G.Skill Trident X 2400MHz 8GB Review

SiSoft Sandra

G.Skill Trident X 2400MHz 8GB Kit

SiSoft Sandra

The extra speed available still isn't showing up in our testing. We'd have hoped that the move from 2133MHz to 2400MHz, coupled to the faster CPU, would give a big benefit, but the G.Skill Trident X ends up tied for third place in the Sandra bandwidth test. 

 

Taking the CPU cache speed into account with our next benchmark, we can see how much extra performance is available with the i7-3770K compared to the i5-2500K. 

 

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next»

Most Recent Comments

29-06-2012, 05:33:10

tinytomlogan
http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...131720465l.JPG

Today we take a look at a blazing 2400MHz kit from G.Skill. Does the extra speed pay dividends?

Continue Reading

29-06-2012, 09:51:53

AverageNinja
Awesome review! Finally an 8GB Trident X Kit

29-06-2012, 10:07:36

Josh Weston
A good review once again, and I think this really hammers it home that anything more than 1600MHz is a waste, unless it's the same price as the 1600MHz DIMMs.
He says...with his overpriced 2133MHz RAM -.-

29-06-2012, 17:24:58

delusion77
Idk if its just me but Id like to see some 1600mhz kit with tight timings rather than just high clocked with loose timings. I guess its possible to underclock and get lower latencies but perhaps companies could sell the 1600mhz at a cheaper price because big numbers = bigger price a lot of the time.

03-07-2012, 12:17:20

Noobalert
Can anyone recommend a ram water block for these sticks? Thanks

03-07-2012, 12:19:04

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by delusion77 View Post
Idk if its just me but Id like to see some 1600mhz kit with tight timings rather than just high clocked with loose timings. I guess its possible to underclock and get lower latencies but perhaps companies could sell the 1600mhz at a cheaper price because big numbers = bigger price a lot of the time.

Tight timings makes SFA difference to 1155, its all about the bandwidth aka - MHz when it comes to good performance with these.

03-07-2012, 14:32:18

delusion77
Oh. Hmm I will have to remember that if and when I upgrade.

03-07-2012, 15:42:07

CPMFW
nice review tom...
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.