CSX Diablo3 PC3-16000 (DDR3 2000) 2GB kit

Packaging & Appearance

Packaging & Appearance
 
Starting with the outer packaging, the Diablo3 has the popular blister-style packaging synonymous with the memory giants of Corsair and OCZ. Unlike the aformentioned manufacturers, CSX opted not to display the memory modules from the front and instead show a picture of the modules superimposed on a flame-esque background with "DDR3 Diablo - Extreme Performance" emblazoned across the middle.

I am not a big fan of this type of protection as blister packs can easily be bent by Mr postman when ramming (pun intended) them through the letter box. That said, as long as they are securely packed inside another cardboard box, then I'm sure they would be fine, but I can't say anything other than blister packs are simply 'adequate'.
 
CSX Diablo PC3-1600 Front CSX Diablo PC3-1600 Back
 
Flipping the pack over, we get to see what we have purchased. The first thing we notice is the huge heatsinks placed over the ram module. The second thing I noticed and disliked was the font used on the ram, which I think cheapens the product again - surely a better font could be chosen? Opening the push-button style pack, we find that the budget theme continues as the insert feels very cheap, almost homemade in appearance. Strangely, there is no information about the ram other than the obligatory installation guide. I did have a chuckle when I noticed a warning at the bottom which states that the ram should not be used in critical or human affecting systems, which implanted the image of some power mad anaesthetist running around overclocking his instruments while some poor sap lay on the operating table.
 
CSX Diablo PC3-1600 Module Front CSX Diablo PC3-1600 Module back
 
CSX Diablo PC3-1600 Top CSX Diablo PC3-1600 Sticker
 
As you can see, the featured heatspreader dominates the Diablo's appearance, being almost double the size of the ram module itself. Rather than have the ends ending abruptly like your typical heatsink, the edges are rolled over on a hinge so there is little chance of injuring yourself when installing the modules. The same cant be said of the motherboard slots, however, as due to the height of them, it would be very easy to break the DDR slots if you slipped while applying pressure.

To the right of the modules, there is a sticker showing the ram's speed and most interestingly the actual integrated chips, which in the Diablo's case are premium Micron D9GTR IC's. These chips are renowned throughout the overclockers' world as being among the best overclocking IC's available, something we will be putting to the test later in the review. Other than the rated speed, integrated chips, and module barcode/number, there was still no information regarding the specified voltage or timings of these modules, so a quick visit to the manufacturer's website would be needed.
 
CSX Diablo PC3-1600 Elevated CSX Diablo PC3-1600 Side
 
As this sticker identified the actual chips used, I felt little reason to confirm this by removing the heatspreader and thereby risk damaging the chips and invalidating the warranty. The ram chips are single-sided and are affixed from the 8-layer PCB to the heatsink using thermal pads. Due to the hinge nature of the heatsink, I would guess that the heatsink itself is easily removed, allowing you to fit alternative methods of cooling should you wish. However, the black aluminium sinks appear to be sufficient enough to stave off any overheating issues you may encounter.
 
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next»

Most Recent Comments

29-06-2008, 12:21:50

w3bbo
Fancy hitting the better side of 2000mhz with a cheap 2Gb set of DDR3?

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...215905732s.jpg

OC3D Review: CSX Diablo3 PC3-16000 (DDR3 2000) 2GB kit

29-06-2008, 12:58:07

JN
Nice review dude. Hopefully these will his the UK soon. Its about time that we got some real cheap performance DDR3.

30-06-2008, 03:56:37

PV5150
Wow what a nice piece of kit with an equally attractive price. Excellent review as always webbo

30-06-2008, 18:09:30

Mr. Smith
That stuff is bargain basement cheap! DDR3 for the masses.

I think you were overly harsh giving the packaging 6, all my ram has come in blister packs from corsair, cellshock to ocz...

30-06-2008, 19:04:31

w3bbo
It wasn't just the blister pack. The paper insert was exactly that - paper. The printing on the ram modules also looked cheap. I had to mark it like I saw it I'm afraid BUT and its a big BUT...

Who cares what the packaging is like when it comes in at a thrid of the cost of equivelent ram!

04-07-2008, 10:20:03

BullyPLL
What version of bios do u use on the Striker 2, the latest 0704?

04-07-2008, 10:32:54

w3bbo
The XFX 790i Ultra was used for this test.

12-07-2008, 04:23:54

rrjwilson
Where can I buy this RAM?

I may have to eat part of your PC if you do not tell me. I may be a vegtarian but silicom is not MEAT

If these are less than 140 then that is cheaper than the OCZ plantinum EBW PC3-16000 too.

12-07-2008, 04:40:25

w3bbo
Because we like to bring you the latest and greatest kit, like most things we review at OC3D, it's pre-release but I'm sure it will be available in UK stores soon enough. IF you are really desprate then try here :

http://www.csx-memory.com/?site=quickresults.show&group_id=false&quicksearch_id=7

12-07-2008, 05:08:56

rrjwilson
I was on the way then Webbo Metal dentures in hand.

I'm kinda crabby because I've been waiting for parts from WCUK (out of stock poor chaps) for my build and the modding has gone cold turkey. So I'm buying up the extra funkiness for my build.

I've become so deranged I was contemplating a Killer K1

12-07-2008, 05:21:14

w3bbo
Killer NC = waste of money imo for any benifits it provides - better to spend the extra dosh you have on more ram - bigger/faster HD's

12-07-2008, 05:30:38

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='webbo'
Killer NC = waste of money imo for any benifits it provides - better to spend the extra dosh you have on more ram - bigger/faster HD's
^ the truth. or just upgrade your broadband to a package with a lower contention ratio or sommit.

12-07-2008, 06:44:50

rrjwilson
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Jim View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='webbo''
Killer NC = waste of money imo for any benifits it provides - better to spend the extra dosh you have on more ram - bigger/faster HD's
^ the truth. or just upgrade your broadband to a package with a lower contention ratio or sommit.
Thats is the problem though. I already know that but I've become so frustrated with waiting for the parts I'm considering mental things now just to have something to tinker with

17-07-2008, 03:31:47

Joost
http://www.specialtech.co.uk will soon start selling this in the UK.

17-07-2008, 05:59:51

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Joost'
http://www.specialtech.co.uk will soon start selling this in the UK.
Hi Joost, welcome to the forum. Good news about a UK stockist

18-07-2008, 16:28:08

w3bbo
This stuff will fly off the shelves if enthusiasts have any sense!

31-07-2008, 20:17:46

Lynx
wow...

im speechless

looks nice to

09-08-2008, 15:28:02

Daza
Still waiting for these to hit the uk, anyone shed any light on it.

12-09-2008, 16:23:11

w3bbo
Still no availability in UK.

However I had to RMA these sticks back to CSX as one started producing errors. I have updated the review to take into account the amazing turn around and service CSX provide.

Read the update on the conclusion if you are interested .

12-09-2008, 17:59:09

FarFarAway
Actually that makes it a bloody impressive kit and a steal of a deal

Good work from CSX I say

Nice review as always matey

14-09-2008, 07:32:26

D-Cyph3r
That is a damn nice kit. I got my 1800Mhz OCZ's for 140 but that was a good 4-5 months ago, but it's nice to see other manufactures helping to drive down the price.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.