Crucial Ballistix Tracer DDR3 PC3-12800 6GB kit

Packaging & Appearance

Packaging & Appearance

The packaging of the Crucial Ballastix is the same as Ballistix kits have been packaged in the past. A plain brown cardboard box with an anti tamper sticker sealing the box. While this type of packaging is basic it does afford the modules inside excellent protection.

box open box
 
Opening up the box we find that the modules are neatly stacked side by side in sealed anti-static sleeves. These sleeves are printed with all the information you require to get the memory up and running such as the timings, frequency and voltage. 

inner tri
 
The modules themselves are shielded by some very attractive heatsinks. The green 'holographic' effect given off by the heatsinks is very appealing. These heatsinks/modules are also available in Blue and Red to perfectly match the aesthetics of your PC setup should you be concerned about such matters. Most readers who read this article will find this appealing and it is these readers who Crucial are marketing the products for: Case modders and overclockers, which pretty much sums up the bulk of our readers I believe.

front rear

Being of nominal height, these modules will not interfere with fitting an oversized CPU, certainly no more than any modules without heatsinks would anyway. On the top and bottom of modules there are a number of tiny LED's which are pretty much indistinct when the modules are not powered up.

top side
 
Taking the heatsinks off the modules we get to see the banks of integrated chips which in the Ballistix case are Samsung HCF0, the very same chips used in the 2000MHz Kingston modules we reviewed recently which spells good news. Crucial have not used Micron IC's, which is surprising considering Crucial are a division of Micron. Nevertheless, the Samsung chips are a very good choice and should prove to be excellent overclockers.

iC samsung
 
That about rounds up the packaging and presentation section of the review. Check out the test setup page where I power up the modules which give off a stunning light display...


«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next»

Most Recent Comments

12-03-2009, 15:50:35

JN
"We were very impressed with the last Crucial kit we reviewed so here's hoping for a repeat performance. See how we get on in our latest DDR3 review." - by W3bbo

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...190201366s.jpg

Crucial Ballistix Tracer DDR3 PC3-12800 6GB kit

12-03-2009, 16:06:02

themcman1
They look nice.

Would prefer them in red though.

Jim - get some to match your bloodrage.

12-03-2009, 16:32:55

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='themcman1'
They look nice.

Would prefer them in red though.

Jim - get some to match your bloodrage.
These or the Corsair GT's are on my list for sure

12-03-2009, 16:43:10

zak4994
Oh crap Jim now has to choose between Dominator GT or these. Both are good so go for the performance ones lol.

For aesthetics then this is the way to go.

Bit pricey tho'.

12-03-2009, 16:55:11

nunzio
I ordered a set of the DDR2 for my AM2 system on monday, so as long as they preform as nicely as this lot I will be happy.. and the LEDs look so great.

12-03-2009, 17:00:40

HafMaster
Too bad that the chips don't have red led's instead of the green.

The red would be perfect for your case!

Do I see another mod happening here?

12-03-2009, 17:26:46

Bungral
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='HafMaster'
Too bad that the chips don't have red led's instead of the green.

The red would be perfect for your case!

Do I see another mod happening here?
Give him a month

12-03-2009, 17:32:51

JN
Haha even I know my limits. Unsoldering those tiny LED's using a gas soldering iron is NOT a good idea

12-03-2009, 19:30:47

nepas
I hope the lights on these are not as bright as on my DDR2 sticks,these buggers light up the whole bloody room!!

12-03-2009, 19:45:12

HypoglossalXII
Daaayumm. Those are amazing.

Fixed taa - jim

-HypoG

12-03-2009, 22:15:01

HafMaster
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Jim'
Haha even I know my limits. Unsoldering those tiny LED's using a gas soldering iron is NOT a good idea
Just keep a fan running on it. It will be OK.

13-03-2009, 04:29:26

w3bbo

One can only assume that the different coloured heatsinks (Red, Blue and Green) would be matched by the same colour LED's but don't quote me on that.



By that I meant that red would have red led's, blue would have blue. I would like to think so anyway.

19-03-2009, 07:27:43

Lynx
They look good in lellow

When i go i7

These are noted!

20-03-2009, 05:09:47

premiumgfx
I still think Patriot's Viper Series Heatspreaders looks better than gimmicky LEDs. What do they do to help the memory perform better?

20-03-2009, 06:24:06

Lynx
They dont, they help the theme of your build

They perform well and look good.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.