G.Skill Trident Extreme Performance F3-16000CL9 DDR3 P55 Kit

Test Setup

Test Setup

To ensure that all reviews on Overclock3D are fair, consistent and unbiased, a standard set of hardware and software is used whenever possible during the comparative testing of two or more products. The configuration used in this review can be seen below:
 
i7 Rig

CPU: Intel i7-870 @ 4GHz
Motherboard: MSI P55-GD80
Memory: 2x2GB GSkill Trident @2000MHz 9-9-9-24
HD
: Hitachi Deskstar 7k160 7200rpm 160GB
GPU: Asus GTX275
PSU: Gigabyte ODIN 1200w

  
During the testing of the setups above, special care was taken to ensure that the BIOS settings used matched whenever possible. A fresh install of Windows Vista was also used before the benchmarking began, with a full defrag of the hard drive once all the drivers and software were installed, preventing any possible performance issues due to leftover drivers from the previous motherboard installations. For the 3DMark and gaming tests a single card configuration was used.
 
For testing the memory we used a number of synthetic benchmarks and games:
 
Synthetic Benchmarks
  • Lavalys Everest 4.10
  • SuperPI mod_1.5
  • Sisoft Sandra 2009
3D Benchmarks
  • 3DMark Vantage
  • Far Cry 2
 
 
Overclocking
 
To get the stock speed of 1000MHz you will either have to overclock your CPU to up the base clock frequency and thereby enable the memory multipliers to adjust the ram to it's stock speed of 2000MHz or if you are lucky enough and your motherboard supports it, take advantage of the XMP feature which acts pretty much like SPD but alters voltage and frequencies to the same effect as overclocking the ram manually. Our MSI test board the GD-80 did have the XMP feature available and here are the results of enabling it:
 
stock speed SPD
 
Our previous review of the GSkill Trident 6GB kit for the X58 chipset produced poor results in the overclocking department and as such I was not expecting to get much change from this identical kit.
 
max clock latencies
 
Surprisingly the kit overclocked very well, reaching 2150MHz with no voltage increase at all. This speed was however a little unstable so I upped the vDIMM a couple of notches to 1.68v which seemed to stabilise things enough to run our suite of memory benchmarks.
 
To find the tightest latencies at it's rated speed I kept the voltage to the recommended 1.65v and proceeded to lower them. Again, the kit produced a fantastic result of 7-8-7-24 against rated latencies of 9-9-9-24. Again this was rock solid during testing. No doubt the P55 chipset has a lot of influence on the memory being more amiable than the 6GB kit but the performance is still outstanding for a kit that overclocks to this speed and latency.
 
After returning the kit back to it's default speed, I ran our standard set of memory benchmarks at three different speeds, SPD(1600MHz), XMP(2000MHz) and overclocked(2150MHz)... 
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next»

Most Recent Comments

09-10-2009, 15:49:21

w3bbo
We were impressed with the 6GB kit of the same name but felt let down by it's overclocking performance. Let's see if the 4GB GSkill Trident kit can even things up...

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...120049925s.jpg

Read the full review HERE

09-10-2009, 15:56:01

VonBlade
Awesome review as always W3bbo. Nice looking kit too. Glad to see they didn't mess with the 6GB sinks/scheme. Damn fine bandwidth for dual channel too.

Small thing, red text on blue background gives VB a headache. Nearly impossible to focus on.

10-10-2009, 08:28:48

Diablo
Out of interest what's wrong with the packaging being the same as the 4GB pack, isn't it a 4GB pack (mediocre bit)

10-10-2009, 11:34:20

w3bbo
Other manufacturers such as Corsair are differentiating there P55 kits (4G from the X58 (6G kits. Albeit they are most likely the exact same modules, little touches such as blue fins instead of red for the Dominator GT's make the difference from a mediocre package to a good package. All it takes is a little thought and imagination rather than boxing them up in the same format minus one stick.

10-10-2009, 14:03:41

Nelly
Nice review, this is the ram I've had my sights on the last few weeks, Corsair too expensive for what you get.

The Corsair 1600C8's use mediocre Micron IC's & cost more than these G.Skill Tridents, the Corsair GT's are around 125 for the 1600C7 & 160 for the 2000C8 although they are probally Elpida Hypers.

In general UK retail is poor for P55 ram choice at the moment, OcUK only offering the widest choice at present & that lacks somewhat as they dont compete with choice with the likes of Newegg in the USA.

Ebuyer, Novatech, Misco, MemoryC, Dabs, MicroDirect, CCLonline, Aria, Scan, Ebuyer, Tekheads, Yoyotech all rubbish at their actual product range of DDR3 P55 Ram.

I spoke to memoryc who go also under the name of gobeyond who are a ram distributor requesting ram not stocked, they wasnt interested which is very poor considering they have a crap range at present. Novatech just want to sell G.Skill ram.

I would like to see more retailers stocking Team, A-Data, Mushkin, Geil DDR3 Ram for the P55 chipset, I know it's the same ic's but it would be nice to have a choice of kit instead of everyone having to be boring using G.Skill because no one stocks any other product.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.