G.Skill Trident X 2400MHz 8GB Review

Up Close

G.Skill Trident X 2400MHz 8GB Kit

Up Close

New name, new heatspreader. Although RAM tends to stay cool, the Trident X has a pretty beefy amount of aluminium to help things remain frosty.

G.Skill Trident X 2400MHz 8GB Kit     G.Skill Trident X 2400MHz 8GB Kit  

G.Skill Trident X 2400MHz 8GB Kit     G.Skill Trident X 2400MHz 8GB Kit  

Compared to the Ripjaws X the Trident is pretty beefy. In fact it's only beaten for height by the massive T1 cooler on the Kingston. Thankfully G.Skill have come up with a genius idea, in that the larger fins at the top are removable with just a couple of little screws.

G.Skill Trident X 2400MHz 8GB Kit     G.Skill Trident X 2400MHz 8GB Kit  

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next»

Most Recent Comments

29-06-2012, 05:33:10

tinytomlogan
http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...131720465l.JPG

Today we take a look at a blazing 2400MHz kit from G.Skill. Does the extra speed pay dividends?

Continue Reading

29-06-2012, 09:51:53

AverageNinja
Awesome review! Finally an 8GB Trident X Kit

29-06-2012, 10:07:36

Josh Weston
A good review once again, and I think this really hammers it home that anything more than 1600MHz is a waste, unless it's the same price as the 1600MHz DIMMs.
He says...with his overpriced 2133MHz RAM -.-

29-06-2012, 17:24:58

delusion77
Idk if its just me but Id like to see some 1600mhz kit with tight timings rather than just high clocked with loose timings. I guess its possible to underclock and get lower latencies but perhaps companies could sell the 1600mhz at a cheaper price because big numbers = bigger price a lot of the time.

03-07-2012, 12:17:20

Noobalert
Can anyone recommend a ram water block for these sticks? Thanks

03-07-2012, 12:19:04

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by delusion77 View Post
Idk if its just me but Id like to see some 1600mhz kit with tight timings rather than just high clocked with loose timings. I guess its possible to underclock and get lower latencies but perhaps companies could sell the 1600mhz at a cheaper price because big numbers = bigger price a lot of the time.

Tight timings makes SFA difference to 1155, its all about the bandwidth aka - MHz when it comes to good performance with these.

03-07-2012, 14:32:18

delusion77
Oh. Hmm I will have to remember that if and when I upgrade.

03-07-2012, 15:42:07

CPMFW
nice review tom...
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.