G.Skill Trident X 2400MHz 8GB Review

Test Setup and Overclocking

G.Skill Trident X 2400MHz 8GB Kit

Test Setup

8GB G.Skill Trident 2400 @ 10-12-12-31
Gigabyte Z77 G1.Sniper 3
Intel Core i7-3770K @ 4GHz
Sapphire HD7950
Catalyst 12.4
Cougar CM1000 PSU
Corsair F80 SSD
Thermalright Silver Arrow
Windows 7 x64 

G.Skill Trident X 2400MHz 8GB Kit     G.Skill Trident X 2400MHz 8GB Kit  

Overclocking

Sure enough, as we feared in our intro, these are the chips that are incapable of running at 2600MHz. No amount of tweaking or prodding, even slackening timings to ridiculous levels, would get the Trident X to run faster than its rated 2400MHz speed. We could lower the timings from CAS10 to CAS9, but this would only pass half of our benchmark tests, so the default speeds will be the ones we're running at.

G.Skill Trident X 2400MHz 8GB Kit  

PC Mark

As the new test setup has moved from Spinpoint F1's to SSDs, a couple of the PC Mark Memory tests are no longer comparable, so until we've tested a range on the current system the graph is slightly smaller. However, despite having a hyperthreaded CPU behind it, and the faster speed, the Trident X is only in second place behind the G.Skill Ripjaws X. It's close, but in PC Mark at least the extra bandwidth doesn't give a performance boost.

 

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next»

Most Recent Comments

29-06-2012, 05:33:10

tinytomlogan
http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...131720465l.JPG

Today we take a look at a blazing 2400MHz kit from G.Skill. Does the extra speed pay dividends?

Continue Reading

29-06-2012, 09:51:53

AverageNinja
Awesome review! Finally an 8GB Trident X Kit

29-06-2012, 10:07:36

Josh Weston
A good review once again, and I think this really hammers it home that anything more than 1600MHz is a waste, unless it's the same price as the 1600MHz DIMMs.
He says...with his overpriced 2133MHz RAM -.-

29-06-2012, 17:24:58

delusion77
Idk if its just me but Id like to see some 1600mhz kit with tight timings rather than just high clocked with loose timings. I guess its possible to underclock and get lower latencies but perhaps companies could sell the 1600mhz at a cheaper price because big numbers = bigger price a lot of the time.

03-07-2012, 12:17:20

Noobalert
Can anyone recommend a ram water block for these sticks? Thanks

03-07-2012, 12:19:04

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by delusion77 View Post
Idk if its just me but Id like to see some 1600mhz kit with tight timings rather than just high clocked with loose timings. I guess its possible to underclock and get lower latencies but perhaps companies could sell the 1600mhz at a cheaper price because big numbers = bigger price a lot of the time.

Tight timings makes SFA difference to 1155, its all about the bandwidth aka - MHz when it comes to good performance with these.

03-07-2012, 14:32:18

delusion77
Oh. Hmm I will have to remember that if and when I upgrade.

03-07-2012, 15:42:07

CPMFW
nice review tom...
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.