G.Skill Trident Extreme Performance F3-16000CL9 DDR3 Kit

Conclusion

Conclusion
 
The G.Skill Trident kit does, to coin a phrase, 'exactly what it says on the tin'. At 2000MHz, nobody can dispute the fact that it is certainly and extreme performance kit. It excelled in all of the benchmarks we ran only failing to beat our current no.1 kit, the OCZ Blade. However, here's the kicker; it does this at more than half the price! Sure, some might claim that for the best you have to pay top Dollar and for the most part that is true. But one should also consider that there is a point of diminishing returns. Put both of these contrasting comments and what do you get? The G.Skill Trident. The kit hit's the sweet spot where performance versus cost is concerned.
 
The kit is is very cheap as far as extreme performance kits go and it wasn't too long ago that enthusiasts were being asked to stump up the thick end of £300 for a 6GB kit of this calibre. A few months on and kits such as the G.Skill Trident are on the brink of dropping below the £100 mark for the kit I reviewed today can be bought for £118 which is an absolute bargain all things considered.
 
I was disappointed in the overclocking department as these sticks were as stubborn as anything I have tried. No amount of coaxing would get any benefit over stock despite my best efforts. Were this an average, run-of-the-mill memory kit I would have expected at least a little flexibility but it just goes to show that G.Skill have maximised the potential of this kit.
 
While the timings are slack, this did not have too much of an effect on the benchmarks I ran today and while this kit is not the flagship product from G.Skill, I think I have shown it to be the kit where the wise money would go if you are looking for cost versus performance. In short, G.Skill have thrown down the gauntlet to other manufacturers to lower the price of high end DDR3 kits by producing what is in effect one of the fastest 6GB kits on the market for a mid range price. So if you are not looking to pay the premium prices that tight latency demands, you could do a lot worse then lay down your hard earned for 6GB kit of G.Skill's Trident memory.
 
The Good
- Price
- Gorgeous heatsinks
- Stock performance
- Lifetime warranty
 
The Mediocre
- Green PCB
 
The Bad
- Overclocking headroom - there is none.
 
 
 
Thanks to G.Skill for providing the 6GB Trident kit for todays review. Discuss in our forums.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next»

Most Recent Comments

03-08-2009, 15:22:01

JN
"2000MHz kits are becoming more and more popular now that memory prices are dropping. Does the G.Skill Trident kit have what it takes to find it's way onto your i7 setup? Find out inside..." - by w3bbo

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...110136963s.jpg

G.Skill Trident Extreme Performance F3-16000CL9 DDR3 Kit

03-08-2009, 15:25:16

FarFarAway
Hmm not much of an overclocker, but green PCB aside they look lush. Great price too

03-08-2009, 15:29:21

Rastalovich
Quick reaction, but this seems a pretty damn good 2nd to the OCZ Blades and I'd have to check the prices but it's a load cheaper aint it ?

03-08-2009, 15:49:21

tinytomlogan
Nice review, Id consider them tbh.

03-08-2009, 16:08:50

VonBlade
Amazing performance for the price. Word I'm not allowed to use ridiculously good.

03-08-2009, 16:39:25

w3bbo
To be fair to the OCZ, the Blade have dropped too although nowhere near the level of the GSKill. Price is very much based on latency these days and the OCZ is CAS7 vs the CAS9 of the GSkill so the chips used on the OCZ are alot more expensive.

Hard to justify the cost though when the benchmarks don't show such a big difference in performance.

Thanks for the kind comments as always guys.

06-08-2009, 18:04:46

Bungral
Very good value that there... I just wish manufacturers would make some black memory with electric blue or something rather than the red that seems to turning up all over the place.

Nice review Rich... With all this Asus hunting going on, I realised you've been writing reviews for a little over a year now! How time flies!

09-08-2009, 15:51:36

w3bbo
Cheers m8. Jim got me a nice bottle of Glenmorangie which wasn't expected but very welcome! Whatta guy

10-08-2009, 17:31:21

Bungral
Well ya deserve it... To regularly keep churning out reviews of a high standard and keep them interesting is quality. Also to keep motivated yourself is quite impressive... So yeah anyway... well done that man!

11-08-2009, 08:16:10

mayhem
well done and a nice tipple to supp on the long nights of hammering out over clock's and testing equipment .

11-08-2009, 12:46:19

w3bbo
Sadly the Glen was been drunk dry some time ago. Got a nice 12yr old malt here though so here's to another year!

Edit: Dammit - now everyone knows where the spelling mistakes come from - Pished while writing reviews!

11-08-2009, 13:51:36

mayhem
Lol ...

16-09-2009, 04:24:17

Johnbear
Quick reaction, but this seems a pretty damn good 2nd to the OCZ Blades...

-

16-09-2009, 07:43:10

w3bbo
...and so they are. If the latencies were tightened then the kit could well be better if priced lower than the Blades.

17-09-2009, 10:14:02

Freak
From the testing that you have done you think that the larger heatsinks dont yield much of an improvement on overclocking, compared to those that are smaller?

17-09-2009, 12:24:21

w3bbo
I wouldn't say they gave much gain at all tbh. They perhaps prevent errors through overheating when pushed to the limit. What the sinks most likely do is lengthen the lifespan of modules.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.