G,Skill Ripjaws X 2133MHz 8GB Kit Review

SiSoft Sandra

G,Skill Ripjaws X 8GB Kit Review

Sandra Memory Bandwidth

SiSoft's Sandra uses a slightly different method to test than AIDA64, so it's always good to get a breadth of results. Here the Ripjaws X perform right up there with the G.Skill Trident, and just below the Kingston Genesis.

 

Sandra Cache and Memory

The Cache and Memory bandwidth test combines the CPU and Memory to give a general indication of the bandwidth available to the system as a whole. Once again the Ripjaws X demonstrate that just because you need a lot of capacity, doesn't mean you have to compromise on speed.

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next»

Most Recent Comments

19-05-2011, 05:08:56

tinytomlogan
If you're looking for a fast, high capacity Memory kit for your LGA1155 board, G.Skill might just have what you need.



Continue Reading

19-05-2011, 05:46:15

SieB
Nice performance and price

I don't like the new style of the Ripjaws I think the original style looked better, still good RAM though.

19-05-2011, 06:54:46

Judderman
Damn I do like the colour, I can imagine it in a Iron Man themed case, good timings as well, good honest thorogh review as always, many thanks

19-05-2011, 07:23:12

B0GiE
I can't find them anywhere to buy. How much are they gonna cost?

19-05-2011, 07:38:51

SieB
Quote:
Originally Posted by B0GiE View Post

I can't find them anywhere to buy. How much are they gonna cost?
It says £150 in the conclusion, they probably aren't out yet but Ebuyer and Overclockers usually stock the Ripjaw RAM so keep an eye on those.

19-05-2011, 08:04:40

B0GiE
Cheers i missed that.

I just bought the 4 Gb Kingston Hyper-X 2133Mhz Genesis off the back of OC3D review. Benchies seem pretty similar to these. No need to send them back!

19-05-2011, 14:14:49

THD
Quote:
Originally Posted by mayhem View Post

Ive got 12gb of this stuff and they go a hell of a lot faster when tweaked.... my timing are much better than what you have on your review.
And the fact that you have 2gb sticks compared to the 4gb sticks used here cant have anything to do with that ?

Six of these will put you on 24GB not 12 (assuming 2011 socket will have room for six) or 4x4 = 16GB

Ps not trying to diss you but was just wondering if that could make a difference

OT : I would like to know how these compare to the mushkin red ridline 2133mhz , 8gb which in holland is way below the 150 pound price (starting from €120)

Anyways, cool review as ever

19-05-2011, 14:46:49

mayhem
Quote:
Originally Posted by THD View Post

And the fact that you have 2gb sticks compared to the 4gb sticks used here cant have anything to do with that ?

Six of these will put you on 24GB not 12 (assuming 2011 socket will have room for six) or 4x4 = 16GB

Ps not trying to diss you but was just wondering if that could make a difference

OT : I would like to know how these compare to the mushkin red ridline 2133mhz , 8gb which in holland is way below the 150 pound price (starting from €120)

Anyways, cool review as ever
wopps my typing mistake .. still the timing's are way faster and if that's what's he trying to say then review the same sticks i have ... and btw i have never seen any noticeable difference going from 12gb to 24gb with the 4gb sticks cos i sent them back. (it was ordered by mistake and sent back when i found i didn't need them). As for the timings on the 4gb's well i cannot answer that as i didnt test them for timings at the time.

any way more to the point there faster than what the review says they are.

19-05-2011, 15:07:09

Aurus_OC
Quick question: Do those fit under the D14, because I know some of the GSkill do fit?

Love to see the 2133MHz on 4GB DIMMs.

19-05-2011, 18:14:17

SieB
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aurus_OC View Post

Quick question: Do those fit under the D14, because I know some of the GSkill do fit?

Love to see the 2133MHz on 4GB DIMMs.
Yep, they would fit under the D14.

20-05-2011, 02:27:08

clone38
Defo fit i have some with D-14

20-05-2011, 04:09:51

Excalabur50
PcCaseGear.com.au has these in stock for those in Aus. who want them

20-05-2011, 11:37:22

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by mayhem View Post

wopps my typing mistake .. still the timing's are way faster and if that's what's he trying to say then review the same sticks i have ... and btw i have never seen any noticeable difference going from 12gb to 24gb with the 4gb sticks cos i sent them back. (it was ordered by mistake and sent back when i found i didn't need them). As for the timings on the 4gb's well i cannot answer that as i didnt test them for timings at the time.

any way more to the point there faster than what the review says they are.
4GB stick will have slacker timings Mayhem, thats kind of a normal thing mate. LMAO might want to check these things out before commenting

20-05-2011, 12:40:29

TuNk77
I have the 1600MHz set of these and they fit just fine under the D-14

http://img541.imageshack.us/img541/6734/dsc02937re.jpg

30-05-2011, 10:56:04

optical10
"THD

Posted 19 May 2011 - 07:14 PM

.....OT : I would like to know how these compare to the mushkin red ridline 2133mhz , 8gb which in holland is way below the 150 pound price (starting from €120)

Anyways, cool review as ever"

same here as member THD above question, here are the prices in the UK:

8GB Mushkin Redline Ridgeback #996997 (2x4G DDR3 2133MHz 9-11-10-28 £112.62 inc. VAT

8GB G.Skill DDR3 PC3-17000 2133MHz RipjawsX..£ 146.78 Inc VAT

that makes quite a difference when you purchase 16 GB so I would really like to know, apart from the included fan cooling makes the 8GB G.Skill DDR3 PC3-17000 2133MHz RipjawsX. So special?

30-05-2011, 11:00:00

optical10
Quote:
Originally Posted by THD View Post

OT : I would like to know how these compare to the mushkin red ridline 2133mhz , 8gb which in holland is way below the 150 pound price (starting from €120)

Anyways, cool review as ever
same here as member THD above question, here are the prices in the UK:

8GB Mushkin Redline Ridgeback #996997 (2x4G DDR3 2133MHz 9-11-10-28 £112.62 inc. VAT

8GB G.Skill DDR3 PC3-17000 2133MHz RipjawsX..£ 146.78 Inc VAT

that makes quite a difference when you purchase 16 GB so I would really like to know, apart from the included fan cooling makes the 8GB G.Skill DDR3 PC3-17000 2133MHz RipjawsX so special?

30-05-2011, 11:26:36

TommyB
There speed might be good but i hate the style of the heat sinks so i would never buy them.

02-06-2011, 14:38:39

Zaim
That looks like a good memory kit, however I would be more interested in the 8GB Mushkin Redline Ridgeback 2133MHz

20-10-2011, 14:26:25

Nightfalcon
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zaim View Post

That looks like a good memory kit, however I would be more interested in the 8GB Mushkin Redline Ridgeback 2133MHz
Isn´t the Mushkin Redline 996996 Frostbite the better choice for Nh-D14??? Chips are the same as in the Ridgeback, but Heatsink is lower and the price also (Ridgeback about 106,- €, RipjawsX 161,-€ (!!!) and Frostbite 91,-€

What would you think should i purchease??? (My Board is the ASRock Fatal1ty Z68 Gen3 with i7 2600k and the NH-D14 Cooler. Case ist the ATCS 840 from Cooler Master.)
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.