G.Skill Trident Extreme Performance F3-16000CL9 DDR3 P55 Kit

Introduction

Introduction
 
We recently reviewed a triple channel kit from GSkill which scored very high thanks to it's great value for money/extreme performance. So then it should come as no surprise that GSkill have now released a very similar kit for Intels latest chipset, the P55. Because we were so impressed by the last kit, GSkill appear to have done little to change the kit rather they have simply taken one module away from the 6GB kit to make a 4GB kit. Why change what isn't broken they say, let's hope the kit performs as well as it did on the X58 chipset.
 
The memory kit has the same specifications as the previous triple channel memory kit in that it is clocked to 2000MHz and has latencies of CAS9-9-9-27. A lot of folk were worried that the P55 chipset would not be able to achieve these kind of speeds but rest assured, I can confirm that these modules and indeed the chipset are fully capable of this blisteringly fast speed. How much further the kit can be pushed remains to be seen and this is something I will be eagerly attempting to do later in the review.
 
Here's what GSkill had to say about their latest memory kit for the P55:
 
We are here to provide superior memory products, with satisfactory services in order to keep pace with our customers' growing needs, and help them by adding value to their purchases. We pledge we will continue to do so and enable both sides to obtain significant competitive advantages in the market segments.
Investing in human resources is just one of the reasons why G. SKILL is able to provide such high levels of efficient and cost effective services.
G. SKILL is managed as a family, providing a dynamic, challenging and harmonious working environment for all employees. With the open-minded management, each individual with potential talent can be fully developed.
With this clear goal of providing satisfactory services for customers, our R&D department is constantly developing the fastest and best performing products; our marketing and sales departments ensure all the information needed is available and presented in a clear and understandable format.
 
 Specifications
 
The following specification was taken directly from the G.Skill website. 
 
 Product name GSkill [TRIDENT] F3-16000CL9T-3GBTD
Main Board
Intel
System
Desktop
Type
DDR3
M/B Chipset
Intel P55
CAS Latency 9-9-9-27
Speed DDR3-2000 (PC3 16000)
Test Voltage
1.65v
Registered/Unbufferd
Unbuffered
Error Checking None - ECC
Type 240-pin DIMM
Warranty Lifetime
 
Perhaps the only difference apart from the obvious missing module is the slight slackening of the timing from 9-9-9-24 to 9-9-9-27. Apart from that the specification of the modules is identical to that of the larger kit.
 
Let's take a look at the modules themselves...
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next»

Most Recent Comments

09-10-2009, 15:49:21

w3bbo
We were impressed with the 6GB kit of the same name but felt let down by it's overclocking performance. Let's see if the 4GB GSkill Trident kit can even things up...

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...120049925s.jpg

Read the full review HERE

09-10-2009, 15:56:01

VonBlade
Awesome review as always W3bbo. Nice looking kit too. Glad to see they didn't mess with the 6GB sinks/scheme. Damn fine bandwidth for dual channel too.

Small thing, red text on blue background gives VB a headache. Nearly impossible to focus on.

10-10-2009, 08:28:48

Diablo
Out of interest what's wrong with the packaging being the same as the 4GB pack, isn't it a 4GB pack (mediocre bit)

10-10-2009, 11:34:20

w3bbo
Other manufacturers such as Corsair are differentiating there P55 kits (4G from the X58 (6G kits. Albeit they are most likely the exact same modules, little touches such as blue fins instead of red for the Dominator GT's make the difference from a mediocre package to a good package. All it takes is a little thought and imagination rather than boxing them up in the same format minus one stick.

10-10-2009, 14:03:41

Nelly
Nice review, this is the ram I've had my sights on the last few weeks, Corsair too expensive for what you get.

The Corsair 1600C8's use mediocre Micron IC's & cost more than these G.Skill Tridents, the Corsair GT's are around 125 for the 1600C7 & 160 for the 2000C8 although they are probally Elpida Hypers.

In general UK retail is poor for P55 ram choice at the moment, OcUK only offering the widest choice at present & that lacks somewhat as they dont compete with choice with the likes of Newegg in the USA.

Ebuyer, Novatech, Misco, MemoryC, Dabs, MicroDirect, CCLonline, Aria, Scan, Ebuyer, Tekheads, Yoyotech all rubbish at their actual product range of DDR3 P55 Ram.

I spoke to memoryc who go also under the name of gobeyond who are a ram distributor requesting ram not stocked, they wasnt interested which is very poor considering they have a crap range at present. Novatech just want to sell G.Skill ram.

I would like to see more retailers stocking Team, A-Data, Mushkin, Geil DDR3 Ram for the P55 chipset, I know it's the same ic's but it would be nice to have a choice of kit instead of everyone having to be boring using G.Skill because no one stocks any other product.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.