CSX Diablo3 PC3-16000 (DDR3 2000) 2GB kit

Synthetic Benchmark Results

 
Everest is an information & diagnostic utility complete with a benchmark utility suitable for testing the read, write and latency performance of the memory subsystem. Each of these benchmarks were performed a total of 5 times, with the highest and lowest scores being discarded and an average calculated from the remaining 3.
 
 
 
 
 
 
Cinebench 10 is a benchmarking tool based on the powerful 3D software Cinema 4D. The suite uses complex renders to gauge the performance of the entire PC system in both single-core and multi-core modes. Testing was performed a total of 5 times, with the highest and lowest results being omitted and an average created from the remaining 3 results.
 
 
 
 
 
SuperPI is the benchmark of choice for many overclockers. It's lightweight to download and can give a quick indication on how good a system is at number crunching. Once again, testing was performed a total of 5 times, with an average being calculated from the middle three results.
 
 
 
 
Result Observations
 
As both the CSX and Crucial kits make use of the D9GTR chips, I expected to see very similar results and as the benchmarks show, both kits perform pretty much on par, with the Crucial kit edging the runs in Everest and Cinebench but the Diablos making back some ground on SuperPI. It should, however, be noted that the Diablo kit is quite capable of running with tighter timings (8-8-8) as opposed to the 9-9-9 configuration used here, so I would expect the Diablo kit to come out on top. For the purposes of this review though, and the fact that CSX's stock settings are unknown (their website only shows overclocked settings), we used the 9-9-9 configuration to best compare the kit against its Crucial counterpart.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next»

Most Recent Comments

29-06-2008, 12:21:50

w3bbo
Fancy hitting the better side of 2000mhz with a cheap 2Gb set of DDR3?

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...215905732s.jpg

OC3D Review: CSX Diablo3 PC3-16000 (DDR3 2000) 2GB kit

29-06-2008, 12:58:07

JN
Nice review dude. Hopefully these will his the UK soon. Its about time that we got some real cheap performance DDR3.

30-06-2008, 03:56:37

PV5150
Wow what a nice piece of kit with an equally attractive price. Excellent review as always webbo

30-06-2008, 18:09:30

Mr. Smith
That stuff is bargain basement cheap! DDR3 for the masses.

I think you were overly harsh giving the packaging 6, all my ram has come in blister packs from corsair, cellshock to ocz...

30-06-2008, 19:04:31

w3bbo
It wasn't just the blister pack. The paper insert was exactly that - paper. The printing on the ram modules also looked cheap. I had to mark it like I saw it I'm afraid BUT and its a big BUT...

Who cares what the packaging is like when it comes in at a thrid of the cost of equivelent ram!

04-07-2008, 10:20:03

BullyPLL
What version of bios do u use on the Striker 2, the latest 0704?

04-07-2008, 10:32:54

w3bbo
The XFX 790i Ultra was used for this test.

12-07-2008, 04:23:54

rrjwilson
Where can I buy this RAM?

I may have to eat part of your PC if you do not tell me. I may be a vegtarian but silicom is not MEAT

If these are less than 140 then that is cheaper than the OCZ plantinum EBW PC3-16000 too.

12-07-2008, 04:40:25

w3bbo
Because we like to bring you the latest and greatest kit, like most things we review at OC3D, it's pre-release but I'm sure it will be available in UK stores soon enough. IF you are really desprate then try here :

http://www.csx-memory.com/?site=quickresults.show&group_id=false&quicksearch_id=7

12-07-2008, 05:08:56

rrjwilson
I was on the way then Webbo Metal dentures in hand.

I'm kinda crabby because I've been waiting for parts from WCUK (out of stock poor chaps) for my build and the modding has gone cold turkey. So I'm buying up the extra funkiness for my build.

I've become so deranged I was contemplating a Killer K1

12-07-2008, 05:21:14

w3bbo
Killer NC = waste of money imo for any benifits it provides - better to spend the extra dosh you have on more ram - bigger/faster HD's

12-07-2008, 05:30:38

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='webbo'
Killer NC = waste of money imo for any benifits it provides - better to spend the extra dosh you have on more ram - bigger/faster HD's
^ the truth. or just upgrade your broadband to a package with a lower contention ratio or sommit.

12-07-2008, 06:44:50

rrjwilson
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Jim View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='webbo''
Killer NC = waste of money imo for any benifits it provides - better to spend the extra dosh you have on more ram - bigger/faster HD's
^ the truth. or just upgrade your broadband to a package with a lower contention ratio or sommit.
Thats is the problem though. I already know that but I've become so frustrated with waiting for the parts I'm considering mental things now just to have something to tinker with

17-07-2008, 03:31:47

Joost
http://www.specialtech.co.uk will soon start selling this in the UK.

17-07-2008, 05:59:51

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Joost'
http://www.specialtech.co.uk will soon start selling this in the UK.
Hi Joost, welcome to the forum. Good news about a UK stockist

18-07-2008, 16:28:08

w3bbo
This stuff will fly off the shelves if enthusiasts have any sense!

31-07-2008, 20:17:46

Lynx
wow...

im speechless

looks nice to

09-08-2008, 15:28:02

Daza
Still waiting for these to hit the uk, anyone shed any light on it.

12-09-2008, 16:23:11

w3bbo
Still no availability in UK.

However I had to RMA these sticks back to CSX as one started producing errors. I have updated the review to take into account the amazing turn around and service CSX provide.

Read the update on the conclusion if you are interested .

12-09-2008, 17:59:09

FarFarAway
Actually that makes it a bloody impressive kit and a steal of a deal

Good work from CSX I say

Nice review as always matey

14-09-2008, 07:32:26

D-Cyph3r
That is a damn nice kit. I got my 1800Mhz OCZ's for 140 but that was a good 4-5 months ago, but it's nice to see other manufactures helping to drive down the price.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.