G.Skill Ripjaws X 16GB Kit Review

Test Setup and Overclocking

G.Skill Ripjaws X 16GB Kit Review

Test Setup

The G.Skill Ripjaws X 16GB kit is designed for the LGA1155 format and has a very reasonable 1.5v operating voltage.

G.Skill Ripjaws X 16GB @ 1600MHz 9-9-9-24
Intel Core i5-2500K
MSI P67A-GD65
EVGA GTX570
Be Quiet Dark Power Pro 1000W
Thermalright Silver Arrow
Windows 7 x64

Overclocking

It's a pleasure to go to the Windows information screen and see such a copious amount of memory awaiting us. Anyone who uses RAW format digital camera media will know how large those can get, and now they can all be handled in your workflow without needing to dip into your pagefile.

G.Skill Ripjaws X 16GB Kit Review  

Although running at 1.5v allows us a little voltage headroom for overclocking, the timings are fairly tight already and the SandyBridge weakness is the huge steps between each memory speed. Even running at 1.65v we couldn't get the timings down to CAS8, nor the memory speed up to 1866MHz.

However the Ripjaws X could go from the XMP of 2N down to 1 without needing either a voltage tweak nor slackening other timings. So this is the setup we'll use for our tests.

G.Skill Ripjaws X 16GB Kit Review

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next»

Most Recent Comments

15-08-2011, 05:29:54

tinytomlogan
With the ever increasing demand for memory we take a look at a 16GB kit from G.Skill, for the SandyBridge platform.



Continue Reading

15-08-2011, 05:50:30

Natashaful
Nice Amount of memory, Guess this would be handy for running a OC3D TF2 server

*First* for tom reply

15-08-2011, 06:12:51

dugdiamond
nice kit nice price too

15-08-2011, 06:25:15

AxJaWz
Brilliant kit.

15-08-2011, 06:46:31

V1Viper
Nice kit mate!

15-08-2011, 06:59:47

Anusha
exactly where i am at with my Vengeance 1600CL9 sticks. Cannot hit 1866 not CL8 with 1.65V, but does 9/9/9/24/1T at 1.5V.

15-08-2011, 07:21:39

GrahamC
Liked the review, like the way you point to solid gear for a proper price and that not being bleeding edge as some sort of failure.

15-08-2011, 09:05:28

badtaylorx
man.....its kinda hard to believe how cheap ram has got over the past cppl years.......12gigs in 2008??? what was it???? 4-5 hundred???

15-08-2011, 13:23:43

steve30x
Why would anybody need this much ram unless your running a server or some ram heavy programs. I think anything over 8GB ram is overkill.

15-08-2011, 13:56:12

SG12004
Quote:
Originally Posted by Natashaful View Post

Nice Amount of memory, Guess this would be handy for running a OC3D TF2 server

*First* for tom reply
how do you setup a TF2 server i am playing the game but would like to host it for all my frends not sure how

15-08-2011, 14:05:59

Lollipop
Quote:
Originally Posted by SG12004 View Post

how do you setup a TF2 server i am playing the game but would like to host it for all my frends not sure how
Use the provided software

15-08-2011, 17:03:17

UkGouki
very nice kit...

15-08-2011, 18:43:04

Natashaful
Quote:
Originally Posted by SG12004 View Post

how do you setup a TF2 server i am playing the game but would like to host it for all my frends not sure how
Yeah it's in the folder, You just have to look, Best to download a Pre setup pack or people will lag

15-08-2011, 18:55:51

SG12004
where do you get the Pre setup pack from

i have no idea where steam has installd this game cant find it
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.