before we get into the timings and suchlike.

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next»

Most Recent Comments

09-09-2010, 19:07:19

tinytomlogan
Having recently taken the World record for memory overclock speed we had to take a look at the Hyper-X Dual-Channel ourselves

Continue Reading

09-09-2010, 19:10:20

AMDFTW
linkage?

10-09-2010, 07:50:12

VonBlade
Patience. Links take a little time to get together. It is possible to go to the frontpage and find articles.

10-09-2010, 08:52:47

silenthill
Another amazing product from KINGSTON but the only worry I have is that the heat sink is too long so you canít use a NH-D14 cooler with this kit.

10-09-2010, 10:08:19

VonBlade



At 55mm high these are very tall and so if you've got an absolute beast of a cooler that's also strangely designed, you might need to double check. We've tested with the truly enormous Noctua NH-D14 and only needed to mount the front fan higher than normal.





It helps to read every page and not just the conclusion

10-09-2010, 11:20:04

silenthill
Quote:
Originally Posted by VonBlade View Post

It helps to read every page and not just the conclusion
Can you show us a picture of the NH-D14 with the fan mounted higher because it seems to me to be a shabby job and I think thatís why you didnít show us a photo in the first place.

10-09-2010, 12:15:08

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by silenthill View Post

Can you show us a picture of the NH-D14 with the fan mounted higher because it seems to me to be a shabby job and I think that’s why you didn’t show us a photo in the first place.
I mount the back fan higher on all of my reviews if you go look dude. On the tripple channels its more of an issue than with the dual channels.

You wont get the tripple channel version of this to work with a D14 because it will over hand the first ram slot.

11-09-2010, 16:07:56

mayhem
thank you for the review. hmm think about upgrading and maybe with this kit and obversely some other stuff it might be a worth while upgrade.

thks once again. excellent review as all ways.

04-10-2010, 19:23:40

SilverSS/SC
I was wondering if this would be a good kit for an AMD AM3 rig? Or would the Corsair Dominator GT kit be better?

04-10-2010, 20:09:59

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by SilverSS/SC View Post

I was wondering if this would be a good kit for an AMD AM3 rig? Or would the Corsair Dominator GT kit be better?
Pointless for an AMD rig, Ive not had a system yet that would hold memory this high tbh dude, even 2000mhz on AMD would be mental tbh. Save your money and get an 1866 kit, just realise that youll be in for some overclocking if you want to get it to run properly though.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.